file Shoulder Drop

26 Dec 2017 04:44 #84660 by TwoRazorReign
Replied by TwoRazorReign on topic Shoulder Drop

Ankha wrote: You must play the card right after your strike has inflicted damage.


When is damage "inflicted" exactly? According to the rulebook, successfully inflicting damage happens after any damage prevention but before the damage is healed. Would one play Shoulder Drop after damage prevention (if any) but before additional strikes (if any)? If there are no damage prevention and additional strikes, would it be played after choosing the strike but before healing the damage?

B has to play it after A burns its blood to damage, but before B burns blood to damage or prevent the damage.


According to the rulebook, A and B resolve strikes simultaneously. However, your reply indicates that damage prevention and healing damage are done non-simultaneously, with the acting minion getting the opportunity to prevent damage and heal damage before the non-acting minion. Is this true?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Dec 2017 10:53 - 26 Dec 2017 10:55 #84661 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Shoulder Drop

Boris The Blade wrote:

Ankha wrote: B has to play it after A burns its blood to damage, but before B burns blood to damage or prevent the damage.

What does that mean? Isn't damage resolution simultaneous for both vampires?

Indeed. Preventing damage uses the impulse, but when both combatant passes (no more prevent cards played), the damage is successfully inflicted on both vampires simultaneously during the "heal damage" step. That's when Shoulder Drop should be played (using the impulse). Please disregard my previous comment on B playing Should Drop before preventing damage.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 26 Dec 2017 10:55 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Boris The Blade

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Dec 2017 11:01 - 26 Dec 2017 11:04 #84662 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Shoulder Drop

TwoRazorReign wrote:

Ankha wrote: You must play the card right after your strike has inflicted damage.


When is damage "inflicted" exactly?

Damage is inflicted when the strike resolves, for instance (and there is X damage waiting to be prevented or successfully inflicted). Damage is successfully inflicted when it's not prevented, that is during the "heal damage" step.
See rulebook 6.4.6. Damage Resolution.

TwoRazorReign wrote: According to the rulebook, successfully inflicting damage happens after any damage prevention but before the damage is healed. Would one play Shoulder Drop after damage prevention (if any) but before additional strikes (if any)? Should Drop must be played when the damage has been successfully inflicted, that is during the "heal damage" step (following the impulse rule).

TwoRazorReign wrote: If there are no damage prevention and additional strikes, would it be played after choosing the strike but before healing the damage?

Before any additional strikes.

TwoRazorReign wrote:

B has to play it after A burns its blood to damage, but before B burns blood to damage or prevent the damage.

That is a mistake. B can play the card only after both combatant have passed the impulse during the "prevent damage" step (since A could prevent more damage after B has prevented some damage).

TwoRazorReign wrote: According to the rulebook, A and B resolve strikes simultaneously. However, your reply indicates that damage prevention and healing damage are done non-simultaneously, with the acting minion getting the opportunity to prevent damage and heal damage before the non-acting minion. Is this true?

That's true: "prevent damage" and "heal damage" are two consecutive steps. Each of them use the impulse.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 26 Dec 2017 11:04 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.287 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum