file Form of Mist vs Deflection

12 Sep 2020 15:31 #100757 by Palamedes
Yipe, here is the scenario with Wake and Mirror Image:

Vamp A is trying to hunt;
Locked Vamp B plays Wake, tries to block, then plays +1 intercept, and the block is successful;
Combat begins, and Vamp A plays sup Mirror Image to continue the action;
Since it is the same action, all effects still applies, the Vamp B is still awake and have 1 intercept, so he tries to block again;
Since Vamp A have no new stealth cards to play, the block is successful, and new combat begins.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2020 17:28 #100758 by Yipe
Replied by Yipe on topic Form of Mist vs Deflection
Gotcha. To clarify, if a minion blocked the initial declaration of the action then they would no longer be blocking the continued action unless:

A) They had previously played a wake card to block the action as it was started.
B) Play a wake card in response to the continuing action.

Whew, thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2020 18:20 #100759 by Palamedes

Yipe wrote: Gotcha. To clarify, if a minion blocked the initial declaration of the action then they would no longer be blocking the continued action unless:

A) They had previously played a wake card to block the action as it was started.
B) Play a wake card in response to the continuing action.

Whew, thanks!

You are correct, but remember, a minion blocked the initial declaration of the action does not tries to block the continued action automatically if he played wake before. You can make a new block attempt with that or any other minion.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2020 20:34 #100760 by Yipe
Replied by Yipe on topic Form of Mist vs Deflection

Palamedes wrote: You are correct, but remember, a minion blocked the initial declaration of the action does not tries to block the continued action automatically if he played wake before. You can make a new block attempt with that or any other minion.


Okay, based on what you just wrote I'm not sure I have this correct then.

Are you saying that the minion who initially blocked using a wake (and locked because the block was successful) can't automatically block the continued action? Is that because the minion is locked? But it's still the same action. This is really confusing. Here's an example:

1. Minion A takes the hunt action.
2. Minion B is locked and plays a wake.
3. Minion B plays enough intercept to successfully block and locks.
4. Minion A and B enter combat.
5. Minion A plays Form of Mist/Mirror Image as their strike. The action continues as if unblocked.

What can Minion B do now?

A) Minion B doesn't need to do anything new to block the continued action. They played a wake, this is the same action, and all intercept/stealth modifiers carry over. They simply declare they are blocking again even though they are locked and the 2 minions enter combat once more unless Minion A can gain more stealth.

B) Minion B must find a way to unlock or play another wake card to block the continued action. If they can, all intercept/stealth modifiers remain in place. Go to combat.

C) Minion B must find a way to unlock or play another wake card to block the continued action. No intercept/stealth modifiers carry over to this continued action.

D) None of the above? Something else? It's not really clear to me at all anymore.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2020 20:57 - 12 Sep 2020 20:58 #100761 by Snodig
Replied by Snodig on topic Form of Mist vs Deflection

Yipe wrote:

Palamedes wrote: You are correct, but remember, a minion blocked the initial declaration of the action does not tries to block the continued action automatically if he played wake before. You can make a new block attempt with that or any other minion.


Okay, based on what you just wrote I'm not sure I have this correct then.

Are you saying that the minion who initially blocked using a wake (and locked because the block was successful) can't automatically block the continued action? Is that because the minion is locked? But it's still the same action. This is really confusing. Here's an example:

1. Minion A takes the hunt action.
2. Minion B is locked and plays a wake.
3. Minion B plays enough intercept to successfully block and locks.
4. Minion A and B enter combat.
5. Minion A plays Form of Mist/Mirror Image as their strike. The action continues as if unblocked.

What can Minion B do now?

A) Minion B doesn't need to do anything new to block the continued action. They played a wake, this is the same action, and all intercept/stealth modifiers carry over. They simply declare they are blocking again even though they are locked and the 2 minions enter combat once more unless Minion A can gain more stealth.

B) Minion B must find a way to unlock or play another wake card to block the continued action. If they can, all intercept/stealth modifiers remain in place. Go to combat.

C) Minion B must find a way to unlock or play another wake card to block the continued action. No intercept/stealth modifiers carry over to this continued action.

D) None of the above? Something else? It's not really clear to me at all anymore.

Option A is correct.

edit: Keep in mind that Form of Mist adds one stealth, so the blocker might have to gain more intercept. But you probably realized that :)
Last edit: 12 Sep 2020 20:58 by Snodig. Reason: Regarding FoM stealth

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2020 08:43 #100762 by Palamedes

Yipe wrote: A) Minion B doesn't need to do anything new to block the continued action. They played a wake, this is the same action, and all intercept/stealth modifiers carry over. They simply declare they are blocking again even though they are locked and the 2 minions enter combat once more unless Minion A can gain more stealth.

As Snoding says, option A is correct.

I just wanted to point that after Wake, the block attempt is not made automatically, but you can declare new block attempt, exactly like you describe in option A.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.169 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum