Rules Team Rulings 01-MAY-2002
- From: LSJ <>
- Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad
- Date: Wed, 01 May 2002 11:05:33 -0400
- Organization: White Wolf, Inc.
- Message-ID: <>
Reversals of previous rulings and new errata contained herein go into effect for V:EKN Constructed Tournaments on May 31, 2002.
CARD-SPECIFIC CLARIFICATIONS, RULINGS, AND ERRATA
MALLEABLE VISAGE doesn't change the acting minion. The original acting ally is still the actor. Since he was blocked (a requirement for playing Malleable Visage), the No Repeat Actions rule (if it is being used) would restrict him from performing the same action again this turn.
EAGLE'S SIGHT won't change a Methuselah's "I don't block" decision. It allows a non-target Methuselah to block directed action, and allows a Methuselah other than the predator or prey to block an undirected action. It won't overcome any other obstacle to blocking (like stealth, Seduction, Day Operation, or a prior "I don't block" decision). (REVERSAL)
If a vampire bleeds with FORCE OF WILL and the bleed action is canceled (via Change of Target, for example), then the acting vampire doesn't suffer the aggravated damage, since there is no combat.
KHOBAR TOWERS will take X as the blood cost or pool cost of an ally. (REVERSAL)
The untap effect of MAJESTY (and Earth Meld and Meld with the Land) occurs when the strike resolves (it is not delayed until after combat ends).
If a vampire is stolen via SPIRIT MARIONETTE and then bleeds (as required) and the bleed action is canceled (via Change of Target, for example), the vampire still returns to its original controller, since that "next action" (the bleed that was canceled) is over. (REVERSAL)
THE GRANDEST TRICK makes vampires unable to block the minion who played it, not the action in general (so if it is Masked, vampires can attempt to block the new acting vampire).
MELANGE should refer to the "minion with this card" not "the vampire with this card" - it still functions when played on an acting ally.
PSYCHOMACHIA is playable when an ally or younger vampire blocks (successfully) - not merely on the attempt. (So the NRA rule, if used, would "kick in" to prevent the vampire from attempting the same type of action again).
For allies that are able to play certain cards "as a vampire", they are treated as vampires for all parts of the resolution of the play of the appropriate cards. This includes the resolution of an action card and the resolution of a strike card. It does not include any continuing effects granted by the card (after its resolution) nor any effects given by a card in play. This reverses a few previous rulings regarding the resolution of, for example, Burst of Sunlight (will harm the ally striking "as a vampire") and the ability of an ally to use Charming Lobby to call a vote (allowed if the ally plays Charming Lobby "as a vampire"). (REVERSAL)
Effects that end combat and then do something else after combat (all in the single resolution of the effect) will fizzle if combat doesn't end or if a new combat is started. (Changes: Rotschreck followed by Fast Reaction or Psyche! will nullify the torpor effect.) Note that this doesn't apply to end combat and untap effects - the untap effect is not delayed to after combat (see Majesty ruling above).
If an effect resolves and sets up an effect to be resolved later (e.g., Undead Persistence's torpor effect or Siren's Lure's combat), then the effect will not be canceled by "interruptions" (extending combat/starting combat/etc.).
An effect which would cause (a new) combat cannot be used if there is already a "to be resolved later" combat.
Some cards grant a minion the option of doing something and then go on to say that some other effect will occur "if he does so". The second effect is only applied if the minion uses the effect (the first effect) provided by the card. If he does the effect, but doesn't use the card (i.e., he has some additional ability which allows him to do the same effect), then the secondary effect of the card doesn't occur. That is, "if he does so" means "if he uses this card's effect to do so". For example, Ian Forestal with an Infernal Familiar can play a card that requires, say, Necromancy (a Discipline he doesn't have) as if he had basic Necromancy. This ability is granted separately by both his own card text and the text on the Infernal Familiar. If he plays a card that requires Necromancy via the Familiar ("if he does so"), then the Infernal Familiar gets an additional investment counter, by card text. If he uses his special ability to play such a card, the Familiar doesn't. (REVERSAL)