file Clan/Sect requirements and changing allegiance

03 Aug 2018 11:24 #89590 by avgrund
Good day fellow cold corpses.

Cards requiring a certain discipline/clan/sect must be played by a minion/vampire which have/fulfill these; but can these cards be stolen or acquired by minions not fulfilling the same?

For example a clan specific weapon on a vampire which is diablerized by another. Or a laibon retainer already on a vampire which changes sects.

Any special circumstance where this would be feasible (or not)?

Thanks for your help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2018 11:30 - 03 Aug 2018 11:33 #89591 by Kraus
Hello!

Some clan specific cards have the requirement only in the initial equip action/occasion. They are free to be used by others however. For example, Blade of Bellona can be used by anyone but has to be equipped initially by a !salu! .

Some cards specify that a certain requirement be met to be able to use it. Sword of Judgement is an example for these kinds of equipment.

Name: Blade of Bellona
[LK:4]
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Salubri antitribu
Melee weapon.
Strike: strength +1 damage, with 1 optional maneuver each combat, only usable to maneuver to close range.
Artist: Ginés Quiñonero

Name: Sword of Judgment
[Sabbat:R, SW:R/PB, Third:R]
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Brujah antitribu
Cost: 2 pool
Unique melee weapon.
Strength+1 damage each strike, with an optional additional strike each round. Only usable by Brujah antitribu.
Artist: Richard Thomas


"Oh, to the Hades with the manners! He's a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De-Arnise

Facebook @ VtES: Joensuu
www.vekn.net/forum-guidelines
Last edit: 03 Aug 2018 11:33 by Kraus.
The following user(s) said Thank You: avgrund

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2018 11:32 #89592 by jamesatzephyr

avgrund wrote: Cards requiring a certain discipline/clan/sect must be played by a minion/vampire which have/fulfill these; but can these cards be stolen or acquired by minions not fulfilling the same?


In general terms, yes - requirements are only important for playing the card. A Raven Spy requires Animalism, but once it's in play, you could move it to another vampire without any Animalism using Heidelberg Castle.

You might have a card, however, like Sword of Judgment which also includes the text: "Only usable by Brujah antitribu." And while a minion who is not a Brujah antitribu could have it, they couldn't use it.
The following user(s) said Thank You: avgrund

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2018 12:09 - 03 Aug 2018 12:09 #89596 by Ankha
Some cards also use the following pattern:
"Requires a Sabbat vampire.
This Sabbat vampire can..."

If the card is moved to another vampire who is not Sabbat, that vampire cannot use the card.

There is a third way restrictions in use can be written such as Bowl of Convergence:

"If the bearer is a vampire who has Auspex [aus], the bearer gets +1 intercept. ..." which is the same as "The bearer with Auspex [aus] gets +1 intercept."

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 03 Aug 2018 12:09 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: avgrund

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.312 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum