file Illegal Search and Seizure question

18 Jun 2018 04:39 - 18 Jun 2018 04:40 #88227 by Cat_in_Exile
Let me preface this question with a disclaimer that I'm aware Illegal Search and Seizure is not a good card. That said, I'd like some clarification on what is considered a "regular strike" inflicting aggravated damage. Is a weapon that does ranged agg as a strike considered regular? What specific weapons wouldn't it work on?

Illegal Search and Seizure

Master. Burn a weapon that costs more than 2 pool or inflicts (with a regular strike) aggravated damage or more than 3 damage. The bearer of the weapon takes 1 damage. This damage cannot be prevented.
Last edit: 18 Jun 2018 04:40 by Cat_in_Exile.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2018 06:13 #88231 by hollowboy
Illegal Search and Seizure would be OK in some decks, if it could burn Magnum 44 or Sniper Rifle.

www.vekn.net/general-rulings

Under "equipment"

- A weapon's "current damage" is the amount of damage that the weapon would inflict if used as a strike by bearer against a generic opponent
- A "regular strike" is unmodified, so would use the default strength.

A Poker wouldn't burn (even if every minion in play had Cold Iron Vulnerability) because jolly wee fairy vampires aren't generic opponents.

Ditto Blade of Enoch.

I assume Crimson Sentinel or Jar of Skin Eaters would only burn if they had counters on them, since they do only 2 and 0 damage without any counters.

I think everything else is based just off the obvious card text. The only tricksy thing is that "cost" means current or generic cost. That is, a Combat Shotgun is considered to cost 3 pool, even if it came into play for only 1 pool (e.g. via Black Cat playing Jack of Both Sides).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2018 07:31 #88233 by Cat_in_Exile
Sorry for being dense, but it wouldn't work on an ivory bow, for instance?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2018 07:35 #88234 by jamesatzephyr

hollowboy wrote: That is, a Combat Shotgun is considered to cost 3 pool, even if it came into play for only 1 pool (e.g. via Black Cat playing Jack of Both Sides).


www.vekn.net/card-rulings/card-rulings-a-to-f
Black Cat:

The lower pool cost is used for the "cost" of equipment on her. [RTR 19941109]
If she is equipped with something and that equipment is transferred to another minion, then it regains its normal pool value. Conversely, if a piece of equipment moves onto her, its effective pool cost is lowered by 1. [RTR 19941109]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2018 07:38 #88235 by jamesatzephyr

Cat_in_Exile wrote: Sorry for being dense, but it wouldn't work on an ivory bow, for instance?


Card text, split out:
Burn a weapon that:
a) costs more than 2 pool or
b) inflicts (with a regular strike) aggravated damage or
c) [inflicts (with a regular strike)] more than 3 damage.

Ivory Bow costs 1 pool, so it does not fulfill a.
Ivory Bow inflicts 1 damage with a regular strike, so it does not fulfill c.
Ivory Bow inflicts aggravated damage with a regular strike, so it fulfills b.

Why do you think it wouldn't work on Ivory Bow?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2018 07:42 - 18 Jun 2018 07:46 #88236 by Cat_in_Exile
It was the "so would use the default strength" of the general ruling for regular strikes that was confusing me, because the bow doesn't use strength.
Last edit: 18 Jun 2018 07:46 by Cat_in_Exile.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.196 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum