file Re: Blood to Water clarification

21 Aug 2020 23:58 #100574 by Rémi
Hi,

Do you mean that even if a setting the range effect has resolved, the range is not trully set before the end of the Pre-Maneuver effect window?

Regards,
Rémi.

I am Rémi Cavaillé (), Barcelona (SPAIN). I was the Prince of Lyon (FRANCE) in 2003 :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Aug 2020 07:20 #100575 by Snodig
In a manner of speaking, yes. Even though a set-range effect is queued, and will kick in and skip maneuvers, you still have a pre-range step first. Once both players have finished playing pre-range cards, maneuvers are skipped and range is set.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2020 10:31 - 24 Aug 2020 10:34 #100595 by lip
I think the range is set as soon as the effect setting it is done. You still get to play pre-maneuver cards before the range step is skipped, but the range setting is not "delayed".

Example to this effect:
- A blocks with Sniper Rifle and sets the range to long
- A plays Outside the Hourglass at superior :TEM:
- Maneuver step is skipped
- A plays Majesty and combat ends
- A cannot play Disarm - Outside the Hourglass damage was at long range.

See groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/j98aqFIFjnE/m/6yTbvCofUiIJ
for a more detailed discussion. Excerpt:

> If Fear of the Void Below (dai/DAI) would've been played earlier,
> would Outside the Hourglass then trigger the Improvised Flamethrower?
Yes. (And Disarm would not be playable, since the range is long)

> If range is set as a pre. Is it fair to say, "range has been
> determined"?
No.

> Or do you have to wait for the Determine Range Step to be passed,
> whither skipped or not.
You finish "before range stuff" before moving on.

> If range has been determined to be close as a result of a pre, can you
> play Immortal Prapple(and the like) in the pre-range step?
No.

Last edit: 24 Aug 2020 10:34 by lip.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2020 11:22 - 24 Aug 2020 11:22 #100597 by Ankha

lip wrote: I think the range is set as soon as the effect setting it is done. You still get to play pre-maneuver cards before the range step is skipped, but the range setting is not "delayed".

Indeed. That's what LSJ wrote (same link):

"It sets range when played.

And you still remain in the "before range" window until everyone
passes.

Then you skip the determine range window."

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 24 Aug 2020 11:22 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2020 15:46 #100623 by Rémi
Hi,

So if I play superior Immortal Grapple during round 1.
I can play Blood to Water during the "before range is chosen" window. I am now almost sure about that !


Thanks in advance,
Regards.
Rémi.

I am Rémi Cavaillé (), Barcelona (SPAIN). I was the Prince of Lyon (FRANCE) in 2003 :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2020 15:48 - 06 Sep 2020 13:50 #100624 by Snodig

Rémi wrote: Hi,

So if I play superior Immortal Grapple during round 1.
I can play Blood to Water during the "before range is chosen" window. I am now almost sure about that !


Thanks in advance,
Regards.
Rémi.

Yes, you can.

Edit: I misunderstood the questions
You could do this with any pre-maneuver, but never with BtW. Range must be set first, and that cannot happen until pre-maneuvers are handled. Even if pre-determined by IG.
Last edit: 06 Sep 2020 13:50 by Snodig. Reason: I’m a lazy idiot, so I corrected myself.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.148 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum