file Secure Haven - "Target"

06 Sep 2018 11:48 #90459 by Yomyael
In our playgroup yesterday the question arose, when a master card "targets" a vampire. Does Tend the Flock target the chosen ready Baali?

Cardtexts [ Click to expand ]

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Sep 2018 13:32 #90462 by markeeuu
Replied by markeeuu on topic Secure Haven - "Target"
No because the text states "Choose" and not target.The reason is that the card's text only works if the uncontrolled vampire is younger, therefore you need to let everyone know that the card is being played by a Baali with capacity X, putting blood on infernal vampire with capacity < X

So if you didn't have to choose, you could have a 5 cap Baali in play and be able to put 3 counters on a 10 cap infernal vampire.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Sep 2018 16:30 #90464 by M.Schumacher
The following user(s) said Thank You: Snodig

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Sep 2018 19:02 #90470 by markeeuu
Replied by markeeuu on topic Secure Haven - "Target"
I guess it could be argued that the Master is not being played on the Secured Heaven minion, but on the uncontrolled vampire. I see how it can also be interpreted in the way your link lists.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Sep 2018 07:03 #90474 by Bloodartist
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Secure Haven - "Target"

markeeuu wrote: No because the text states "Choose" and not target.The reason is that the card's text only works if the uncontrolled vampire is younger, therefore you need to let everyone know that the card is being played by a Baali with capacity X, putting blood on infernal vampire with capacity < X

So if you didn't have to choose, you could have a 5 cap Baali in play and be able to put 3 counters on a 10 cap infernal vampire.


This is irrelevant to the topic though. The topic question is does "choose" count as "targeting". Apparently in VTES it does.

The current wording of secure haven has:
"Any Methuselah burns an additional pool when playing master cards on (or that target) this minion."

Personally I wouldn't make the tend the flock cost extra since tend the flock doesn't use the word "target" nor is it technically played on the vampire ("Play on an infernal vampire"). But this is a problem with tend the flock's wording. If you consider how the card is supposed to be used it should cost extra.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Sep 2018 08:46 - 07 Sep 2018 08:46 #90475 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Secure Haven - "Target"
Target: a card is targeted if:
- it is chosen ("choose...")
- it is the target of a (D) action, ("Enter combat with a minion" -- the minion is the target of the action)

groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/clifT98_Zrk/aQ4cGuJnT9wJ

LSJ wrote: > Choosing is not targetting -none of these cost anything.
Incorrect.


See also:
groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/G1w6TeymEnQ/QS78VbaUmgIJ
groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/IdQTvFaLVC0/bqBtMgwFZ18J

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 07 Sep 2018 08:46 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Yomyael

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 2.882 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum