file Mental Maże and Obedience

07 Feb 2020 06:22 #98900 by Raven
Hello,

When vampire Has blocked an action, and then player Mental Maże, then action is successfull or unsuccessfull?

Same with Obedience?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Feb 2020 07:05 #98901 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Mental Maże and Obedience
If the action was blocked, then it was unsuccessful. Mental Maze and Obedience have no impact on that matter.

But I sense there is something more you want to ask.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Feb 2020 07:13 - 07 Feb 2020 07:15 #98903 by Raven
Replied by Raven on topic Mental Maże and Obedience
Not really,

I have been told that player cannot play Freak Drive after combat was cancelled by Obedience because it's before block resolution. But Your reply clarify everything

Mental Maze
Only usable when this vampire blocks an ally or a younger vampire, before block resolution.

Lock this vampire, and end the action. This card costs Followers of Set 1 fewer blood. As above, but do not lock this blocking vampire.


Obedience

Only usable when this vampire is about to enter combat with an acting younger vampire.

Unlock the acting vampire and end the action. (Do not lock this vampire if they are blocking.) The acting vampire cannot take the same action this turn. As above, but do not unlock the acting vampire.
Last edit: 07 Feb 2020 07:15 by Raven.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Feb 2020 07:49 #98905 by Kraus
Replied by Kraus on topic Mental Maże and Obedience

I have been told that player cannot play Freak Drive after combat was cancelled by Obedience because it's before block resolution. But Your reply clarify everything

Just to make sure, the correct answer is that Freak Drive may not be played. This is because those reactions end the action prematurely and immediately, and no further modifiers or reactions can be played.

The same applies to cards like Change of Target and Mirror Walk; if you play either of those, and the clause to end the action triggers, the action ends before cards like Freak Drive or Zephyr may be played.

Name: Mirror Walk
[Third:C, KoT:C, SP:PwN6]
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Thaumaturgy
Do not replace until your discard phase.
[tha] +1 stealth.
[THA] As [tha] above, and if this action is blocked, lock the blocking minion and end the action before block resolution.
Artist: Brian LeBlanc

Name: Change of Target
[Jyhad:U, VTES:U, CE:U, Anarchs:PAB2, LoB:PG2/PI2, KoT:U/PM3, SP:LB4, FB:PTo4]
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Only usable if this minion is blocked, before block resolution.
Unlock this acting minion, and the action ends (unsuccessfully). This minion cannot perform the same action again this turn.
Artist: Dan Frazier; Chris Stevens

"Oh, to the Hades with the manners! He's a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De-Arnise

Facebook @ VtES: Joensuu
www.vekn.net/forum-guidelines
The following user(s) said Thank You: Raven

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Feb 2020 08:02 #98906 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Mental Maże and Obedience

Kraus wrote:

I have been told that player cannot play Freak Drive after combat was cancelled by Obedience because it's before block resolution. But Your reply clarify everything

Just to make sure, the correct answer is that Freak Drive may not be played. This is because those reactions end the action prematurely and immediately, and no further modifiers or reactions can be played.


Correct.
The action is blocked => it has reached resolution and is unsuccessful.
Mental Maze is played. It ends the action.

Since the action has been ended, there is no action action anymore to modify (=> Freak Drive cannot be played) or to react to (=> Cats' Guidance cannot be played).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Feb 2020 08:03 - 07 Feb 2020 08:04 #98907 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Mental Maże and Obedience

Raven wrote: I have been told that player cannot play Freak Drive after combat was cancelled by Obedience because it's before block resolution.

Obdience doesn't cancel combat. It ends the action before combat happens (cardtext), which is not the same.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 07 Feb 2020 08:04 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Raven

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.121 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum