Methuselahs vehemently strive to dominate vampire society, but most younger vampires are reluctant to defer to the whims of the ancients. Methuselahs must apply their resources skillfully to entice their younger brethren (and other minions) to do their bidding (often with the minions not even realizing that they are being manipulated).

Your influence phase allows you to devote some of your influence (measured by your pool) to controlling the minions in your uncontrolled region. This phase can also be used to move new minions from your crypt to your uncontrolled region. The activities conducted in this phase are administered through a type of "influence phase action" called a transfer. Transfers, like master phase actions, are not represented by counters and cannot be saved for later use.

Each Methuselah normally receives four transfers at the start of her influence phase. To balance the advantage of going first, however, Methuselahs do not receive the full allotment of transfers during the first three turns. Instead, the Methuselah who has the first turn receives only one transfer on her first influence phase. The Methuselah who plays second gets two transfers on her turn, and the Methuselah who takes the third turn gets three transfers. Thereafter, each Methuselah receives the standard four transfers during her influence phase.

During your influence phase you may spend transfers as follows:

  • Spend one transfer to move 1 blood counter from your pool to a minion in your uncontrolled region.
  • Spend two transfers to move 1 blood counter from a minion in your uncontrolled region to your pool.
  • Spend four transfers and burn a pool to move a vampire from your crypt to your uncontrolled region (drawing from the top, as always).

At any time during this phase, if a vampire has at least as many blood counters as his capacity, the player can move that vampire face up to the ready region, unlocked. The counters are kept on him to represent his blood (counters in excess of his capacity drain off immediately as usual). If the vampire grants additional transfers, those can’t be used on this turn because transfers are gained at the start of the influence phase. Other types of crypt cards are handled similarly.

Nora comes to her influence phase. She has four transfers to spend, but only 2 pool. She sees that she has built up 8 blood counters on a vampire with a blood capacity of 10, and she thinks she can win the game if she gets it into play. However, she cannot use both counters in her pool to put it into play because that would put her out of the game. She had invested a couple of blood counters in a vampire with a blood capacity of 7 on a previous turn, so she spends two of her four transfers to take back 1 of those counters and put it in her pool. Now she has 3 pool and two transfers left to spend. She spends the two transfers by moving 2 of the 3 blood counters from her pool to the vampire with the blood capacity of 10 and moves that vampire to the ready region.

For Imbued crypt cards, refer to the Imbued Rules Appendix.