file Does a Methuselah lose 3 or 4 pool when the Vampire with "fame" enter Torpor dur

24 Jul 2020 20:43 - 25 Jul 2020 09:18 #100431 by Hobbesgoblin

Fame

Put this card on a ready vampire. The controller of this vampire burns 3 pool after this vampire goes to torpor. During each Methuselah's unlock phase, if this vampire is in torpor, that Methuselah burns 1 pool.


If a vampire enters Torpor from any effect during the unlock phase, does the controlling player take 3 or 4 total pool damage during the Unlock Phase?
Last edit: 25 Jul 2020 09:18 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jul 2020 21:10 - 24 Jul 2020 21:37 #100432 by Hakuron
»Any cards or effects that require or allow you to do something during your unlock phase take effect after you have unlocked your cards.« [Rulebook]

As long as you have any "during your unlock phase" effects lingering, you will have to resolve them.
If you have multiple of those effects, you can choose the order of resolution.

If something happens that adds a "during your unlock phase (you may)" effect during your unlock phase, you will have (the option) to resolve it as well.
[Edit: Otherwise the Emerald Legionnaires chain could not work.]

National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil
Last edit: 24 Jul 2020 21:37 by Hakuron. Reason: addition

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jul 2020 09:15 #100433 by Hobbesgoblin
My interpretation was, that "Fame" checks once per unlock if its bearer is in Torpr or not, and if so, "inflicts one pool damage". Under the rule that the active player can order any effect as they see fit, I argued, that you would be able to order fame before "mercy of seth" triggers and therefore avoid the 1 pool damage during unlock.

Mercy for Seth
Type: Combat
Cost:1 Blood
[nec] Strike: put this card on the opposing minion. If this minion is a mortal, he or she is burned. During his or her unlock phase, the minion with this card takes 1 unpreventable damage. The minion with this card may burn it as a +1 stealth action.
[NEC] As above, and this strike inflicts 1 damage as well.


the question becomes therefore: is the Fame Check always there, regardless of it being in Torpor, or is it added the moment the fame enters torpor.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jul 2020 16:09 #100434 by Ankha
If during your unlock phase, the vampire with Fame is not in torpor, the condition of being in torpor is not met so the Fame effect does not trigger. You cannot consider it to have trigger since the condition is not met.
But if at some point during your unlock phase, the vampire with Fame goes to torpor, then the condition is now met and you have 1 pool to burn during your unlock phase. You can't get pass to the next phase until you have burned a pool (unless the vampire leaves torpor during the same phase).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lönkka, Hakuron, beslin igor, Palamedes, Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.120 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum