file Resolution order of pre range effects?

09 Nov 2019 18:30 #97731 by self biased
Graham Gottesman bleeds and plays Dawn Operation at superior. before range is determined, he uses Weather Control.

Can the opposing minion play a pre-range card before Weather Control resolves? or does Weather Control resolve first and deal its damage?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
More
19 Nov 2019 12:41 - 19 Nov 2019 12:43 #97907 by Bloodartist

self biased wrote: Graham Gottesman bleeds and plays Dawn Operation at superior. before range is determined, he uses Weather Control.

Can the opposing minion play a pre-range card before Weather Control resolves? or does Weather Control resolve first and deal its damage?


Whenever damage is being dealt, a damage prevention window opens during which B can play combat cards (hopefully to prevent damage but not restricted to just it) and activate other effects such as barrens. B can always do something about the damage that is being inflicted, pre-range damage is not "invincible". Its not about impulse as such (despite many players being under the impression that it is apparently) TL:DR: prerange damage can be prevented in the same way as other damage, as long as you don't use card that prevents damage only from strikes.

However, while players can play cards, players cannot proceed to the next phase before the damage is handled (either inflicted, prevented, healed or otherwise handled)

I believe both players can play cards in the damage prevention window, as in theory A could for example cancel B's damage prevention card with something like death seeker etc.

My question is: can B play a card like outside the hourglass in the damage prevention window to inflict damage to the opposing minion? I believe no, because the first damage has to be handled... but Id like to hear an opinion.

"Plenty of little men tried to put their swords through my heart. And there's plenty of little skeletons buried in the woods."
- Tormund Giantsbane, Game of Thrones
Last edit: 19 Nov 2019 12:43 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Nov 2019 13:57 #97910 by Ankha

Bloodartist wrote:

self biased wrote: Graham Gottesman bleeds and plays Dawn Operation at superior. before range is determined, he uses Weather Control.

Can the opposing minion play a pre-range card before Weather Control resolves? or does Weather Control resolve first and deal its damage?


Whenever damage is being dealt, a damage prevention window opens during which B can play combat cards (hopefully to prevent damage but not restricted to just it) and activate other effects such as barrens. B can always do something about the damage that is being inflicted, pre-range damage is not "invincible". Its not about impulse as such (despite many players being under the impression that it is apparently) TL:DR: prerange damage can be prevented in the same way as other damage, as long as you don't use card that prevents damage only from strikes.

However, while players can play cards, players cannot proceed to the next phase before the damage is handled (either inflicted, prevented, healed or otherwise handled)

I believe both players can play cards in the damage prevention window, as in theory A could for example cancel B's damage prevention card with something like death seeker etc.

My question is: can B play a card like outside the hourglass in the damage prevention window to inflict damage to the opposing minion? I believe no, because the first damage has to be handled... but Id like to hear an opinion.

Yes, B can. See www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/76197-still-confused-about-multiple-outside-the-hourglasses#83682

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.111 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum