Turns proceed clockwise around the playing area. Each player's turn is composed of the following five phases, in order:

1. Untap Phase

Untap all your cards.

2. Master Phase

Play a master card.

3. Minion Phase

Have your minions perform actions.

4. Influence Phase

Attempt to control vampires in your uncontrolled region.

5. Discard Phase

Discard a card from your hand (and draw another).

Each of the phases is described in full detail in the following sections.