question-circle Does entering a direct action combat tap an untapped target?

22 Feb 2017 05:23 - 22 Feb 2017 05:35 #80785 by Cat_in_Exile
Hi guys, I'm new to the game (but loving it so far). I've tried googling this, but I can't find a clear answer, so I'm posting it here.

Do direct action attacks on a target minion, such as Beast, Leatherface of Detroit's ability, or even Bum's Rush, cause the targetted minion to tap, as though it was blocking?
Last edit: 22 Feb 2017 05:35 by Cat_in_Exile. Reason: Clarification/typo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Feb 2017 08:16 #80786 by Lönkka
Not unless the card used explicitly tells so.

Deep Song is an example of such a card:
Enter combat with and tap a ready vampire controlled by another Methuselah. In that combat, that vampire is considered the acting minion.

Finnish :POT: Politics!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Cat_in_Exile

• Lönkka
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
22 Feb 2017 15:35 #80795 by Cat_in_Exile
Good stuff, thanks for the clarification :)

More
22 Feb 2017 16:05 #80796 by TwoRazorReign
This is a very common misperception in V:TES, that minions tap when entering combat. My theory of why this misperception is so prevalent is that combat almost always follows a successful block, and a successful block taps the blocking minion. Let’s analyze the relevant text from the rulebook:

"If the action is blocked, then any card played to take the action is burned (it is moved to the ash heap) and the blocking minion is tapped and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat, sec. 6.4)."

From the above text, it's not clear what causes tapping, it just says that the blocking minion taps and enters combat. The reader is left to wonder, "is it the block that taps the minion, or is it entering combat?" The above text should clarify this point: