file Once each turn

19 Jul 2018 07:57 #89013 by Snodig
Once each turn was created by Snodig
Whenever a card text states “once each turn”, does this apply as “once each player’s turn”, or generally “once between each of your start-of-turns”?

Psychos do not explode when sunlight hits them, I don't give a fuck how crazy they are!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Snodig
  • Snodig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Ancilla
  • Ancilla
  • Prince of Kongsberg, Norway
More
19 Jul 2018 08:05 #89014 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Once each turn

Snodig wrote: Whenever a card text states “once each turn”, does this apply as “once each player’s turn”, or generally “once between each of your start-of-turns”?

The former.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Snodig

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jul 2018 08:53 #89016 by Snodig
Replied by Snodig on topic Once each turn
Does this apply to all limitations of the “per turn” variety (minion texts, action types and so on)?
In other terms, there are four turns per “cycle”, when there are four players?
Sorry, I should have elaborated in the original post.

Psychos do not explode when sunlight hits them, I don't give a fuck how crazy they are!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Snodig
  • Snodig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Ancilla
  • Ancilla
  • Prince of Kongsberg, Norway
More
19 Jul 2018 09:17 #89020 by Ratadin
Replied by Ratadin on topic Once each turn
Yes. A turn start at the unlock phase of a player, and ends at the end of the discard phase of that player. If there are 4 players, there would be 4 turns per round.

The same applies to "once each minion phase", "once each unlock phase", "once each discard phase"; you could play the effect once in each of those phase on each player's turn. If instead the text said "once during your turn", it would imply between the start of your unlock phase, and the end of your discard phase (and so could not be played during your prey minion phase, for instance).

I think that there are little instances in which the concept of "round" is taken into account, so I would not think on those terms while playing VTES: effects are confined to specific instances of player based moments (turn or phases). In fact, if you look at most cards, you will find that they use the terms "until your next X phase" or "until your next turn" instead of talking about cycles or rounds (as cards like Reversal of Fortunes could mess this up).
The following user(s) said Thank You: Snodig

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.295 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum