file Ghoul Retainer and Jar of Skin Eaters

03 Oct 2017 02:01 #83710 by TwoRazorReign
Can Ghoul Retainer use Jar of Skin Eaters if it has zero blood on it?

Name: Ghoul Retainer
[Jyhad:R2, VTES:R, CE:R2, KoT:U/R]
Cardtype: Retainer
Cost: 2 pool
Ghoul with 2 life. 1 strength.
During the initial strike resolution each round, the Ghoul Retainer inflicts 1 damage or may use a weapon not used by the employing minion (or another retainer) that round (either before or after). This is not a strike, although it does count as "using" the weapon.
Artist: L. A. Williams; Richard Thomas

Name: Jar of Skin Eaters
[HttB:C]
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Tremere/Tremere antitribu
Weapon.
The bearer may use this weapon only if it has a blood on it. Strike: 3R aggravated damage. This minion may inflict 3 aggravated damage on another minion as a (D) action. Burn after either use. Any Gargoyle enslaved to this vampire may move 1 blood to this card as a +1 stealth action.
Artist: Erica Danell

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Oct 2017 08:05 - 03 Oct 2017 08:11 #83712 by Ankha
This was probably overlooked by the designers, but as counterintuitive as it may seem, the Ghoul Retainer can use the Jar even if it has no counter since GR is not the bearer.

See Garrote:

LSJ wrote: Correct. Garrote says the "bearer may..." and the GR is not the bearer.
The GR also cannot press (for Meat Hook) at all, in addition to not being the
bearer.

groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/nL-xqiydvYg/hWQZF3aBdwsJ

It would probably require a correction, the same way Nightstick was fixed.

LSJ wrote: > NIGHTSTICK: Presumably, GR can use Nightstick's alternate, prevent
> damage effect. But whose damage is prevented? Is it the bearer or
> the user?
User. I'll update the online card text to that effect.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 03 Oct 2017 08:11 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Oct 2017 00:34 - 05 Oct 2017 00:35 #83728 by enriquesmw
And what about the part of: "Burn after either use.", but the ghoul retainer says: "or may use a weapon not used by the employing minion (or another retainer) that round (either before or after). This is not a strike, although it does count as "using" the weapon."

The question is: "is burned the Jar of Skin Eaters after be used by the ghoul retainer?"
Last edit: 05 Oct 2017 00:35 by enriquesmw. Reason: better question

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Oct 2017 06:00 #83730 by Ankha

enriquesmw wrote: The question is: "is burned the Jar of Skin Eaters after be used by the ghoul retainer?"


Yes. The Jar is "used" by the Ghoul Retainer.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum