file Coagulated entity

29 Nov 2017 07:50 #84391 by Lasu
Lasu created the topic: Coagulated entity
Card text:Choose X other ready Blood Brothers you control who belong to the same circle as this acting vampire.
[san] (D) Enter combat with a ready minion controlled by another Methuselah. This acting vampire has +X strength and +X capacity. Before the combat begins, each chosen vampire must move 1 blood to the acting vampire or this action is canceled.
[SAN] As [san] above, and this vampire may prevent up to X damage this combat.

Just to be sure I understand this card correctly.
If a minion playing this card succesfully enters combat with a chosen target minion, with [san] both capacity and strength increases by X, permanently. (since in the sentence there is no reference to "this" or "that" combat)
And if blocked non of the +X effects apply.

Side question: in rush action cards a special effect, like optional maneuver, applies in "this combat" (for example in bums rush) or "that combat" (nose of the hound). Do they both refer to a combat from succesful, non-blocked action in a similar way?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Nov 2017 08:56 #84393 by jamesatzephyr
jamesatzephyr replied the topic: Coagulated entity

Lasu wrote: If a minion playing this card succesfully enters combat with a chosen target minion, with [san] both capacity and strength increases by X, permanently. (since in the sentence there is no reference to "this" or "that" combat)


It's not permanent, no. It's restricted to "this acting vampire". When the action's over, it's no longer "this acting vampire".

Lasu wrote: And if blocked non of the +X effects apply.


If blocked, none of the effects of the action apply - including the +X, or the enter combat etc.

Lasu wrote: Side question: in rush action cards a special effect, like optional maneuver, applies in "this combat" (for example in bums rush) or "that combat" (nose of the hound). Do they both refer to a combat from succesful, non-blocked action in a similar way?


The effects of all actions only occur if they're successful (barring particular card text, like Force of Will). The optional manuever from Bum's Rush only occurs if the action is successful. The referendum from Kine Resources Contested only occurs if the action is successful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Dec 2017 13:23 - 01 Dec 2017 13:23 #84430 by Ankha
Ankha replied the topic: Coagulated entity

jamesatzephyr wrote:

Lasu wrote: If a minion playing this card succesfully enters combat with a chosen target minion, with [san] both capacity and strength increases by X, permanently. (since in the sentence there is no reference to "this" or "that" combat)


It's not permanent, no. It's restricted to "this acting vampire". When the action's over, it's no longer "this acting vampire".

This explanation doesn't work because Dual Form's capacity reduction is permanent.
groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/BD7KIWBI0Cs/g8vJICHAu7oJ

LSJ wrote:

Jon wrote: Nadima, an 8 cap vampire, creates a Dual Form at PRO and her capacity is reduced to 7.
Nadima is eventually banished. Dual Form burns.
If Nadima were to be transfered out again would you need 7 or 8 pool to re-influence her to the controlled region?
Assuming that the capcity reduction is permanant and that Dual Form is not a card played on the vampire I think it would be 7, but I've been known to make mistakes now and again :)

Correct.


Nevertheless, Coagulated Entity bonus lasts until the end of the action (this is a ruling). I'll update the official cardtext to reflect this clearly.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last Edit: 01 Dec 2017 13:23 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: Ankha
Time to create page: 0.345 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum