file Eternal Mask

07 Jan 2019 11:27 #92680 by blackday
Eternal Mask was created by blackday
Name: Eternal Mask, The
Type: Action
PoolCost:
BloodCost: 1
CardText: +1 stealth action.
[ser] (D) Bleed at +1 bleed.
[SER] Put this card on this vampire and move a unique vampire from any ash heap to your ready region with any amount of blood from this acting vampire. The minion with this card cannot take actions, block, play reaction cards or cast votes or ballots. You may burn this card and the chosen vampire during any untap phase.

Question. If Vampire A plays it on a burned vampire B. Then vampire A gets burned or removed from play lets say Golconda, Khobar Towers basically the eternal mask gets burned.
Does Vampire B stay in play?
I was thinking not but then i saw a 2009 ruling by LSJ that was contradictory to that.

Michael Summers wrote:
> If Vampire A targets a burned Vampire B with The Eternal Mask, and
> then Vampire A is Banished, does anything happen to Vampire B? The
> card that is allowing Vampire B to exist would be out of play, but
> since it was not burned per card text, nothing would happen to Vampire
> B?

Correct.

> Also, If Vampire A targets a burned Vampire B with The Eternal Mask,
> and Vampire B is banished and moved to the uncontrolled region, would
> one be able to voluntarily burn The Eternal Mask without burning
> Vampire B, and then move Vampire B into the ready region with no
> penalty?

No. The effect to burn the Eternal Mask given in Eternal Mask's card text 
targets the chosen vampire as well. It cannot be used if that target isn't in 
the game.

 > Cards in Question;
 >
 > The Eternal Mask [LotN:C]
 > Cardtype:         Action
 > Cost:         1 blood
 > Discipline:         Serpentis
 > +1 stealth action.
 > [ser] (D) Bleed at +1 bleed.
 > [SER] Put this card on this vampire and move a unique vampire from any
 > ash heap to your ready region with any amount of blood from this
 > acting vampire. The minion with this card cannot take actions, block,
 > play reaction cards or vote. You may burn this card and the chosen
 > vampire during any untap phase.
 >
 > Banishment [DS:U2, FN:PS, CE:PTo/PV, KMW:PAn2, LoB:PG]
 > Cardtype:         Political Action
 > Choose a younger ready vampire. Successful referendum means that the
 > chosen vampire is moved to the uncontrolled region (breaking any
 > temporary control effects). The vampire is uncontrolled. Any cards and
 > counters on that vampire stay with him or her (but they are out of
 > play as long as the vampire remains uncontrolled).
 >

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2019 12:45 #92682 by Timo
Replied by Timo on topic Eternal Mask
Vampire B stays in play.

There is even a turbo Nergal existing with a lot of great beast and Nergal burning in the same turn.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2019 13:09 #92683 by blackday
Replied by blackday on topic Eternal Mask
Thanks.
Wait. I'snt the great beast unique? How is that possible?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2019 13:13 #92684 by blackday
Replied by blackday on topic Eternal Mask
How about this scenario.
If vamp A uses Eternal Mask to contest vampire B (say Pascek) and then later vampire A gets burned what happens?
Does Vamp B still contest?
Or since they were not in play technically it fizzles?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2019 14:02 #92687 by Timo
Replied by Timo on topic Eternal Mask
I don't know for your last question but yes, the great beast is unique and have to be burned playing the eternal mask.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2019 15:46 - 07 Jan 2019 15:47 #92690 by jamesatzephyr
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Eternal Mask

blackday wrote: How about this scenario.


You seem to be operating under the belief that if something "bad" happens to vampire A then there is or can be a knock-on effect to vampire B. That isn't true. Eternal Mask:

- brings vampire B back into play
- puts itself on vampire A, in a way which "disables" vampire A (to loosely categorise the restrictions it puts on that vampire)
- allows you to un-disable vampire A by burning both: a) Eternal Mask, and b) Vampire B.

But nothing about Eternal Mask means that either its fate, or Vampire A's fate, in any way affects Vampire B, except for the voluntary burn.

[FZD 20111003]

Pascal wrote:

Juggernaut1981 wrote: Minion X uses the Eternal Mask to put Minion Y into play.

If you toss Minion Y off the tower, LSJ has ruled that Minion X & Eternal Mask must remain in play and cannot do anything (You have to burn the Mask and Minion Y at the same time to remove the Mask, from card text)

What happens if you toss Minion X (with the Eternal Mask) off the Khobar Towers?


Vampire Y would remain in play. [LSJ 20080217] .
There is no effect that burns Y if the Eternal Mask is burned in some other way than via its built-in cardtext.



blackday wrote: If vamp A uses Eternal Mask to contest vampire B (say Pascek) and then later vampire A gets burned what happens?


Vampire A is burned (along with the Eternal Mask on Vampire A, and anything else on Vampire A), and nothing else.

blackday wrote: Does Vamp B still contest?


Yes, because nothing has affected them.

blackday wrote: Or since they were not in play technically it fizzles?


I'm not sure what you mean by this.
Last edit: 07 Jan 2019 15:47 by jamesatzephyr.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.121 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum