file Question about Inceptor

26 Oct 2018 18:05 #91518 by Sorrow
Inceptor
Unique Master
Put this card on a vampire of capacity 1, and put three cards from
your hand, ash heap or library on this card, face up but out of
play.This vampire may play other copies of these cards as if he or she
had the Discipline required (if any) at superior.

Are masters allowed as one of those three cards? The text says "This vampire may play other copies of these cards" but a master card isn't one that a vampire can play. But then it includes the word "may" which indicates that the vampire needn't play that card. But does that include cards that the vampire definitely cannot play? It seems like there is some ambiguity there and I can see how it could go either way.

Sorrow

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Oct 2018 18:21 #91519 by brandonsantacruz
Yes, any card can go on inceptor, which could mean you remove Giant's Blood from your deck because it has been played, Unmasking, etc.

Be careful when you fight the monsters, lest you become one.
-Friedrich Nietzsche

brandonsantacruz.blogspot.com/
The following user(s) said Thank You: Sorrow

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Oct 2018 18:27 #91520 by jamesatzephyr

Sorrow wrote: Are masters allowed as one of those three cards?


Any library card would be fine for the "put three cards" text. That doesn't mean it goes on to work...

Sorrow wrote: The text says "This vampire may play other copies of these cards" but a master card isn't one that a vampire can play.


It isn't. Ditto, they can't play Events. Ditto, they can't play Parity Shift because they don't meet the requirements of being a Prince or Justicar, so they can't play that (unless you actually made them a Prince or Justicar and then it's irrelevant anyway). If the minion card has a sect requirement (e.g. Anarch), it won't fake that either.

The card can be played as if the Inceptor had the discipline, if any - but that's the only rule it breaks, under the Golden Rule of Cards. So you still need to be able to meet all the other requirements on how to play it.

Sorrow wrote: But then it includes the word "may" which indicates that the vampire needn't play that card. But does that include cards that the vampire definitely cannot play?


There's nothing stopping you putting cards on it, as it just says "three cards". So 99% of the time that will be a waste, and you're likely to want to put cards requiring disciplines on it to get that benefit.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Sorrow

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.128 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum