file Eagle's Sight and Guardian Vigil

21 Nov 2018 17:19 #91953 by ResurrectioN
Can an untapped vampire play Eagle's Sight on a d action crosstable and before block resolves play Guardian Vigil?

Issue is if Guardian attempt to block crosstable is allowed because Eagle's enabled it.

Eagle's Sight
[aus] +1 intercept.
[AUS] This reacting vampire attempts to block the current action, ignoring the normal prey, predator or target restrictions for blocking actions.

Guardian Vigil
[aus] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed.
[cel] This anarch gets 1 optional maneuver in the resulting combat if he or she blocks.
[for] This anarch does not tap for the block.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Nov 2018 20:47 #91956 by jamesatzephyr

ResurrectioN wrote: Can an untapped vampire play Eagle's Sight on a d action crosstable and before block resolves play Guardian Vigil?


Yes.

www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/75596-guardian-vigil-and-eagle-s-sight

I wrote: You can apply an "attempt to block" effect while already attempting to block.

Precedent: Eagle Sight, followed by Black Sunrise [LSJ 20050708]

LSJ wrote: .
>>>A sequence that does work is: Wake with Evening's Freshness, (Superior)
>>>Eagle's Sight, (Superior) Black Sunrise.
>>
>>Correct.
>
> Eagle's Sight: Reaction, Auspex
> [aus] This reacting vampire gets +1 intercept.
> [AUS] This reacting vampire attempts to block the current action,
> ignoring the normal prey, predator or target restrictions for blocking
> actions.
>
> Since Eagle's Sight at [AUS] causes a block attempt, don't you lose the
> window in which to play Black Sunrise (to untap and attempt to block)?

No. You may attempt to block while attempting to block. It is
indeed difficult to do otherwise.



Note that if you aren't an ordinarily eligible blocker then in the case of Guardian Vigil and Eagle's Sight, you need to play the Eagle's Sight first. Since Guardian Vigil makes you attempt to block, you must be an eligible blocker before you play it.

The following user(s) said Thank You: lionel, ResurrectioN

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Nov 2018 23:14 #91957 by Revenant
Can we please have Ankha review this issue and make the ruling, since i understand he is the main rules guy and has the final word. Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Nov 2018 08:31 #91963 by jamesatzephyr

Revenant wrote: Can we please have Ankha review this issue and make the ruling, since i understand he is the main rules guy and has the final word. Thank you.


If you follow the link given, you can see that Ankha gave a "Thanks" to my previous post.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ResurrectioN

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Nov 2018 14:14 - 22 Nov 2018 14:16 #91965 by Ankha

jamesatzephyr wrote:

Revenant wrote: Can we please have Ankha review this issue and make the ruling, since i understand he is the main rules guy and has the final word. Thank you.


If you follow the link given, you can see that Ankha gave a "Thanks" to my previous post.

Correct. There has been a debate about it, and LSJ's ruling stands.
Rulebook has also been edited:

6.2.2. Resolve Any Block Attempts
...
A minion can attempt to block as many time as they wish as long as another minion is not already blocking.

www.vekn.net/rulebook#6.2.2.resolveanyblockattempts

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 22 Nov 2018 14:16 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ResurrectioN

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2018 11:01 #92013 by beslin igor
I have one question about Guardian Vigil,about this part:
[for] This anarch does not tap for the block.

What hapen if action continue? is this part of text still work?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.135 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum