Some of the various clans of vampires have grouped themselves into sects. Each sect represents clans with similar philosophies and goals. Each sect has its own codes of conduct and its own political structure and titles.
No matter what sect, a vampire cannot have more than one title. If a vampire with a title gains another, he loses the first title, even if the new title would be a demotion. If a vampire with a contested title (see Contested Titles, sec. 4.2) gains a title, he immediately yields the contested title.
Each vampire's sect is given in its card text, and that may override the default sect of that vampire's clan (see the lists in the following sections). If a vampire changes clans (by means of a Clan Impersonation card, for example) to a clan that belongs to a different sect, he changes sects as well.
A vampire must belong to the appropriate sect to receive a title. If a vampire with a title changes clans or sects to a clan or sect inappropriate for his title, he loses the benefit of the title until his clan or sect changes appropriately. If he receives a new title, or if his title is contested (see Contested Titles, sec. 4.2), he immediately yields the old title.
One of the major sects is the Camarilla, which is composed of six clans: Brujah, Malkavian, Nosferatu, Toreador, Tremere and Ventrue, as well as the Caitiff, who are technically clanless. Some vampire cards from older sets do not have any sect designation -- these vampires are all Camarilla vampires.
Only Camarilla vampires can hold the Camarilla titles primogen, prince, justicar and Inner Circle member. Additionally, each clan's justicar and Inner Circle titles are unique (see Contested Titles, sec. 4.2) and can only be held by vampires of that clan. The title of prince is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims any title to the same city. The title of primogen is not unique and cannot be contested.
The second major sect is the Sabbat, which is composed of 15 clans: the antitribu clans (corrupted versions of some of the main clans) and the Lasombra, Tzimisce, Pander, Ahrimanes, Blood Brothers, Harbingers of Skulls and Kiasyd. These clans' icons all have the Sabbat wax seal underneath. Only Sabbat vampires can hold the Sabbat titles bishop, archbishop, priscus, cardinal and regent. Like Camarilla princes, the title of archbishop is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims any title to the same city. The other Sabbat titles are not unique and cannot be contested. The title of regent is unique (see Contested Titles, sec. 4.2). The regent counts as cardinal by cards and other effects, but has an additional vote as well.
The antitribu clans are distinct from their non-antitribu counterparts. A vampire of one of the antitribu clans does not qualify to play a card that requires the counterpart, and vice versa. Likewise, if a vampire changes sects, his clan doesn't automatically change. For example, a Brujah antitribu who becomes a Camarilla vampire via Writ of Acceptance is still a Brujah antitribu, not a Brujah.
The third major sect is the Laibon, which is composed of just four clans: Akunanse, Guruhi, Ishtarri and Osebo.
Only Laibon can hold the Laibon titles kholo and magaji. The magaji title is not unique and cannot be contested. Clan kholo titles can only be held by a vampire of the appropriate clan, and each is unique to that clan (see "Contested Titles," sec. 4.2).
Other clans are not aligned with any of the major sects; they are called Independent. Any clan not listed above as belonging to one of the sects listed above is Independent. These vampires are identified simply as "Independent" on card text. Some vampire cards from older sets are identified as "Non-Camarilla" on card text -- these vampires are all Independent vampires. Independent vampires are "Non-Camarilla", "Non-Sabbat" and "Non-Laibon".
Some Independent vampires may start with votes, as listed on card text. Treat these vampires as if they had titles of their own.
Anarch is not a sect itself, just a special attribute that some Independent vampires can have. An untitled non-anarch vampire can become an anarch as a +1 stealth undirected action that costs 2 blood (or 1 blood if the controller controls at least 1 other ready anarch). A vampire can also be made an anarch by certain card effects. All anarchs are Independent; becoming an anarch changes the vampire's sect to Independent if he was not Independent already. If the anarch changes sect, then he is no longer anarch. Being anarch has no effect on game play except as defined by cards and effects in play. Some cards can only be played by anarch vampires, for example.
Baron is a title that can only be held by an anarch. A ready baron gets 2 votes. The title of baron is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims the title of prince, archbishop or baron of the same city. If the title is contested with a prince or an archbishop, then the anarch's cost to contest it is increased by 1 blood. If a baron loses his anarch status, he loses the benefit of the title until he becomes anarch again, as usual for titles.
When a Methuselah runs out of pool counters, she is ousted from the game. If you are ousted, all the cards you control are removed from the game. Any of your opponents' cards you control are returned to them at the end of the game. Any of your cards controlled by other Methuselahs remain in play as normal (see The Golden Rule of Card Ownership, sec. 1.3). The game continues until only one Methuselah is left. You get a victory point whenever the Methuselah who is your prey is ousted (no matter how or by whom your prey was ousted). You receive an additional victory point if you are the last player left. At the end of the game, the winner is the player with the most victory points, even if she has been ousted. Along with a victory point, you gain six pool from the blood bank when your prey is ousted.
EXCEPTION: If a player is ousted at the same time that her prey is ousted, the player gets the victory point but does not gain 6 pool.
When your prey is ousted, the next Methuselah to your left (the ousted Methuselah's prey) becomes your new prey, and you become her new predator.
Richard, Steve, Justin and Lisa are seated clockwise around a table in that order. Steve is reduced to 0 pool first. Steve is Richard's prey, so Richard gains 6 pool and a victory point. Justin is ousted next by Richard. Since now Justin is Richard's prey, Richard gets another 6 pool and another victory point. Now, Richard and Lisa are the only ones left, and so each is prey of the other. All the pool Richard earned doesn't save him from falling, and Lisa gets 6 pool and a victory point. Since Lisa was not ousted at all, she gets an additional victory point. The final score is tied between Lisa and Richard, with 2 victory points each.
9.2. Withdrawing from the Game
If you have exhausted your library and begin your turn with less than a full hand, you have the option of withdrawing from the game. To exercise this option, you must announce your intent to withdraw during your unlock phase. For the withdrawal to succeed, you must meet the following conditions:
- None of your minions enter combat until your next unlock phase.
- None of your minions lose (or spend) any blood until your next unlock phase.
- You do not lose (or spend) any pool until your next unlock phase.
If you have met these conditions when you would start your unlock phase, you successfully withdraw. The withdrawal fails if you lose a single pool or blood, even if you gain enough to make up for the loss.
If you successfully withdraw, you receive one victory point to add to any victory points you have already gained. Your predator does not get a victory point or any pool for your withdrawal.
In your discard phase you receive, by default, one discard phase action. You may use a discard phase action to put an event card in play (no more than one per phase) or to discard a card from your hand (and draw to replace it as usual). Some effects may change the number of discard phase actions you receive or may give you alternate ways to use your discard phase actions. Discard phase actions not used in this phase are lost; they cannot be saved for later.
Page 100 of 103