file Equipment Questions

26 Aug 2018 20:22 - 26 Aug 2018 20:23 #90238 by Trigger
Equipment Questions was created by Trigger
1. I have 2 ready minions out and I want to equip a baseball bat on one of them. Then have my second minion equip the baseball bat from the first minion as a +1 Stealth action. If both of the actions to equip the baseball bat and then transfer the baseball bat are successful, do both minions unlock at the end of the turn?

Baseball Bat, Equipment, 1 pool
Melee weapon. Do not replace until after this action. Strike: strength+1 damage. If the action to equip with the Baseball Bat is successful, unlock the acting minion at the end of the turn.

2. Equipment Requirements. Is the requirement to equip a weapon only required when first equipping it from your hand? Can a second minion (ally) then try to get and use an equipment that states "this Vampire"? Example below in the same scenario as #1 question, but first minion is a vampire and second minion is an Ally. Can the Ally receive the Blood Tears of Kephran after the Vampire equips with it?

Blood Tears of Kephran, Equipment
Unique. This vampire can burn this card to prevent 2 damage in combat or to gain 2 blood.

:tore: :AUS: :CEL: :PRE: :political:
Last edit: 26 Aug 2018 20:23 by Trigger.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2018 21:25 #90239 by jamesatzephyr
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Equipment Questions

Trigger wrote: 1. I have 2 ready minions out and I want to equip a baseball bat on one of them. Then have my second minion equip the baseball bat from the first minion as a +1 Stealth action. If both of the actions to equip the baseball bat and then transfer the baseball bat are successful, do both minions unlock at the end of the turn?


Yes. A more commonly known version of this involves Leather Jacket. The "Darby Dance" exists to let you spread out equipment across a bunch of vampires, with them all untapping at the end of the turn. One vampire starts with a stack of equipment, say some cheap guns they got. Each other vampire equips a stack from the previous vampire, taking the Leather Jacket with them, but leaving (say) a gun on the earlier vampire. That sort of thing.

Trigger wrote: 2. Equipment Requirements. Is the requirement to equip a weapon only required when first equipping it from your hand?


Yes .

Trigger wrote: Can a second minion (ally) then try to get and use an equipment that states "this Vampire"?


The effect the card has on the bearer isn't checked when doing a move-across equip action. If there isn't a particular requirement on the card, the fact that it provides an in-play benefit to "this vampire" doesn't stop anyone equipping it. It just won't provide an in-play benefit to that minion.

Trigger wrote: Example below in the same scenario as #1 question, but first minion is a vampire and second minion is an Ally. Can the Ally receive the Blood Tears of Kephran after the Vampire equips with it?


Sure, but it'll be pretty useless. They could have equipped it themselves anyhow.

If you're thinking of trying to put it on an ally who can play cards "as a vampire", you're onto a loser. The ally does not become a vampire, and Blood Tears won't see them as a vampire. It's just whatever card they played sees them as a vampire.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Trigger

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2018 21:29 #90240 by ReverendRevolver
1. 6.1.3. Equip (+1 stealth)
Equipment cards are action cards that give minions special abilities. The equip action has a default +1 stealth.

To equip with an equipment card from your hand, play the card and lock the acting minion. If the action is successful, the equipment card is placed on the minion (and the cost, if any, is paid). If the action is unsuccessful, the card is burned (see Resolve the Action, sec. 6.2.3). Only one equipment card can be played per action, but there is no limit to the number of equipment cards a minion can have.

To equip with an equipment card currently possessed by one of your other minions, lock the acting minion (the minion who is attempting to get the equipment) and announce the equipment card he is getting. More than one equipment card can be taken from a minion in a single action. If the action is unsuccessful, the equipment remains where it is.
So, nothing in the rules stop it, so yes, the acting minion untaps. Per wording, they had to have equipped as an action and been the acting minion to.untap at eot, and both minions meet the criteria in your example.

2.if an ally acquires the equipment, they are still an ally. The qualifier of "this vampire can..." means that if you have Carlton or Ossian holding the blood tears, they do not meet the part needed to use it.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Trigger

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.106 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum