file Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "Guard Dogs".

15 Oct 2017 18:17 #83866 by gymim
gymim created the topic: Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "G
Vampire "A" is bleeding. Vampire "B" tries to block. Vampire "A" plays "Faceless Night" at the superior. Vampire "B" fails the block (no intercept). Vampire "B" then tries to play "Guard Dogs", to untap.

Can Vampire "B" play the "Guard Dogs" after failing the block and taking the effect of "Faceless Night" at the superior?

What is the timing and how is this resolved?



Faceless Night: [obf] +1 stealth. [OBF] +1 stealth, and any minion who attempts to block this action and fails becomes tapped when the action is resolved (before resolving the action).


Guard Dogs: Only usable by a tapped vampire when you are being bled. [ani] Untap this reacting vampire. [ANI] As above, with an optional maneuver during the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks this bleed and combat occurs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Oct 2017 06:25 #83873 by Ankha
Ankha replied the topic: Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "G

gymim wrote: Vampire "A" is bleeding. Vampire "B" tries to block. Vampire "A" plays "Faceless Night" at the superior. Vampire "B" fails the block (no intercept). Vampire "B" then tries to play "Guard Dogs", to untap.

Can Vampire "B" play the "Guard Dogs" after failing the block and taking the effect of "Faceless Night" at the superior?

Faceless Night doesn't lock the vampire immediately. It locks the vampire "when the action is resolved (before resolving the action)". In the meantime, if A isn't locked, you can't play Guard Dogs.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2017 01:09 - 17 Oct 2017 01:10 #83894 by Boris The Blade
Boris The Blade replied the topic: Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "G
And there is no window to play Guard Dogs before resolving the action? The timing is basically the same as Obedience except that in that case the action is successful.
Last Edit: 17 Oct 2017 01:10 by Boris The Blade.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2017 04:28 #83897 by Blooded Sand
Blooded Sand replied the topic: Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "G
The timing id that Guard Dogs looks for when you are being bled. Face less Night in this case would trigger once you have been bled.

:assa: :flight: :QUI: :OBF: :POT: :FOR: :TEM: :DOM:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2017 06:35 - 17 Oct 2017 06:37 #83900 by Ankha
Ankha replied the topic: Question about failing to block, "Faceless Night", and playing "G

Boris The Blade wrote: And there is no window to play Guard Dogs before resolving the action?

You can play Guard Dogs before resolving the action, but that's still before Faceless Night locks your vampire.
Once the actions resolves, your vampire is locked, and it's too late to play Guard Dogs.

rulebook wrote: Action modifiers and reaction cards can be played at any time before resolution during an action (unless otherwise noted on card text)

Boris The Blade wrote: The timing is basically the same as Obedience except that in that case the action is successful.

No. Obedience is played "when the reacting vampire is about to enter combat". "Is about to X" is a special timing that happens right before the 'X' trigger, and you can't play Guard Dogs at that time.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last Edit: 17 Oct 2017 06:37 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: Ankha
Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum