file Action Sequence, Steal ally

05 Jul 2018 07:43 #88572 by avgrund
Replied by avgrund on topic Action Sequence, Steal ally
Alright, thanks for all your replies! Apparently we played it wrong during our game yesterday.

A quick follow up question about a similar case/scenario.

A player have one vampire in torpor and one ready vampire. The ready vampire announces the wish to bring the torporized vampire back to the ready region and locks to take the action.

Now (during the above action) another player with a vampire with Enkil Cog locks the Cog to take an action. He wishes to diablerize the enemy vampire in torpor. Can the player with the first two vampire do anything about this diablerie attempt? I assume, as the ready vampire locked for the action, he would need to unlock (Qui Vive / Wake) to block or do anything at all?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jul 2018 08:12 - 05 Jul 2018 08:14 #88573 by Ke.
Replied by Ke. on topic Action Sequence, Steal ally
1. Enkil cog doesn't allow you to take an action during an action (there can only ever be one action under way). So they can't act during your rescue attempt.

2. The Enkil Cog player needs to wait for your permission until they can act (you pass them the impulse), so until you've decided that you've finished your minion phase they can't act. This means you have the right to use your second unlocked minion before they have an opportunity to act.

If the Enkil cog minion acts you can play wakes or block with any unlocked minions. After that action has resolved (successful or not) you get your minion phase back — so if you have any unlocked minion they can after the Enkil Cog action.

Note that if you pass the impulse and the Enkil Cog player does not act; then your minion phase ends. So you need to consider this before passing the impulse to other players that can act during your turn.
Last edit: 05 Jul 2018 08:14 by Ke..
The following user(s) said Thank You: avgrund

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jul 2018 09:46 #88574 by Bloodartist
As Ke. said above.

Here are some rules of thumb regarding Enkil Cog (the card is quite unique and sort of a special case)

- Player A has a vampire with Enkil cog and both are untapped.
- It is player B's turn, and Player A wants to act during that turn using Enkil Cog.
- Player A must wait until Player B says: "I'm moving to my influence phase" (ie. finishing minion phase). Then Player A says: "Wait, I want to act with Enkil Cog", taps cog and starts the action with that vampire.
- During Enkil Cog action players can react and block player A's vampire using the normal blocking/reacting rules. It is no different from acting during player A's own turn in this respect, it just takes place during player B's turn.
- Once Enkil Cog action is over, It is still player B's minion phase, and player B can still act with his own vampire if he/she so chooses. If not, we move to player B's influence phase.
- Its very easy for other players to rush forward and forget that player A might want to act with Enkil Cog. You need to follow the game sharply as the Enkil Cog player. :)

ps. The practical reason why Enkil Cog is so common, is circumventing archon investigation . If you bleed for a million during PREY'S OWN TURN with Enkil Cog, they cannot play archon investigation to burn your vampire, since out-of-turn master cards cannot be played during your own turn unless the card specifically allows it. This is something that beginning players might not realize.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker
The following user(s) said Thank You: avgrund

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jul 2018 20:10 #88582 by narpassword

Bloodartist wrote: ps. The practical reason why Enkil Cog is so common, is circumventing archon investigation . If you bleed for a million during PREY'S OWN TURN with Enkil Cog, they cannot play archon investigation to burn your vampire, since out-of-turn master cards cannot be played during your own turn unless the card specifically allows it. This is something that beginning players might not realize.


To add to this - the other practical reason (if youre not intending to bleed for 4 or more that action) is to enkil bleed at the end of your predators minion phase to gain the edge just before your turrn starts for that sweet 1 pool gain

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 1.267 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum