file Trap and Boxed In

25 May 2020 04:56 #99932 by XZealot
Trap and Boxed In was created by XZealot
If there is a Trap in play, then can you play Boxed In to continue?

Boxed In
Do not replace until after combat.Press.

Trap
Only usable before range is determined during the first round of combat.Put this card in play with 3 counters. Each time a card is played this combat, reset the number of counters on this card to 3. During the press step of each round this combat, this Trap automatically burns 1 counter from itself to provide 1 press to continue combat (either combatant can press to end combat). Burn this card at the end of combat.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2020 06:20 #99933 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Trap and Boxed In
The trap provides a mandatory press to continue that you have to handle first. You cannot use a press to continue if there's already a press to continue.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tadori

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2020 13:28 - 25 May 2020 13:29 #99935 by Tadori
Replied by Tadori on topic Trap and Boxed In

Ankha wrote: The trap provides a mandatory press to continue that you have to handle first. You cannot use a press to continue if there's already a press to continue.


For me this doesn't allow one of them to trigger in press step but it doesn't restrict a possibility to play them both before range is determined. Can you clarify this.
Last edit: 25 May 2020 13:29 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2020 14:53 #99936 by jamesatzephyr
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Trap and Boxed In

Tadori wrote: For me this doesn't allow one of them to trigger in press step but it doesn't restrict a possibility to play them both before range is determined. Can you clarify this.


You can't play Boxed In prior to range being determined. It's a press, so you play it in the press step. (Except in this situation, you can't.)

A variety of other cards will give you an optional press e.g. playing Flash for a maneuver, with an optional press. You can play for the maneuver during set range. During the press step, you will have an optional maneuver. You could use it to cancel the press from Trap, but you couldn't use it to press to continue while the press from Trap is uncancelled. You couldn't play Flash just for a press (at inferior) to continue while the Trap press is uncancelled, such as if you just wanted to cycle the card out of your hand but did want combat to go to a second round.

If you have another mandatory press to continue (e.g. Talbot's Chainsaw), one of the presses is used - Trap, or Talbot's - and the other would be ignored for the time-being.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tadori

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2020 06:03 - 26 May 2020 06:21 #99944 by Tadori
Replied by Tadori on topic Trap and Boxed In
Sorry got confused by the first post :)I assume it's a whole text of boxed in (didn't remember the card). your right off course.
Last edit: 26 May 2020 06:21 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.113 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum