file Tygerius allegiance counters and going Anarch

27 Jun 2018 10:46 #88409 by Whisker
I asume same happens if Tegyrius somehow gets removed from play?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jun 2018 11:50 #88413 by Ankha

Whisker wrote: I asume same happens if Tegyrius somehow gets removed from play?


Sure. Counters with a function keep their function.

LSJ wrote: > I have a related question, though. Will the allegiance counters lose its
> effect if Tegyrius leaves play? Only he has the text that makes Assamites
> with Allegiance counters Camarilla, if he leaves play those counters would
> be meaningless, right?

No. See also disease counters from Vampiric Disease (which is never in play).

groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/591WMJX0KTE/eXKGyijbKcgJ

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jun 2018 18:19 #88420 by kschaefer

Ankha wrote: There is a distinction between a vampire who changes sect, and a vampire who "is considered" a given sect.

Perhaps we should treat "is considered" like Mata Hari or Vlad's ability instead. A simple ruling update could make that happen (with 30-day window, etc.).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2018 06:46 #88426 by Ankha

kschaefer wrote:

Ankha wrote: There is a distinction between a vampire who changes sect, and a vampire who "is considered" a given sect.

Perhaps we should treat "is considered" like Mata Hari or Vlad's ability instead.

What are you suggesting? That the vampire could play cards that require Camarilla "as if", while retaining their sect?

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2018 09:49 #88430 by drnlmza
Another option is to make Tegyrius and Writ of Acceptance consistent with the anarch cards and add a "burn the counter / equipment if this vampire changes sects" clause.

It will make Tegyrius' text rather long, though.

--
National Coordinator
South Africa

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2018 14:14 #88437 by kschaefer

Ankha wrote:

kschaefer wrote:

Ankha wrote: There is a distinction between a vampire who changes sect, and a vampire who "is considered" a given sect.

Perhaps we should treat "is considered" like Mata Hari or Vlad's ability instead.

What are you suggesting? That the vampire could play cards that require Camarilla "as if", while retaining their sect?

I haven't fully thought out all of the implications, but in short, yes.

"is considered" is close to "as if" (a fair reading without foreknowledge could have both be ruled functionally similar) and could simplify the game by reducing the extra overhead and consolidating these older cards using the new consistent terms/rulings.

These older cards (Writ and Tegyrius) simply don't follow the more modern patterns that the game uses. A rewording of Tegyrius's special to make the counter similar to an Anarch counter (burn if changing sect) also brings the older card in-line with newer design principles, but at the expense of updating the text (still an option). Simply changing the ruling on how to interpret "is considered" requires no text updates and streamlines the game to have one less pattern to consider.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.110 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum