OK
DOUBTS
MERGED
DISCARDED

WORKING

Back to top
R0468.2 : <adjective> (allies and retainers) / <adjective> allies and retainers / <adjective> allies and <adjective> retainers
    • Eg. 'Mages (allies and retainers)' or 'Gargoyle creatures (allies and retainers)'...
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0468.1 : Relative clause and multiple referent
    • The sentence '[Allies and retainers] requiring [Necromancy or Giovanny]...' must be parsed as indicated with the brackets. Otherwise, the sentence would have to be: 'Retainers requiring Necromancy or Giovanny and allies cost...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0467 : Blocking minion / blocker
    • Use 'blocking minion', except for 'eligible blockers'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0466 : Minion controlled by your prey/your prey's minion
    • Use 'Minion controlled by your prey'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0464 : Imperative mood
    • Use the imperative mood when :
      - the verb matches exclusively a Methuselah
      - the verb matches exclusively a vampire and is the effect of an action, and only in the first sentence
      - it doesn't matter (unexclusive, eg. Search your library)
      Oherwise, use a subject when it can be ambiguous.

      Eg. Anonymous Freight is a minion card: 'Equip with ...' instead of 'This minion equips with...'
      Angel of Berlin is a master card: 'equip a ready imbued you control with...'

      Minion cards are tricky, a few examples:

      Restoration: Gain 2 blood.
      Soul Feasting: Gain 1 blood, or burn a wraith to gain 4 blood... As above, and gain {1} additional blood.
      Ashes to Ashes (combat card): Prevent all damage. This vampire unlocks...
      Consume the Dead (reaction): ... This Nagaraja gains 1 blood...
      Cull the Herd: (D) Look at another Methuselah's hand and discard all ally or retainer cards from it. This vampire gains 1 blood for each card...
      or: (D) Look at another Methuselah's hand, discard all ally or retainer cards from it, and gain 1 blood for each card... (same sentence)
      Engling Fury: This vampire gains 2 blood and unlocks. (because of 'this vampire unlocks', we must use 'this vampire gains 2 blood')
      Entrenching: If this vampire has 4 or more blood, they gain 4 blood. (we can't write 'Gain 4 blood if you/this vampire')
      Forgery: (D) Bleed. If the bleed is successful, this vampire gains 1 blood. (second sentence)
      Sheepdog: This vampire gains 4 blood and put this card on him or her.

      Exclusive to a Methuselah:
      **You get
      Gain X pool
      Equip a X with Y
      Lock a X
      Unlock a X

      Exclusive to a Vampire:
      **This ~ gets
      Gain X blood
      Enter combat with
      Bleed
      Diablerize
      Go to torpor
      Hunt
      Equip with X
      Employ)
      Recruit
      This ~ locks
      This ~ unlocks
      (combat)
      Prevent
      Press
      Maneuver
      Dodge
      Strike
      Call (a referendum)

      Unexclusive
      Move
      Lock
      Unlock
      Put this card on
      Burn X to
      Burn a X
      Steal
      Inflict
      Remove a X
      Send X to torpor
      Discard
      Look at
      Choose
      Search
      Turn... face down/up
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0463 : Being bled
    • Replace 'Methuselah being bled' by 'target Methuselah' and 'when you are being bled' by 'when a minion is bleeding you'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0462 : Action modifier: Only usable during a referendum / Only usable during the referendum of a political action
    • Use 'Only usable during a referendum'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0461 : Retainer with additional life
    • If the superior level of the retainer has a different amount of life, use 'As above, but X has Y life.' (not 'the X')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0459 : "this combat / that combat"
    • Actions typically refers to 'that combat' since the action itself is not a combat (even if it's an action whose resolution leads to combat). Combat cards typically refers to 'this combat' (the combat during which they are played)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0458 : Ally (Subtype)
    • Remove the subtype from the name and use the subtype listed in the cardtext instead
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0457 : [other] ready tapped|untapped younger|older X
    • "Use terms in that order'ready untapped' (more frequent)"
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0453.1 : whenever X untaps
    • Is ok regarding rule R0453
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0453 : untap this X / this X untaps
    • Use 'untap this X' except for 'this X untaps and does Y' (eg. 'This vampire untaps and attempts to block'), or for passive forms such as 'No blood hunt can be called, and this vampire untaps' or 'Successful referendum means... this vampire untaps'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0452 : Anarch tridisciplines
    • Use the new template for Keystone-Kine like cards.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0451 : Sensory Deprivation
    • Burn the card instead of having it linger around uselessly.
    • Comment: CHANGE
Send feedback
R0450 : Baron/baron
    • Baron takes a capital - to mirror other location titles.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0449.1 : Sub-traits
    • 'Black Hand Seraph' to be used over 'Black Hand. Seraph'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0449 : Sub-traits
    • Anarch is a subset of Independent, so all native anarchs should use 'Independent anarch' (with no capital A)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0488 : During his or her X phase / During his or her controller's X phase
    • Use 'During his or her X phase'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0487 : Each/every
    • Use 'each' when appropriate ('Each other Methuselah', 'Each Ventrue'...)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0486 : untap as normal
    • use 'untap as normal' without 'during your/his or her controller's untap phase'. Exception: 'untap during ... next untap phase' for cards that aren't put on the minion (eg. Faerie Wards). Do not use 'untap on ... next' but 'during'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0485 : reorder / rearrange
    • Use 'reorder' for cards of the library / crypt. Also use 'look at and reorder the top X cards...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0484 : top card of / top card in / top card from
    • Use 'top card of' or 'top of'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0483 : True Brujah - use / play cards requiring Celerity
    • Use 'use'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0482 : Vampire name
    • Use the vampire name the first time he or she is mentionned, then use 'he/she/his/her/him' as much as possible. Some exceptions:
      - non-unique vampire
      - for clarity when multiple minions are involved (eg. 'Whenever Aziz burns a vampire in combat, put 1 status counter on Aziz.' or 'Once each turn when combat involving Dan ends and the opposing minion is not ready, Dan can burn 1 blood to untap.' or 'If Ubende is ready, you gain 1 pool whenever Ganhuru successfully bleeds your prey.')
      - for clarity in related long sentences (eg. 'When Andrew plays a card requiring Thaumaturgy [tha], reveal the top card of your library (before drawing to replace). If it also requires Thaumaturgy, the card is canceled and Andrew burns 1 blood.' or 'If Egothha is ready during your untap phase, your prey burns the top card of his or her library, and if that card is a master card, Egothha gains 1 blood.')
      - if the name is as short or shorter than the pronoun (eg. 'Ayo')
      - when the vampire has no known gender (eg. Céleste, the Voice of a Secret)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0481 : with any X counters / with X counters / with any X counter / with at least 1 X counter
    • Use 'with any X counters'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0480 : X can enter combat with Y and gets Z during that combat
    • Use this one sentence-template rather than separate sentences (eg. Massassi: 'Massassi can enter combat with a ready vampire as a (D) action. If that action is successful, she gets an optional maneuver in the first round of the resulting combat.' => 'Massassi can enter combat with any vampire as a (D) action and gets 1 optional maneuver during the first round of that combat.')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0479 : give Y X / give X to Y
    • Use 'give Y X' (eg. 'can tap to give an ally +1 stealth')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0478 : X can do Y to Z / you can do Y to Z X
    • Use as much as possible the target of the effect as subject. Eg. 'You can burn the Edge to untap Emily' => 'Emily can burn the Edge to untap', or 'You can discard a political action card to give Foo +1 intercept' => 'Foo can discard a political action card to get +1 intercept'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0477 : you can use a X phase action to / As a X phase action, you can
    • Use 'you can use a X phase action to'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0476.1 : blood or pool/pool or blood
    • use 'blood or pool' (based on frequency)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0476 : you can burn X blood/pool to... / you can pay X blood/pool to...
    • Use 'burn' (which allows to burn something else than blood or pool, eg. a retainer); 'pay' is only used with the word 'cost' (or to repay a debt)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0475 : X gets +1 stealth on recruit and employ actions / X gets +1 stealth when recruiting allies and employing retainers
    • Use 'X gets +1 stealth on recruit and employ actions' (eg. 'Guillaume gets +1 stealth on recruit and employ actions.'). If it's only one of them, use 'when recruiting allies' or 'when employing retainers' for clarity, rather than just 'on recruit actions' or 'on employ actions' (eg. 'Dovey gets +1 stealth when employing retainers.').
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0475.1 : Allies and retainers cost X 1 less Y / Allies and retainers cost X 1 less Y to recruit / Recruiting allies and employing retainers cost X 1 less Y /
    • Use the first pattern: 'Allies and retainers cost X 1 less'. 'to recruit / to employ' can be dropped. Be careful that the word 'action' is kept if used (eg. Charisma: 'Recruit ally actions cost this vampire...') because it affects Piper for instance. Contrary to Black Cat, there's no currently no interaction between the cost paid for an ally/retainer and the cost announced or printed. See also R0195.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0475.2 : Recruit or employ / employ or recruit
    • Use the order 'Recruit or employ'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0474 : against you (or a card you control)
    • Always add the reminder.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0473 : as if untapped/even though tapped
    • Use 'even though tapped' to avoid ambiguities with 'tap .. to' effects
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0472 : as if
    • Grammar: Use 'as if' + past tense
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0471.1 : put this card with X counters on it on Y / put this card on Y and put X counters on this card
    • Use the first wording: 'put this card with X counters on it on Y'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0471.2 : put X counters on this card / put X counters on this card when it is played
    • Remove 'when it is played' for cards that are inherently put in play (location, event...)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0471.3 : Put this card in play with X counters / Put this card in play with X counters on it
    • Remove 'on it'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0471.4 : when this card has X counters / when this card has X counters on it
    • Use the first wording, remove 'on it'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0470 : cancel a X as it is played by a Y / cancel a X a Y plays as it is played
    • Use the first wording: 'cancel a X as it is played by a Y' (eg. Denial of Aphrodite's Favor)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0469 : gets +X votes / gets +X votes on each referendum
    • Use the first wording, remove 'on each referendum.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0468 : Master Usable during your turn. / Usable during your own turn.
    • Use 'Usable during your turn.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0467 : Put this card... ; you still control this card
    • Use ';' between 'put this card...' and 'you still control this card'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0466 : referendum action modifier requirement
    • 'Ready' can be removed from 'Requires a ready X' for action modifiers that are played during a referendum, because it can't happen (and otherwise would require to add 'ready' on every other card played during a referendum that have currently no non-Discipline non-clan requirement, such as Bewitching Oration)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0465 : anarch counters
    • Remove use of anarch counters. use 'This vampire becomes anarch (and Independent).' instead.
    • Comment: CHANGE
Send feedback
R0464 : Put this card on an uncontrolled X. This card remains in play
    • Use 'Put this card *in play* on...' instead. Eg. Brainwash, Cadet, Descent into Darkness, Founders of the Ebony Kingdom
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0463 : Choose X and put Y in play / Put X in play and choose Y
    • Put the choice first: 'Choose X and put Y in play'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0462 : In play
    • In play is required for:
      A/ 'put X in play' (eg. 'put this card in play', 'action to put vampires in play', 'put that ally in play')
      B/ 'put X in play on [sthing that is out of play]' (eg. Brainwash: 'Put this card in play on a crypt card in your prey's uncontrolled region')
      C/ 'for each X in play' (eg. '+1 bleed for each Gehenna in play')
      D/ 'if there is X in play' / 'if X is in play' (eg. 'if there are any Gehenna cards in play...', or 'if the Society of Leopold is in play')
      E/ 'requires X in play' (eg. 'Requires a ready imbued in play': without in play, you would have to control that imbued)
      F/ 'There can be only one X in play.'
      G/ 'Do not replace as long as this card is in play'
      H/ locquipments ('...does not count as equipment while in play')
      I/ if 'X' is a 'card' or 'copy' / 'copies' (eg. 'remove all copies in play')
      Otherwise, remove 'in play' (it's unnecessary):
      - 'choose a X' (= 'whoever controls it')
      - 'steal/burn a X' (eg. 'Bulscu can steal an equipment')
      - 'have': 'A Methuselah can have only one X.' + replace 'Methuselah has' by 'Methuselah controls' when applicable.
      - 'controlled/ready' (except for E/ above) (eg. 'Requires at least two other Gehenna cards controlled by other Methuselahs': 'controlled' implies 'in play')
      - 'do something to a/all X' if X is not 'card' or 'copy' (eg. 'burn all boons', 'burn all Gehenna cards')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0462.1 : Clarification
    • 'A vampire can have only one X' implies 'on him/her'. 'A Methuselah can have only one X' implies 'in play'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0462.2 : when(ever) X enters play / is put in play / was moved into
    • Use 'enters play' for minions, 'is put in play' otherwise.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0461.1 : steal an ally/minion/location / steal an ally/minion/location for him or her / steal an ally/minion/location for his or her controller
    • Use 'steal an ally/minion/location' (drop 'for...'). Requires a clarification in the rulebook for 'steal'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0461.2 : steal an equipment/steal equipment
    • Use 'steal an equipment', except for 'strike: steal equipment' with is described in the rulebook (it should be updated)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0461.3 : steal a retainer/equipment / steal a retainer/equipment from any minion
    • For crypt cards, drop 'from any minion' that prevents you from stealing from yourself, but is it worth 3 words? (changes Kostantin, Baro of Carnaval and Xeper, Sultan of Lepers)
    • Comment: CHANGE
Send feedback
R0461.3 : steal the title from him
    • Use 'steal his title'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0461.4 : steal / take control
    • Use 'steal' if the change of controller is permanent and involves a minion that steals, or 'take control' otherwise: if it's temporary ('until...'), if a card changes controller during a phase (Coven...).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0460 : he/she a counter/Aye/Orun / there is a counter/Aye/Orun on him/her
    • use 'he/she has a counter' which is shorter, eg. Byzar: 'When he has 3 burn counters, remove him from the game.' or Gwen Brand: 'While she has 4 or more founder counters,...'. Otherwise use 'on him/her', eg. 'tap X Aye on him to...', 'Aziz gets +1 vote for each status counter on him.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0459 : Action attempted by... / Action performed by...
    • Which one do we use? Is there a difference in '+1 intercept against political actions attempted/performed by an archbishop?'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0458 : Additional blood
    • Use only 'additional blood' if the blood is related to the blood gained/lost. Eg. 'cards cost 1 additional blood' (the cost is increased), '...successfully hunts, he gains 1 additional blood' (the blood comes from the same source), but not Cavalier: 'when this vampire successfully performs an action that costs 1 or more blood, he or she can burn 1 blood' (the blood burned has nothing to do with the cost of the action)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0457 : In combat/ while in combat / while X is in combat
    • Use 'In combat', eg. Amelia, The Blood Red Tears: 'After *combat* with Amelia, the opposing minion burns 1 blood or life.', Andy: 'An older vampire opposing Andy gets 1 optional press *each combat*.', Count Germaine: 'Minions opposing Germaine in combat cannot use weapons.' Applies mostly to crypt cards because Owl Companion: "While *employer* is in combat, the controller of the opposing minion plays with an open hand.' can't be shortened to 'In combat, ...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0456.2 : opposing X... in combat
    • 'in combat' must appear somewhere on the card. Eg. Claudio Severino: 'Combat cards cost an opposing vampire an additional blood.' => 'Combat cards cost vampires opposing *Claudio*...'
      Exception: 'Rabbat can strike: send the opposing vampire to torpor or burn the opposing ally.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0456.1 : Minions opposing X
    • X must appear somewhere on the card. Eg. Claudio Severino: 'Combat cards cost an opposing vampire an additional blood.' => 'Combat cards cost vampires opposing *Claudio*...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0455 : Look at another Methuselah's hand / look at the hand of another Methuselah
    • Use 'another Methuselah's hand' which is shorter.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0454 : card played on uncontrolled minions
    • The 'This card remains in play.' part is not a reminder.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0453 : crypt card in X's uncontrolled region/uncontrolled minion in X's uncontrolled region
    • Use 'crypt card...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0451 : Either... or / and X or Y
    • Use 'either...or' to avoid regroup 'or' terms, eg. Anarch Troublemaker: 'During your untap phase, you can give control of the Anarch Troublemaker to your prey and either X or Y.'
    • Comment: ?
Send feedback
R0215 : after resolution
    • Action modifiers that are played after resolution must use the following wording (note the past simple tense):

      Todo: each time a referendum passes


      - Only usable after action resolution.
      - Only usable after resolution of a successful action.
      - Only usable after resolution of an unsuccessful action.
      - Only usable after resolution of a successful hunt action.
      - Only usable after resolution of a political action, if the referendum passed.
      - Only usable after resolution of a political action, if the referendum failed.
      - Only usable after action resolution if a bleed against you was successful or a referendum passed.
      - Only usable after resolution of a successful bleed against your prey. (rechercher Successfully bleeds pour corriger)
      - Only usable after action resolution by a ready Seraph other than the acting non-Seraph Black Hand vampire.
      - after resolution of a successful (D) action against you
      - after action resolution if the action was successful
      - after resolution of a successful (D) action against you performed by a vampire
      - untap this blocking vampire after action resolution --- no 'after combat', combat (if any) is part of the resolution of a blocked action
      - after resolution of an action performed by a vampire
      - after action resolution, if the bleed resolved for 0 (or less), <effect>
      - after resolution of an action during which ...<past simple> "
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0187.1 : Search your... for a X and move it to / Search your... for a X to move to
    • Use 'and move it to'. Use 'move' if the target is a region (hand, ready region, ash heap, library...) or 'put' if the target is a card the X is put onto.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0133.1 : can [be|gain|have] only one / can only [be|gain|have] one
    • Use 'can [be|gain|have] only one'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0100.2 : When a minion dodges or ends combat as a strike
    • Use 'when a minion strikes: dodge, or strikes: combat ends'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0100.1 : Minions opposing X cannot Y as a strike
    • Use 'Minions opposing X cannot strike: Y'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0097.1 : Strike: hand strike / Strike: strength damage
    • Use 'hand strike' for strikes that are not forbidden by Immortal Grapple. Pattern: 'Strike: hand strike [at +X damage][, aggravated].'
      Use 'strength damage' for damage based on strength that don't work under Immortal Grapple (eg. Weapon strike, or ranged damage.)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0089.1 : Move X counters from X to Y
    • 'Move' must always use 'from' and 'to' (for counters. It is acceptable to have: 'Move this card to...') Exception: Azrael 'When Azrael hunts, he can move 1 of the blood he would gain to another vampire you control instead.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0077.2 : Burn this card if X. / If X, burn this card.
    • Use 'Burn this card if X'. Doesn't apply to complex effects such as 'If X, burn this card and do Y.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0077.1 : Burn this card during your X phase. / During your X phase, burn this card.
    • Use 'Burn this card during your X phase.' (it emphasizes the fact that the card has a limited duration). Doesn't apply to complex effects such as 'During your X phase, burn this card and do Y.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0074.1 : The attached X / this X / the X with this card
    • Use 'this X' when the card is a master card or when the card is put by X on X. If the card is put on another X (eg. Mind Numb), use 'the attached X' unless X is clearly incompatible with the acting vampire (eg. a card requiring a Tremere that is put on a slave Gargoyle), to avoid confusion with the acting minion ('this acting minion') and the target.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0051.1 : that + verb / verb+ing
    • Use verb+ing, except for 'as an action that costs...' or if there's something between the subject and that: 'locations you control that...', or for weapons "that inflicts damage" (= as a regular strike), or with negations 'that does not ...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0015.1 : Choose a X / choose any X
    • Use 'a', unless it's used to mark a difference (eg. Protect Thine Own: 'Choose a non-Camarilla vampire with capacity 5 or less. If ..., you can choose *any* non-Camarilla vampire instead.'). This rule applies only to minions.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0015.2 : A/Any
    • For equipment, location etc., always use 'a'. For minions, see rules R0015 and R0015.1
    • Comment:
Send feedback

OK

Back to top
R0465 : Environmental damage
    • Damage that is not inflicted by a weapon, minion, or retainer is 'environmental' and must be explicitly qualified as such. The order is 'unpreventable environmental aggravated damage'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0452 : Next
    • Remove 'next' when not needed. 'Do not replace until your next untap phase' on events has an unnecessary 'next'. 'Do not replace until your next discard phase' has a necessary 'next'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0450.2 : cannot block/cannot block actions
    • Use 'cannot block'. Exception: 'She cannot take (D) actions or block {(D)} actions that aren't {against} her or {}a card on her.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0449 : A Methuselah must burn/tap
    • Avoid 'must' if there is no counterpart (such as 'he must hunt or X happens'): 'Each Methuselah must burn 2 pool during...' => 'Each Methuselah burns 2 pool...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0448 : Cannot X, cannot Y...
    • Use as much as possible 'cannot X or Y' instead, unless this can lead to some confusion, or unless X and Y are not at the same level. Some examples of exceptions:
      - 'cannot act except to hunt, cannot cast votes or ballots and cannot have equipment' because 'except to hunt or cast...' is ambiguous
      - 'cannot be the target of (D) actions, cannot act' because 'cannot be' and 'cannot' are not the same
      - 'cannot play action cards and cannot have or use equipment or retainers' because 'or have or use equipment or retainers' contains too many 'or'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0447 : The opposing X/Opposing X
    • Always use 'the opposing X'. The following are still correct: 'Opposing minions...', 'an opposing X', 'a minion opposing X'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0445 : Maneuver to close range/Maneuver to close
    • Use 'Maneuver to close range'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0444 : Only usable / play when / play if
    • Use 'only usable'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0443 : in a game/each game
    • Use 'in a game', eg. 'Only one Giant's Blood can be played in a game.' and 'Each Methuselah can play only one Vox Domini in a game.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0442 : starting life/starting amount
    • Use 'starting life'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0440 : cannot maneuver|press|strike / cannot use maneuvers|presses|strikes
    • Use the first pattern, 'cannot maneuver'/'cannot maneuver to close|long range' and 'cannot press'/'cannot press to continue|end combat' and 'cannot strike'. Caution: 'cannot gain strikes' and 'cannot use additionnal strikes' are different and valid.
    • Comment: Cf. [R0445]
Send feedback
R0339 : a non-bleed action/an action other than bleeding
    • Use 'non-bleed action', 'non-political action', 'non-diablerie action'. In case there is more than one type of action, use for instance 'a non-bleed, non-political action'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0337 : Press to continue combat/Press to end combat
    • Use this pattern (the word 'combat' is required)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0336 : Set the range for this round [to close|long range]
    • Use this pattern. No need for reminder about skipping the determine range step this round. The reminder is used when range is automatically 'something', see R0144.2
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0334 : Amount of blood lost to damage/Amount of blood lost due to damage
    • Use the first one, 'Amount of blood lost to damage'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0333 : No more than one ammo card can be used on a gun each combat.
    • Use this pattern.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0332 : prevent X damage / prevent up to X damage
    • Use 'prevent X damage' (they both mean the same, per ruling https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/WUWh7AdooDU/vojisZMCSnsJ)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0331 : the action continues as if unblocked/as normal
    • Use 'as if unblocked'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0229 : This round/this combat
    • The duration of lingering effects in combat must always be written (even though 'this round' is the default), including in 'as above' effect, except for 'each round this combat' (see dedicated rule R0157):
      Strength of the Bear:
      [ani] This vampire gets +1 strength this round.
      [spi] This vampire gets +1 strength this combat.
      Strike at the True Flesh
      [qui] Non-aggravated damage from this weapon's strikes cannot be prevented except by equipment or by other strikes this round.
      [QUI] As above, and this weapon's strikes inflict +1 damage this round.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0228 : (Weapons) Only usable at long range, only usable once each ...
    • Use this pattern (order matters, do not use 'AND only once')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0227 : Only usable during a referendum before votes and ballots are cast
    • Use this wording (no 'any votes or ballots', 'ballots' must not be omitted, no comma before 'before')
    • Comment: BREAKING CHANGE: Could be replaced by 'Before polling'.
      Yep. Sounds cool.
Send feedback
R0225 : Reveal the card/Show the card to all Methuselahs/Show the card to the other Methuselahs
    • Use 'Reveal the card'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0224 : X gets Y each combat|Once each combat, X can strike: Y|Once each combat, X gets Y
    • Use 'X gets Y each combat' but when the effect in a 'can Y to Z', use 'Once each combat, X can Y to Z'.
      Use also 'Once each combat, X can strike:Y' (because 'X can strike:Y' is a shortcut for 'Each round, X can strike: Y')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0223 : Tap X to/You can tap X to/X can tap to
    • For allies, use 'X can tap to... (eg. 'Draeven can tap to prevent...') or 'Tap to' if the ally's name is too long (eg. Neighborhood Watch Commander)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0222 : Ally abilities
    • Ally abilities are, in order: [Unique] <Type> with X life. Y strength, Z bleed.[ Flight [FLIGHT].][ Red List.][ Requires W.]
      Then (only abilities that pertain to exactly the same window may be merged using 'and', eg. 'X can strike: 1R damage and gets {1} optional maneuver each combat' is not allowed since the strike is not 'each combat'. Sentences related to each other must be be kept together (eg. Pathos counters, Repo Man))
      - A has +1 stealth|intercept.
      - If the action to recruit A is blocked, do Y.
      - When X enters play, do Y. | Move A to the ready region when recruited.
      - Combat Damage from A's hand strike is aggravated / Damage A inflicts is aggravated.
      - Combat A can strike: X. | Once each combat, A can strike: X.
      - Combat A gets 1 optional maneuver|press each round|combat [with a X]. | Once each round|combat [with a X], A gets Y.
      - Combat A can X each round|combat. | Once each round|combat, A can Y.
      - [Once each X] A can play cards requiring X [as Y].
      Once each action, A can X.
      - Combat Damage from A's hand strike is aggravated against Y./ Damage A inflicts is aggravated against Y.
      - Combat Any X blocking A is burned after the combat (if any).
      - A gets +1/-1 intercept against X.
      - A can do X [as an action].
      Passive effects
      - (D) actions against her cost 1 additional pool.
      - Cards requiring X cannot target him nor be played while he is acting, blocking or in combat.
      - Combat A is immune to non-aggravated damage.
      - Combat Each strike or damaging effect made against X by the opposing minion during combat inflicts 1 less damage.
      - Combat X gains 1 life at the end of each round of combat for each blood the opposing vampire used to heal damage or prevent destruction that round.
      - A cannot X.
      - During [If Z] During X, do Y.
      - He does not untap as normal during your untap phase.
      - If X, do Y.
      - If A is burned, shuffle him|her|it into his|her|it's owner's library.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0221 : X and Y enter combat/Combat begins between X and Y/X enters combat with Y
    • Use 'X and Y enter combat' which triggers the 'When Z enters combat' effects and doesn't make assumptions on who the acting vampire is during combat
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0220 : as if/as though
    • Use 'as if' (more frequent, shorter, even though m:tg uses only 'as though')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0219 : wake effect
    • Use 'This vampire can play reaction cards and attempt to block even though tapped until the current action is concluded.' (or 'This minion', but not 'This reacting X')
    • Comment: use 'until the end of the action'
Send feedback
R0218 : combat involving/combat between
    • Always use 'involving', in both wordings : 'only usable when a combat involving this minion ends' and '... a combat involving X and Y'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0214 : cancel combat/(combat does not occur)
    • Use 'cancel combat' with active tense, '(combat does not occur)' is only used for reminders (eg. 'End the action (combat does not occur)')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0212 : non-titled/untitled
    • Use 'non-titled'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0211 : when X attempts to block / when X is attempting to block
    • use 'when X attempts to block'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0209 : Gains/Burns/Loses
    • Use one of these only if the others apply.
      Since we can't 'burn' or 'lose' votes, we can't 'gain' votes => use get (even for temporary votes), eg. Get +3 votes. Get -3 votes.
      On the other side, we can gain/burn/lose: blood, pool, counter, conviction, the Edge. Cf. [R0055][R0177][R0071]
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0208 : +X intercept during a (D) action against Y
    • Use this wording rather than '+X intercept against a (D) action against Y.' (to avoid repetitions)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0207 : when X blocks / when X blocks an action / when X succesfully blocks / when blocking
    • Use 'when X blocks' + 'instead of tapping for the block'. Don't hesitate to add ', before combat (if any)'
    • Comment: some players usually declare ' I block' instead of 'I attempt to block' ..
Send feedback
R0206 : announce/declare
    • Use 'announce' (an action). 'Declare' is only used in 'declare a Prince' (1 reference)
    • Comment: we should get rid of 'declare'.
Send feedback
R0205 : once each action/once each time she bleeds...burn blood to get +1 bleed
    • Use 'once each action'
    • Comment: maybe 'once each bleed action' ?
Send feedback
R0203 : a (D) action against X/a (D) action directed at X/a (D) action directed against X
    • Use 'a (D) action against X'. Cf. [R0208].
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0202.1 : During a referendum/during any referendum
    • Use 'during a referendum'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0201 : During X do Y / Once each X, do Y
    • Use 'once' for 'once each turn/action/combat'. Use 'during' for phases 'during the untap phase/master phase/minion phase/discard phase'. Use also during for 'during YOUR x' or 'during EACH METHUSELAH'S x'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0200 : Do not replace X card Y plays until Z. / X cards Y plays are not replaced until Z.
    • Use the first wording, eg. 'Do not replace combat cards Nedal plays until your next untap phase.'
      If the effect is on another Methuselah: 'The chosen Methuselah does not replace cards...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0199 : When you would replace... instead / When you would draw to replace... instead / When drawing to replace... instead
    • Use the first wording 'When you would replace'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0198 : Replace / Draw to replace
    • Use 'replace', eg. 'When a Methuselah uses a discard phase action to discard a card, he or she does not replace that card until his or her next untap phase.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0197 : When you replace a X card Y played, you can draw 1 additional card (discard down afterward) / When you draw to replace a X card Y played, you can draw 1 additional card (discard down afterward) / When Y plays a X card, you can draw ...
    • Use the first templace instead of 'When you draw to replace a X card Y plays' and 'When X plays a Y card'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0196.1 : This card cost X less blood|pool / the cost of this card is reduced by X blood|pool.
    • Use 'This card cost X less blood|pool'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0196 : cost 1 less blood / cost 1 less blood to play
    • Write 'cost 1 less blood'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0195 : cost 1 less blood/pool / cost 1 less blood/pool to [recruit / employ / equip]
    • Write 'cost 1 less blood/pool'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0194 : Numbers/Letters
    • If there is a choice for the target, and we can say 'among others', use words:
      - choose a (ready/younger etc.) vampire
      - burn an ally
      - discard a card (we choose the card we discard)

      If there is no choice, use numbers:
      - 2 damage
      - gain 1 pool
      - get 1 additional master phase action / get 2 master phase actions (instead of 1)
      - 1 maneuver / 1 press / 1 additional strike
      - look at the Methuselah's hand and discard 2 card (here, no choice from the victim's point of view: the cards aren't 'chosen amongst others')
      - burn the top 2 cards from the library (no choice, the cards are clearly defined)
      - steal 2 blood (we don't choose these, and blood is considered a single entity - this is a special case)
      - requires at least 1 other Gehenna card in play

      Exceptions:
      - Obviously, we keep the 'A Methuselah can play only one...' 'A vampire can have only one...', 'A vampire can have no more than two X'
      - Do not use a number before a number, ex :' with two +1 stealth actions'
      - We use letters about the two minions in combat (Haven Hunting: 'you can burn this card to have the two combatants begin another combat.'), or if we are referring to objects previously chosen (Coterie Tactics : 'These two vampires attempt to block')

      Other examples :
      - [tem] Draw 4 cards then put four cards from your hand on top of your library in any order and untap this vampire. (the first 4 cards aren't chosen, but the last four are.)
      - Requires at least one Gehenna card (one amongst others)
      - Tap three of his Aye (amongst those on the vampire -- it's a bit different for blood and counters, which are all the same and that you can count)
      - Burn an/one Aye
      - Exchange a/one card for a/one card (amongst those in hand / in hash heap / wherever)
      - Move a card played (amongst others)
      - use a master phase action
      - Ashur Tablet: Put this card in play. If you have three copies in play, remove all copies in play (even controlled by other Methuselahs) from the game to gain 3 pool and choose up to thirteen cards from your ash heap. Move one of those cards to your hand and shuffle the others into your library.
      - Each other Methuselah discards 1 card at random (pas de choix).
      - You can use a master phase action
      - You get one additional master phase action
      - Move one card from your
      - Exchange one card ... for one card ...
      - Choose one or more Methuselah
      - ante 1 additional card (the card isn't chosen)
      - Tap one of your prey's ready minions
      - Requires at least one/two/three other Gehenna card (I'm also ditching the 'other')
      - 1 victory point
      - 'one conviction' to match Aye, Orun and Ashur Tablets' 'three copies'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0193 : Face down / face up
    • 'Face up' is a reminder when the card is put in play.
      'Face down' is never a reminder.
      'You can look at the cards at any time' is always a reminder (related to face down cards).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0192 : X, with 1 optional Y / X, with an optional Y / X with an optional Y
    • Use the first pattern (comma, and number).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0191 : Usable... not involved in the current combat / not involved in the combat / not involved in combat
    • Use 'not involved in the current combat'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0190 : Merge action
    • Use the 'merge' word and following pattern:
      'Untap this vampire, search your crypt (shuffle afterward), uncontrolled region and/or ash heap for his or her advanced version and merge him or her with it.'
      'Choose and tap an untapped vampire you control, search your crypt for his or her advanced version (or his or her base version if an advancement is chosen) and merge the chosen vampire with it.'
      This will explicitly trigger 'merge' effects such as Valerius Major.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0189 : Chained effects
    • They must be in the same sentence and separated by semi-columns ;
      Eg. 'Put this card in play; it becomes a 1-capacity non-unique vampire of the same clan as the acting vampire and cannot act this turn; you can search your library (shuffle afterward), ash heap and/or hand for a discipline card and put it on this vampire; move up to 1 blood from the acting vampire to this vampire.'
      All effects happen once, in that order, starting when the card is put in play.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0188 : Search X for Y, and Z (shuffle afterward) / Search your library (shuffle afterward), Y and/or Z for...
    • The reminder '(shuffle afterward)' goes at the end if only the searched zone must be shuffled, or in the case of several search zones, each one having to be shuffled, the reminder goes after each of these zones.
      If there's a '(discard down afterward)', merge both in one pair of parentheses.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0187 : Search your library (shuffle afterward), ash heap and/or hand for a X
    • Use 'and/or'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0186.2 : once each turn,... get +X Z for the current action/get +X Z for the action
    • Cf. [R0186]. By default, a bleed/intercept/stealth/Vote modifier lasts till the end of the action, but since the 'once each turn' could introduce some misleading thoughts, the duration is required (and this is the only exception where a reminder is not between parenthesis).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0186.1 : During X do Y / Once each X, do Y
    • Cf. [R0186]. With 'during', these effects usually last till X's end. (Eg. Amaravati: 'during a political action... +1 vote' or Samuel Haight: 'During an action... +1 bleed'). If the duration is different, use something else, such as 'Once each turn, X can burn 1 blood to get +1 bleed for the current action.
    • Comment: I never thought of Amaravati + blood hunt referendum during a political action.
      I think Amaravati should only be able to burn blood during the referendum of a political action.
      VR: why? Ventrue Headquarters is usable during a blood hunt referendum.
Send feedback
R0186 : Once each turn, X can Y for the current action / Once each combat, X can Y for the current round
    • Always specify the length of the effect if it's different from the window, even though it the same as described in the rulebook (this is the only exception where a reminder is not between parenthesis). But write 'Once each action, X can Y' et 'Once each round, X can Y.' (without the 'for the current action|round' which is redundant). Cf. [R0229]
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0185 : the Edge / the edge
    • Write 'the Edge' with capital.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0184 : Choose X. Successful referendum means the chosen X...
    • If there is a 'choose', always use 'the chosen X'. Also, do not write 'means that' but 'means'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0183 : damage from this X's hand strikes is aggravated / this X's hand damage is aggravated
    • Use 'damage from this X's hand strikes is aggravated'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0182 : cannot use / becomes unable to use
    • Use 'cannot use' (eg. Sympathetic Agony)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0180 : This vampire gets|can X each round of combat|this combat.
    • The 'of combat' shouldn't be there if something else mentions the combat. Otherwise, we put it to acknowledge the fact that the effect only triggers during combat (as a matter of fact, 'of combat' has nothing to do with 'round').
      The 'this combat' is mandatory (it's not linked to 'round'. We could have written : 'This combat, ... each round'.)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0179 : This round|combat, X and|or Y happens. / X happens this round|combat
    • Put 'this round|combat' first when the X effect is complex and in several sentences.
      Eg. 'This combat, frenzy cards played on this Laibon have no effect on him or her and the opposing minion takes 1R damage each round during normal strike resolution if the retainer is ready.'
      But 'Damage from this vampire's hand strikes is aggravated this round'
      Replace 'during this round|combat' with 'this round|combat'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0178 : Gain|Burn X blood / This vampire gains|burns X blood
    • Use 'Gain|Burn X blood'.
      Eg. Loki's Gift etc.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0177 : This vampire gets +X votes / Get +X votes / (Z) gain(s) X votes.
    • Use 'This vampire gets +X votes' to avoid ambiguity on the fact that it's the vampire you gets the votes, and not the Methuselah.
      Affected : Final Loosening / Madrigal
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0176 : Burn X blood to... / This vampire burns X blood to
    • Use 'Burn X blood to...'.
      Eg. Martyr's Resilience, Revelation of Desire...
      Affected : Aura Absorption 'This vampire burns 1 blood to get +1 intercept.' => 'Burn 1 blood to get +1 intercept.' etc.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0175 : non-aggravated damage / damage that is not aggravated
    • Use 'non-aggravated damage' (eg. Ambrosius, The Ferryman (Wraith), Masquer (Wraith), Spiritual Protector)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0174 : X is immune to Y cards
    • Replace with 'Y cards played on X have no effect on him or her'. Ex : X = vampire, Y = frenzy. 'Immune' is reserved to damage.
      Same for 'When another minion plays X, this vampire can burn 1 blood to be immune to the effects of that card.' => '... this vampire can burn 1 blood. If he or she does so, that card have no effect on him or her.' (Resilient Mind)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0173 : Frenzy (this vampire) / Frenzy (played on this acting vampire)
    • Replace with 'Frenzy, played on this vampire.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0172 : Charnas / Ilomba / Bloodstone / Swarm
    • Put X on any Y (this is a +1 stealth (D) action if that Y is controlled by another Methuselah).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0171 : Gehenna. Requires at least ... Do not replace until ...
    • In this order.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0170 : Of the X circle / in the X circle
    • Use 'of the X circle'. 'circle' is always in small-cap (this isn't about Inner Circle).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0169 : Inner Circle / Inner Circle member
    • Check that everything is updated.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0168 : +1 stealth action / This is a +1 stealth action
    • Use '+1 stealth action'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0167 : Action with: As above, with +1 stealth. / As above, but with +1 stealth. / As above, but this is a +1 stealth action. / As above, but this action is at +1 stealth. / As above, but playing this card is a +1 stealth action.
    • Use 'As above, and this is a +1 stealth action.'
      We could write '+1 stealth action. As above.' but we're so used to 'As above, ...' that it sounds strange.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0166 : If this vampire successfully blocks / if the block succeeds
    • We use the first wording 'If this vampire successfully blocks'. The other one would be OK (and shorter).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0165 : X happens if this vampire successfully blocks / is blocked
    • Use these patterns:
      - +X intercept, with an optional Y during the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks.
      - +X intercept, with an optional Y during the first round of the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks.
      - If this action is blocked, this vampire can X during the resulting combat.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0164 : Only usable when an action is blocked
    • Use 'Only usable when this vampire|minion is blocked.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0163 : Only usable after a successful action / Only usable when an action is successful
    • Use 'Only usable after a successful action.'
      Notably :
      As the Crow : 'Only usable after a successful action.' OK
      Domain of Evernight : 'Only usable when an action is successful. Usable after resolution.' => 'Only usable after a successful action.'
      Forced March : 'Only usable when an action is successful (after resolving the action).' => 'Only usable after a successful action.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0161 : Combat does not occur / Combat is canceled.
    • Use 'Combat does not occur'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0160 : If X is blocked... before combat begins / (before combat occurs, if any)/(before combat begins, if any)
    • Use 'If X is blocked, ... before combat (if any).' (no 'begins', no 'occurs', no parentheses, except around 'if any'
      Same rule for 'after combat'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0159 : Force X to abstain (this can cancel that X's votes and ballots).
    • Use the reminder formulation.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0158 : Only one X can be played in a game / Only one X can be played per game
    • Use 'Only one X can be played in a game'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0157 : Each round / each round this combat / each round of combat
    • For combat cards, use 'each round this combat' (or 'This combat, ... each round' for complex effects). For other cards, (damage-dealing retainers etc.), use 'each round' and write 'of combat' only if nothing else in the sentence mentions the combat. If it's an 'only one... each round' effect, or if it's an effect related to a strike, we should drop 'of combat'. (eg. 'A vampire can play only one Wave of Lethargy each round.' or Combat Shotgun : 'Strike: 3R damage, only usable once each round.')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0156 : , where X is ...
    • Mandatory comma before 'where'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0155 : Get +1 Z for each / Get +X Z, where X is...
    • Use the first wording as much as possible.
      Sometimes, it's not better, for instance 'This Ishtarri gets +X bleed, where X is the number of counters on this card. This Ishtarri can add {1} counter to this card as a +1 stealth action that costs X blood.' The first sentence could be written 'gains +1 bleed for each counter on this card', but we re-use the X later on.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0154 : Blood hunt called on X / Blood hunt called against X
    • Use 'Blood hunt called on X'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0153 : Until the action is ended / Until the action is complete
    • Use 'ended'. -> Concoction of Vitality, Frozen Object
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0152 : Do X. Put this card in play|on Y...
    • Instantaneous effects or related to instantaneous effects must be written in the same sentence, semicolons can be used if necessary.
      Ex: 'He can move a retainer from your ash heap to a ready vampire you control as an action. Put 3 pathos counters on the retainer. During your untap phase, burn 1 pathos counter.'
      - 'He can move a retainer from your ash heap to a ready vampire you control {and put 3 pathos counters on the retainer as an action.'...
      Ex: '[vic] Strike: 1 damage. Put this card on the opposing minion. This minion gets -1 strength (after the current strike resolution step). He or she can burn this card by paying 2 blood as a +1 stealth action.'
      - '[vic] Strike: 1 damage and put this card on the opposing minion'. ...
      Ex: '[obt] Turn this vampire and any cards on him or her face down, out of play (breaking any temporary control effects). Put this card on him or her (in play). During your influence phase,'...
      - '[obt] Turn this vampire and any cards on him or her face down, out of play (breaking any temporary control effects) and put this card on him or her (in play).'...
      Ex: '[nec] (D) Choose a minion. Put this card on this acting minion and untap him or her. This minion gets +2 intercept against the chosen minion.'...
      - '[nec] (D) Choose a minion, put this card on this acting minion and untap him or her.'...
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0151 : Tap to / you can tap this card to
    • Use 'tap to', unless 'if X...' comes first in cardtext, to avoid confusion (even if it's a 'tap to')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0150 : Move equipment / Transfer equipment
    • Use 'move' and save the 'transfer' for transfers during the influence phase.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0149 : Minion can draw X cards / Minion can allow you to draw X cards
    • Use the first wording 'minion can draw X cards' (similarly, 'Minion can discard ...')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0148 : Have you do X / cause you to do X / make you do X / force you to do X
    • Use 'have you do X'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0147 : Discard 1 card / Burn a card from your hand
    • Use 'discard'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0146 : Once each X, Y can burn 1 blood to make the damage from his|her hand strikes aggravated for the current round.
    • Use this pattern (caution: 'the damage...' is mandatory). 'For the current round' is a reminder, as all combat effects last, by default, for a round, but this is the only exception where a reminder is not between parenthesis
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0145 : Ranged strike: X / Strike: ranged. X
    • Use the first wording.
      But 'he can strike ranged: X' (in order to keep things not-too-constricted).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0144.2 : If another round of combat occurs, that round is at close range (skip the determine range step for that round)
    • Use this pattern.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0144.1 : If another round of combat occurs, X gets Y that round.
    • Use this pattern (rather than 'during that round', or something else than 'that')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0144 : Only usable during the first round of combat / Only usable on the first round / Only usable on the first round of combat / Not usable first round of combat.
    • Use 'Only usable during the first round of combat'. Same goes for 'Not usable...' and for actions
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0143 : Frenzy... Only usable ... Usable... Not usable... Do not replace until...
    • List effects in this order.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0142 : X can do Y to cancel this card as it is played. / X can cancel this card by doing Y / X can cancel this card by doing Y as it is played
    • Use 'X can do Y to cancel this card as it is played'. Must be at the end of cardtext.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0141 : Cancel X as it is played. No cost is paid.
    • Replace by 'Cancel X as it is played, and its cost is not paid.'
      If the effect should still be paid, write 'Cancel X as it is played (cost must be paid).' if (and only if) we are sure it's not an action card. Otherwise (if it can be an action card) say nothing.
      the Complete Rule Reference
      B. Declare the effect.
      1. Fully announce the effect (as applicable: the minion playing/using it, targets, cost, and so on). If the effect is a card, play the card to the playing area.
      2. You cannot play a card or use an effect whose cost cannot be paid.
      3. For cards, this step (II.B) is the 'as played' window.
      a. Cards that can cancel a card 'as it is played' can be played at this time, as can Wake-style cards whose effects grant the ability to play those effects.
      b. Other cards and effects cannot be used at this time.
      c. If the card is canceled, skip to step D.
      4. For cards, your hand size is reduced by 1 until you replace the card. (D)
      C. Pay cost and resolve effect (unless canceled in step B).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0140 : Another/ any other
    • Use 'another X' when we could write 'an X'.
      Eg. 'Move a non-unique, non-location equipment from another Methuselah's ash heap to this minion'
      Use 'any other X' when 'any X' would be OK
      Eg. 'Any other Methuselah who casts votes or ballots in favor of and does not cast votes or ballots against the referendum gains 1 pool when the results of the referendum are tallied.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0139 : Referendum / political action / call
    • We use 'Take political actions...', 'call a referendum as a +1 stealth political action'
      But we shouldn't use 'call a political action'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0138 : Being burned... X instead
    • Replace with 'that would be burned.... X instead'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0137 : Goes to torpor / is sent into torpor
    • Use 'goes to torpor'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0136 : Any X can burn this card as a (D) action; Y get -1 stealth on that action / Any X can burn this card as a (D) action; Y get -1 stealth when attempting that action.
    • Use 'on that action'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0135 : Block fails
    • Pattern: 'Only usable when X attempts to block. That attempt fails and X cannot attempt to block this action again.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0134 : Treats aggravated damage as normal damage. / Treats aggravated damage inflicted on him as normal damage.
    • Use 'Treats aggravated damage as normal damage'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0133 : A X can play only one Y each combat.
    • Must be moved to the first line (except 'only one Y at superior each combat' because it doesn't apply to the inferior effect).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0132 : A X can play only one Y each combat. / Only one X can be played [at a given Discipline] each combat.
    • The second wording forbids the opponent to play the same card, not sure it's intended.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0131 : Only usable in combat with / Only usable when in combat with
    • Use 'only usable in combat with'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0130 : Only usable before range is determined / Play before range is determined / Only usable before range is chosen.
    • Use the first pattern: 'Only usable before range is determined'.
      If there are several conditions, group them in a single sentence (when possible): 'Only usable before range is determined. Only usable in combat with an ally.' => 'Only usable before range is determined in combat with an ally.'
      If possible, write the condition on the first line.
      I'd like to use the 'Only usable before the determine range step.' wording, which is more accurate (since we can use these effects even after someone sets the range).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0129 : Do X as a (D) action / Can take a (D) action to do X
    • Use 'do X as a (D) action'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0128 : Can use a master phase action to X / X as a master phase action
    • Use the first wording, eg. 'Any Methuselah can burn this card by discarding {2} master cards as a master phase action.' -> 'Any Methuselah can use a master phase action to discard {2} master cards to burn this card.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0127 : Exchange one X card in your hand for 1|the Y card in your ash heap
    • Pattern: use one. Start with the hand. Don't use 'exchange X with Y'
      Eg. Garibaldi Museum: 'to exchange {one} card from your hand for {one} card in your ash heap requiring an anarch'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0126 : Use / Spend
    • Use 'use': 'use 1 discard phase action to...', 'use 4 transfers to...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0125 : Discard X cards / Discard X cards from your hand
    • Discard' implies 'from hand'. Use 'discard X cards'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0124 : Put X counters on this card when it is played / Put X counters on this card when you play it
    • Use 'Put X counters on this card when it is played'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0123 : Burn counters from a card / burn counters on a card
    • We use 'from' for the pool (from a Methuselah), blood (from a minion/vampire), life (from an ally/retainer) as we consider the counters are part of the card (for the same reason, stealing/burning blood off of a vampire targets the vampire and not the tokens)
      For all the rest: 'burn an equipment on...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0122 : Methuselah / player
    • Use 'Methuselah'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0120 : Equipment|Ally|Retainer card / Equipment|Ally|Retainer
    • Use 'card' when the card is in the library/hand/ash heap/ ...
      Don't use 'card' when the card is in play.
      'Burn an equipment.'
      'Search your library for an equipment card...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0119 : Requirements and cost apply as normal / Requirements and cost apply as usual
    • Use '(requirements and cost apply as normal)'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0118 : X or less / X or fewer / X fewer
    • Use 'less'. 'worth 1 less vote' '3 pool or less'.
      Exception: 'to an ally who has fewer life than his or her starting life' (not a number, life can't be counted)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0117 : Y cost X 1 less blood. / X's Y cost 1 less blood or pool / When X do Y, the cost is reduced by one blood or pool.
    • Use the pattern 'Y cost X 1 less blood' / 'Y cost X 1 less blood or pool' / 'Y cost X 1 additional blood'
      Do not write '(but never less than 1...)'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0116 : gets +X strength in combat with / gets +X strength when in combat with / gets +X strength if in combat with
    • Use 'gets +X strength in combat with'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0115 : In combat with a X / in combat with Xs / in combat when opposing X / in combat against X
    • Use 'in combat with a X'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0114 : Carrion Crows / Groaning Corpse / Blissful agony
    • During normal strike resolution / during strike resolution
      Use 'during normal strike resolution' (except if done with first strike, of course).
      Subtle difference with Murder of Crows etc. (detailed below), this damage is environmental (whereas Murder of Crows is a retainer, and the damage it causes are from itself).
      Pattern: 'The opposing minion takes X damage each round this combat during normal strike resolution at close range.' / 'The opposing minion takes XR damage each round this combat during normal strike resolution.' The 'each round' part is important to avoid reactivation during additional strikes. ( ?)
      Reminder: we use 'of combat' on non-combat cards only if nothing else says the effect only happens during combat (e.g. Damage-dealing retainers) Also, we should write 'that combat', for instance, on an action card that gives a bonus inside a combat, and 'this combat' for combat cards (regular combat cards only last till the end of the round)
      If the effect only works at close range, this must be explicit (default is that it works at both close and long range).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0113 : Murder of Crows / Elephant Guardian / Razor Bat / Wolf Companion / Hatch the Viper / Zombie / Crypt's Sons / Shade (damage-dealing retainers)
    • Use 'X inflicts YR damage each round of combat during normal strike resolution.' Or 'X inflicts Y damage each round of combat during normal strike resolution at close range.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0112 : Requires...
    • Always on the first line, in bold, if
      - The requirement applies to all the cardtext.
      Up to now, we had some kind of an exception if the requirement wasn't for the acting minion (Alia) or on Gehenna cards. On Gehenna cards, it's a bit anoying as they are often incorrectly played - when the requirement isn't met. And we have incoherences on stuff such as Watchtower: The Wolves Feed, that has a 'Requires at least one Gehenna card in play and a ready Seraph' requirement.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0111 : X can play cards requiring basic Y as a vampire / X can play cards requiring basic Y as a vampire with capacity Z
    • Use this pattern.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0110 : X cannot gain blood (any blood he or she would gain goes to the blood bank instead)
    • Use this pattern (reminder + 'would gain')
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0109 : Go to torpor / go into torpor
    • Use 'to torpor'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0107 : If the ally is burned, it is removed from the game. / If he is burned, shuffle him into your library.
    • Consider using 'after' instead of 'if'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0106 : If X is Y, Z instead
    • Use conditional 'would be Y' instead of 'is Y' (replacement effect). Replace 'should' with 'would'.
      Except in 'Only usable by a X being Y.'
      Except in 'instead of Xing...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0105 : You cannot play this card if you have a X in play
    • Replace with: 'A Methuselah can have only one X{}.' (at the end of cardtext).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0104 : You cannot play this card if another X is in play.
    • Replace with: 'There can be only one X in play.' (at the end of cardtext).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0103 : This is not considered diablerie / This does not constitute diablerie / This action is not considered diablerie
    • Use '(this is not considered diablerie)', and always as a reminder.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0102 : While this card is in play...
    • To remove, as cards out of play have no effect.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0101 : <REPLACED WITH R0145>
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0100 : X can strike: Y / X can do Y as a strike
    • Use 'X can strike: Y'. Some strikes require some blood burning 'X can burn Z blood to strike: Y' (Juggler). Some strikes cost blood 'X can strike: Y as a strike {with first strike} that costs Z blood' (Pentweret).
      - Everything is uniformized as 'X can {burn N blood to} strike: Y {with first strike}'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0099 : When this vampire successfully hunts, he or she gains 1 additional blood.
    • Add the reminder '(from the same source)'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0098 : Restore/fill... full capacity...
    • TODO: uniformize
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0097 : Hand strike / hand strike at +X damage
    • Use this pattern.
      And
      'As above, but at +Y damage' if 'strike: hand strike +X damage'
      'As above, and this strike is at +Y damage' if 'strike: hand strike.'
      And
      'Strike: hand strike or use a melee weapon strike. This strike is at +X damage.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0096 : Arcane Library / Art Museum / Ecoterrorists/Gang Territory...
    • Use the pattern:
      'Tap during your influence phase to add 1 blood to a X in your uncontrolled region.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0095 : Summon the Serpent / Recruitment / Clotho's Gift / Effective management / Kindred Intelligence / Mozambique Allure / Soul Scan / Mesu Bedshet/ Soul Gem / Wider View / Illusions of the Kindred
    • Use the pattern:
      'Draw 1 card from your crypt' or 'Search your crypt for X, {reveal} it{} and move it to your uncontrolled region (shuffle afterward).' or 'Search your Y for X, and move it...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0094 : Move a card to your hand / Move a card to the top of your library
    • Move to {a region}.
      But 'put a card on a minion' except 'move from the ash heap to this card'
      Also use 'move' if from + to: 'Move 2 blood from this vampire to another vampire.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0093 : This card can be burned by X as a (D) action
    • Use active tenes: 'X can burn this card as a (D) action'. X = 'Any Y'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0092 : Search your library for X / you can go through your library for X
    • Use 'Search your library for X (shuffle afterwards)'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0091 : Shuffle cards in your library / Move ... to your library then shuffle
    • Use the first wording.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0090 : If X is ready during Y, do Z / During Y, if X is ready, do Z
    • Use 'If X is ready during Y, do Z', as it's smoother, except in 'During each...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0089 : Add/give/move X blood from the blood bank
    • Use 'add X blood' (without 'from the blook bank').
      The 'Distribute' from Dmitra can be interesting to apply when we have several targets(Gird Minion, Rave, Sermon of Caine) -> TODO.
      Move X counter from your pool to
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0088 : Pathos counters
    • Template : 'X can move Y from ... ash heap to ... and put X pathos counters on Y as an action. During your untap phase, burn 1 pathos counter. Remove Y from the game when it has no pathos counters.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0087 : Discipline / discipline card
    • Discipline' has a capital, but 'discipline card' or 'master discipline card' doesn't (just like 'location').
      Eg. Spontaneous Power: 'Put this card on a vampire and choose a Discipline. This vampire gains 1 level of the chosen Discipline. While in play, this card counts as a master discipline card.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0086 : Once each turn / Once per turn / Once per combat
    • Use 'once each turn' / 'once each combat'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0085 : Draw X cards / draw X cards from your library
    • Use 'draw X card'. Remove 'from your library' when unnecessary.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0084 : '+X intercept against Y'
    • Use '+X intercept against Y', simpler and shorter. Caution: do not repeat 'against': '+1 intercept *during* a (D) action *against*...'. See R0208.
      Exception : 'Z can burn 1 blood to get +X intercept when attempting to block Y'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0083 : +X bleed against Y / +X bleed when bleeding Y
    • Use '+X bleed against Y', more simple and concise, even if the second form is more frequent.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0082 : Hunting ground / Hunting Ground
    • No capital.
      Pattern: 'Unique location. Hunting ground.
      During your untap phase, a ready vampire you control can gain 1 blood. A vampire can gain blood from only one hunting ground each turn.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0081 : Gain X blood|pool from the blood bank / from the bank
    • Remove 'from the blood bank' when there is no ambiguity (ex: hunt)
      Ex: Anarch Salon 'Successful referendum means each ready anarch gains 1 blood{}, and each Methuselah who controls at least one anarch gains 1 pool{}'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0080 : Put this card in play and move X blood from the bank...
    • Use 'Put this card in play with X blood.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0079 : Blood pool
    • Archaic, use 'pool'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0078 : When / if
    • 'When' is used for states (eg. 'when it has no blood') and 'guaranteed-to-happen' events (a card with 4 counters that somehow burn will end up with no counter)
      'If' is used for actions (eg. 'if X goes to torpor') and uncertain events (going to torpor isn't guaranteed, except on Baltimore's Purge, for instance)).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0077 : Burn this card when it has no counters / Burn this card when the last counter has been removed/ Burn this card when there is no counter left on this card / Burn this card if it has no counters
    • Use 'Burn this card when it has no counters' (except PB: New York that would immediately burn)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0076 : Remove X counter from Y
    • Replace with 'burn X counter from Y'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0075 : Immediately after
    • Replace with 'after'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0074.2 : Employer/Bearer/Recruiter
    • Always use these words (without 'the') if possible (= 'this minion with this card'). For vehicle equipments, use 'this minion'.
      But : 'this vampire' / 'this Gargoyle' / 'this Sabbat vampire' / 'this vampire with Auspex'.
      If the card has several effects that do not concern the same category of minions, we can/must mix 'This X' / 'Bearer' / 'This Y'. Ex : Kaymakli Fragment
      (rather than 'if bearer is, then...' )
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0074 : This acting vampire
    • If possible, remove or replace with 'this X', eg. Praxis, Engling Fury etc. Caution - give particular attention to cards that remain in play. Only applies to non-master, non-reaction, non-event cards.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0073 : This reacting X
    • If possible, remove or replace with 'This X'. Keep it in 'The acting vampire gains 1 less blood and takes 1 damage. Tap this reacting vampire.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0072 : in this referendum / during this referendum + continuous effect / for this political action
    • Replace with 'In this referendum...'
      Caution with the 'during this referendum' that sometimes is of the 'during X, do Y' pattern
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0071 : Praxis Seizure: Venice, Praxis Seizure: Istanbul
    • Template : 'Successful referendum means this card is put on this vampire to represent the unique Camarilla title of Prince of X and if this vampire is not Y, all Y are tapped. In this referendum, each ready Y gets +1 vote.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0070 : Praxis / Crusade / Fee Stake
    • Title. Requires a Camarilla|Sabbat vampire.
      Successful referendum means this card is put on the acting vampire to represent the unique Camarilla|Sabbat title of Prince|Archbishop of X.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0069 : In play / into play
    • Use 'in play' (281 occurences vs 34)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0068 : Successful referendum means / If this referendum is successful / If this referendum passes / If this referendum succeeds,
    • Use 'Successful referendum means' which is shorter and more frequent in the last sets. Eg. 'Successful referendum means each Methuselah burn...', 'Successful referendum means this card is put in play' (passive tense in this case), 'Successful referendum means you search your library...' (active tense)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0067 : Get +X vote / get X additional vote
    • Use 'get +X vote' which would be homogenous with all the rest, and much shorter. Also for Condemnation: Mute . Caution - sometimes not exactly the same for 'are worth X fewer votes' or for Rastacourere (a Justicar with Rastacourere still allows Monty to get a Priscus title).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0066 : Put pool from his or her pool / Move
    • Use 'move' or 'steal' when appropriate.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0065 : Blood counters
    • Use 'blood'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0064 : Use the template of Banishment for Peace of Khetamon, Reality, Lay Low and Mistrust
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0062 : '+X stealth action. Requires Y'
    • Use the pattern '+X stealth action. Requires Y' (in that order).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0061 : Usable during your turn / This card is playable during your minion phase. / You may play this card during your turn.
    • Use 'Usable during your turn.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0060 : Requires an infernal vampire
    • No capital letter at 'infernal'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0059 : A master discipline card / A master: discipline card
    • Use 'master discipline'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0058 : As the action is announced / when the action is announced / as the vampire's action is announced / when the vampire's action is announced
    • Use 'as *the* action is announced' or 'as *a X* action is announced' (X = any criteria)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0057 : X can use these counters to pay some or all of the <blood|pool|blood or pool> cost of Y
    • Use this pattern.
      Masochism: 'Whenever this vampire plays a card, you may remove X rush counters from this card to reduce that card's blood cost by X.'
      => 'This vampire can use these counters to pay some or all of the blood cost of cards he or she plays.'
      Fatuus Mastery: 'The counters on this card may be used to pay some or all of this vampire's blood cost to play cards that require Chimerstry.'
      => 'This vampire can use these counters to pay some or all of the blood cost of cards he or she plays that require Chimerstry.'
      Ravnos Cache: 'you may ... use the blood counters on it to pay some or all of the {blood or pool} cost of the equipment.'
      => 'you can ... use these counters to pay some or all of the blood or pool cost of the equipment.'
      Trophy: Wealth: 'The vampire with this card can use these counters to pay some or all of the blood or pool cost of equipment.'
      => 'This vampire can use these counters to pay some or all of the blood or pool cost of equipment.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0056 : Are not unique
    • No need for 'and do not contest'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0055 : Gain / get
    • Gain: blood, pool, life, conviction (everything that is tokens, cards or tokens) and the Edge.
      Get: +X strength / +X capacity / +X vote(s) / +X level of a discipline / master phase action / discard phase action / transfer / additional strike / press / maneuver.
      Many duration indications are implicit: During your master phase, if Sarrasine is ready, you can burn the Edge to get an additional master phase action.
      Not to Be: 'you get one {less} discard phase action'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0054 : Bleed at +X bleed / Bleed with +X bleed
    • Use 'bleed at +X bleed'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0053 : Burn after either use / Burn after use / Burn this card after use.
    • Use 'burn after use' (or 'burn after either use' if more than one use is possible)
      Ex : Bomb, Jar of Skin Eaters
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0052 : on any action that requires Necromancy [nec] / when attempting an action that requires Presence [pre]
    • Replace with 'on actions requiring X'.
      Caution with Maxwell who gets his bonus only for the duration of the action 'Once each turn, Maxwell can burn a blood to get +1 stealth on an action requiring Presence [pre]'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0051 : action requiring / action that requires / that require / which require
    • that requires' : 48 occurrences, 'requiring' : 21, mixed in all sets (including the most recent ones)
      Use 'requiring' as it's shorter.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0050 : A X can have only one / can have only 1
    • Use the word 'one'. Cf. [R0194].
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0049 : Can have no more than two / can never have more than two
    • Use 'Can have no more than two'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0048 : gets +1 intercept against / gets +1 intercept when attempting to block actions that require
    • library : intercept against : 6, intercept when attempting : 20,
      crypt : intercept against : 10, intercept when attempting : 27, intercept vs. : 1
      'Against' is, however, shorter (lots of occurences on vampires are of group 1).
      Use 'against'. Caution with Julio Martinez who can use his ability several times per action, but it only lasts for the duration of that action 'Julio can burn a blood to get +1 intercept when attempting to block a Camarilla vampire.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0047 : Moved to R0074.2
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0046 : Master
    • Do not write 'Master' (cf. equipment). Master cards are the cards with no type symbol. Ex : 'Hunting ground.'
      If it doesn't have a subtype, leave the line empty.
      If it has several subtypes, use '.' as a separator. Exception : Unique X.
      Ex : Poacher's Hunting Ground :' Location. Hunting ground. Derivative.'
      Hand Contract : 'Contract. Trifle.'
      Wash : 'Out-of-turn. Trifle. Do not replace until your next untap phase.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0045 : Event
    • Do not write 'Event' (cf. equipment). Events are the cards with the red-colored background and the moonish symbol.
      If it doesn't have a subytpe, leave the line empty.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0044 : Weapon: gun / Weapon, gun / Weapon. Gun.
    • Use 'Weapon: gun'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0043 : Strike: 2R / 2R damage each strike
    • Use 'Strike: 2R'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0042 : Strike: strength+X damage
    • No space character before the + sign
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0041 : Unique equipment.
    • Do not write 'equipment'. Just write 'Unique.'
      Subtypes should be written in a sequence: 'Unique melee weapon.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0040 : Damage ... is reduced to zero.
    • Use 'inflicts no damage' :
      The damage from that weapon is reduced to 0 -> That weapon inflicts no damage
      Damage from this strike is reduced to zero. -> This strike inflicts no damage.
      If the opposing X attempts to strike with a weapon this round, he or she {inflicts} no damage. -> The opposing X's strikes with weapons inflict no damage on this Y during this round.
      Mayaparisatya is different because it affects all weapons - even those used by a Ghoul Retainer.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0039 : Inflict / do / deal damage
    • Use inflict ... on
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0038 : Prevent damage to / Prevent damage on
    • Use 'prevent damage to'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0037 : Inflict damage on / Inflict damage to
    • Use 'inflict damage on'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0036.1 : Reduce the bleed amount/Reduce the bleed
    • Use 'Reduce the bleed amount'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0036 : Bleed action modifiers
    • You cannot play another action modifier to further increase the bleed for this action.
      You cannot play another action modifier to increase this bleed amount. (Only usable during a bleed action.)
      After playing this card, you cannot play another action modifier to further increase the bleed for this action.
      No other equipment can increase the bleed amount of this action.
      ; after playing this card, you cannot play another action modifier to further increase the bleed for this action.
      You cannot play another action modifier to increase this bleed amount.
      After playing this card, you cannot play another action modifier to further increase the bleed for this action. (Only usable on a bleed action.)
      - if at the beginning of the text, use the pattern 'Only usable during a bleed action. You cannot play another action modifier to increase this bleed amount.'
      - otherwise 'Only usable during a bleed action. +X bleed. You cannot play another action modifier to increase this bleed amount.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0035 : Action/Reaction 'Requires a ready...'
    • A vampire in torpor cannot perform any other action than leave torpor, and cannot play reaction cards. The 'ready' is redondant. (6.5.2 Leave Torpor Action)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0034 : '-X capacity'
    • The reminder is '(to a minimum of 1)' or '(minimum of 1)'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0033 : Basic level / inferior level / normal version
    • Always use 'basic level '(cf. rulebook)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0032 : Creating a vampire
    • Pattern:
      'Put this card into play ; it becomes a {X}-capacity {unique|non-unique} {Sect} {Clan} {of the same clan|sect as the acting vampire} with {Discipline} and {other bonus} {and {cannot act|must hunt} this turn}'
      - Reword Legion
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0031 : Put/place
    • Always use 'put'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0030 : Cannot have X
    • Indicates that X cannot be played/placed/put on the card, and that any X is automatically retroactively burned. We can add the reminder text '(any of these are burned)' or '(any X are burned)'
      Applies to : Anachronism, Nosferatu Bestial, Repulsion, Set's Curse, Wildebeest, Martinelli's Ring
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0029 : Independent (sect)
    • Always with a capital 'I'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0028 : Steal X blood (becoming life) / Steal 1 blood (it becomes a life) / Steal 1 blood (becoming a life) / (gaining a life)
    • Always use the reminder '(becoming life)' on allies with a built-in steal blood ability.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0027 : With capacity X (or more/or less) / With a capacity X (or more/or less) / With capacity of... / of capacity ...
    • Use 'with capacity X' (without 'a' nor 'of')
      -> Cancel a reaction card played by a vampire with capacity 6 or less
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0024 : Damage is
    • 'Damage' is always singular. 'If 2 damage is inflicted...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0023 : Damage/point of damage
    • Always use 'damage'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0022 : Take control/gain control
    • Use 'take control'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0021 : Corruption counters
    • Template is as follows :
      'Put 1 corruption counter on {X}. If the number of your corruption counters on the minion equals or exceeds his or her capacity or cost, you can burn them to steal him or her.'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0020 : Skill cards
    • Template is as follows :
      'Put this card on a vampire. This vampire gets +1 level of Animalism [ani] and +1 capacity. Cannot be put on a vampire with superior Animalism [ANI].'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0019 : Level/version
    • Don't use 'version' about discipline. 'Version' only applies to base/advanced/merged.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0018 : Diablerie during a blocked action
    • Pattern is : 'If this action is blocked, there is no combat and if the blocking minion can commit diablerie, he or she can diablerize this acting vampire.'
      This opens options for allies that could diablerize (currently, it doesn't change a thing).
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0017 : unpreventable damage/(damage not preventable)
    • All occurrences of '(damage not preventable)' that are very subtle reminder texts (all prevention effects happen during combat) are replaced with 'unpreventable damage'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0017.1 : unpreventable damage
    • If any damage is dealt outside combat, the damage must be labelled as 'unpreventable' (even if it's a bit redundant)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0016 : During the first round/On the first round/in the first round
    • All occurrences of 'on/in the first round' have been replaced with 'during the first round'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0015 : Enter combat with X, a/any
    • This rule applies only to targets of an action (not subject performing an action: Eg. 'any Sabbat vampire can...' rather an 'a sabbat vampire can'). Cf. exception below.

      If X = vampire|minion|ally|Lasombra, use 'any'
      => 'Any X'

      If X = {condition} vampire|minion|ally|Lasombra, or =vampire|minion|ally|Lasombra controlled by..., use 'a' / 'an'
      => 'An X' or 'An X controlled by...'

      Never use 'ready' or 'controlled by another Methuselah' (neither for the acting nor for the target).
      In other cases, the 'any' rule only applies to unconditional 'minion'. Eg. Path of the Void: 'and inflict 1 damage on any minion...' but Pentex: 'Put this card on a ready minion.'
      Exception : 'Any X can burn this card as a (D) action.' works for any X.
      Other exception : use 'any X can (eg. any vampire can)' when we could have 'Xs can (eg. vampires can)' Eg. Powerbase: Zurich : 'any vampire you control can add 2 blood to a younger vampire in your uncontrolled region as a +1 stealth action'
      The 'any' rule also appplies to equipments/retainers on other minions. Eg. Bloodstone 'Put this equipment on any minion'. Charnas the Imp 'Put Charnas on any minion', Ilomba...
      Caution: The 'any' rule doesn't apply to other effects. Eg. Auspex 'Put this card on a vampire.' Thadius Zho, Mage : 'He can burn 1 blood from a vampire as a...'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0013 : Continuous effect If/While
    • Use 'while' for continuous effects. For 'instantaneous', triggered or conditional effects, use 'if'.
      If X is ready, you get +1 hand size. -> While X is ready, you get +1 hand size.
      If Sonja leaves play, remove her from the game. => triggered effect
      If Gargoyle has less than 3 life, he or she can gain one life as a +1 stealth action. => keep 'if' because the action is 'instantaneous' and it is not a trigger but a conditional effect.
      If the vampire with this retainer is in torpor, he or she gains 1 blood at the beginning of his or her minion phase. => same thing
      If you control the Edge, Bulscu can steal a location or an equipment in play that costs 3 or less blood or pool as a (D) action. => Even though the ability granted by the Edge is continuous, we consider that the action is made available based on a condition. 'If' isn't a trigger, but a condition.
      Use 'If' for 'during' effects. -> If there are five Gehenna cards in play during your untap phase, burn Mukhtar.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0012 : Hand size
    • Always use +-X hand size instead of 'one card larger' / 'increased by one' / 'increased by 1'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0011 : Discard down to your hand size afterward/Discard down afterward/Discard afterward.
    • Use '(discard down afterward)'. It's a reminder, hence the parentheses. If there's been searching done through the library, write '(shuffle and discard down afterward)'.
      No need for 'to your hand size'.
      Using 'down' can help avoiding ambiguities when a player cannot draw (empty library) or if handsize wasn't reached.
      Update the rulebook to match this (long existing) behaviour.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0010 : Draw up to your hand size afterward
    • Use '(draw up afterward)'.
      Update Rulebook accordingly.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0009 : Have/get
    • Have: something you possess. 'Burn this card when it has no more ablative counters.', 'Arishat has 1 vote.' Note that '+1 stealth/strength/intercept.' = 'This vampire has +1 stealth/strength/intercept' (this one is absolute, not conditional - see below '+1 intercept against...').
      Get: something you receive. 'Vampires with Dementation [dem], mortals and mages get -1 intercept against this action.' , 'You get +1 hand size.', 'This vampire gets +1 intercept during (D) actions.', 'This vampire gets +1 stealth on political actions.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0008 : until the end of/For the remainder of the...
    • Use 'until the end of ...'
      If we can remove 'until the end of...', remove it. Eg. Aura Reading 'The opposing minion's controller plays with an open hand until the end of this combat.' => 'The opposing minion's controller plays with an open hand this combat.'
    • Comment: Cf. R0181
Send feedback
R0007 : the end of the round|combat|turn (combat cards)
    • Always use 'this'.
      Until the end of this combat / this round / this turn.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0006 : As if from your hand
    • No need for 'cost and requirement apply as normal' as it is implicit (Erciyes Fragments has been corrected)
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0005 : If the action is blocked / if the (acting) minion/vampire is blocked
    • Always use 'if this|that action is blocked' for actions.
      Eg. : [Action] If this action is blocked, there is no combat.
      But : Ghoul Escort : When this vampire is blocked, he or she {can} burn this retainer and untap instead of entering combat.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0004 : Strength / Base strength
    • Use 'strength'.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0003 : capacity increases...
    • Use 'gets +1 capacity'
    • Comment: Cf. [R0009]
Send feedback
R0002 : Advanced
    • Do not use 'Advanced' in the vampire's cardtext.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0001 : Any / One or more / Cast one or more votes
    • If 'one' can be replaced with 'any' , keep it written out in full (in letters). Eg. Sword of the Righteous 'Choose one of this vampire's melee weapons.' or all the Blood Brothers effects.
      'One of more' can sometimes be replaced with 'any' : Goodnight, Sweet Prince 'Only usable if you have {any} untapped Ravnos in play.'
      'Cast one or more votes' => 'cast votes'
    • Comment: Cf. [R0194]
Send feedback

DOUBTS

Back to top
R0450.1 : cannot act/cannot take actions
    • Use 'cannot act'. Exception: 'She cannot take (D) actions ...'
    • Comment: I like 'cannot take actions' better. See all 'X can take a (D) action to burn this card' occurrences in cardtexts.
Send feedback
R0446 : Locquipment
    • Use pattern 'This equipment card represents a location and does not count as equipment while in play.'. Appears before 'Unique.' if any.
    • Comment: See R0120
Send feedback
R0441 : damage successfully inflicted / damage inflicted ... (even if it is prevented)
    • Use these patterns, with the reminder in the second case.
      Succesfully inflicted = not prevented.
      Prevented damage is still inflicted, so the '(even if it is prevented)' must always be a reminder.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0338 : If another round of combat occurs, .../if another round of combat starts, ...
    • Use 'occurs'
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0335 : Bleed reducer
    • BREAKING CHANGE. Use 'Only usable during a bleed action [against you]. The acting minion gets -? bleed.
    • Comment: Do we need 'action' here?
Send feedback
R0330 : Destroy equipment/burn equipment
    • Equipment is destroyed (rulebook).
    • Comment: It's OK to use what the rulebook reads, but the ONLY reason to use this would be for Dodge. 'Dodge protects against 'burn' effects, but not 'destroy' effects'. It's not the case, so maybe we don't need this extra word.
Send feedback
R0226 : total number of/number of
    • When adding numbers, use the word 'total', eg. Tomb of Rameses III: 'if the total number of counters on the chosen vampire and on the Tomb equals...'. If no addition is involved, use 'number', eg. Cave of Apples: 'and the number of your corruption counters on the minion equals...'
    • Comment: Hugh: 'total' seems pretty defunct as AND is a logic for addition
Send feedback
R0216 : before resolution of a successful/blocked action / before resolving the action
    • Use the noun 'resolution':
      - 'before action resolution'
      - 'before resolution of a successful action'
      - 'before resolution of a blocked action'
      - 'when this action is resolved, before resolution'
    • Comment: I think we can make this cleaner. 'Before resolution' should work.
      - Before resolution
      - if the action is successful, before resolution
      - if the action is blocked, before resolution
      - before resolution
Send feedback
R0213 : Crypt titles and traits
    • Pattern: '{Sect}. {Title}. {Traits}:'. If the sect and the title go together, no full stop to separate them : 'Camarilla Prince of...'. For unnamed titles : 'Independent. 1 vote (titled)'. Traits are then listed in alphabetic order: 'Black Hand. Infernal. Seraph'. If the vampire is non-unique, write 'Non-unique' just after the ':'. Eg. 'Independent: Non-unique' (It isn't a trait per se).
    • Comment: I think some traits should go together. More specifically: Black Hand / Seraph.
      There is (currently) no example of a non-Black Hand, Seraph vampire. I don't think this should exist, which makes Seraph a qualifier of Black Hand; therefore we should be able to write 'Black Hand Seraph'.
Send feedback
R0112.1 : First line order
    • 'Requires a X' is always immediately after '+X stealth action'. Otherwise, it is rejected to the end of the first line.
      - +X stealth action. [Requires a X.] [Unique.] [Only usable...] (Ahrimane Protectorate, Unleash Hell's Fury)
      - [Unique] X with Z life. [Requires a X.] (Ilomba, Malajit Chandramouli, Harzomatuili)
      - [Unique] [Title|Contract|...] [Trifle] [Requires a X.] [Only usable...] (Enkil Cog, Shakar: the Hunt)
    • Comment: It should have a regular spot
Send feedback
R0108 : If a card would give X blood, give X life instead.
    • This sentence on allies is redundant with the rulebook and should be deleted.
    • Comment:
Send feedback
R0025 : Ignore the excess
    • Use a replacement effect instead:
      If more than 1 pool is bled with this action, ignore the excess. => If 2 pool or more would be bled with this action, 1 pool is bled instead.
      If any effect does more than 2 damage to the Remnant, ignore the excess. => If any effect would do 3 or more damage to the Remnant, it does 2 damage instead.
    • Comment: NOT APPLIED
Send feedback
R0014 : May/Can
    • All 'may' are replaced by 'can'. ('May' shows permission, 'can' possibility & we need to use only one of them: unjustified alternances between 'may' and 'can' must be avoided).
    • Comment: Hugh: This is horsepoo. We should use 'may' it is way cooler
Send feedback

MERGED

Back to top
R0217 : wake effects
    • Comment: Merged into R0219
Send feedback
R0210 : Arishat has 1 vote (titled).
    • Votes awarded by titles are now considered property rather than bonus (use 'has' instead of 'get'), just like titles themselves.
    • Comment: Merged into R0213
Send feedback
R0204 : once each turn,... get +X Z (for the current action)/get +X Z for the action
    • Use the reminder 'for the current action'. By default, stealth, intercept, bleed,vote modifiers last the duration of the action, but the ' once each turn' could lead to misunderstandings, which makes the reminder necessary.
    • Comment: Merged into R0186.2
Send feedback
R0202 : During X do Y / Once each X, do Y
    • With 'during', such effects usually last the duration of X. Eg. Amaravati 'during a political action … +1 vote' or Samuel Haight: 'during an action … +1 bleed'. If the duration is different, use for instance 'Once each turn, X can burn 1 blood to get +1 bleed (for the current action).'
    • Comment: Merged into R0186.1
Send feedback
R0162 : This card cost X less blood|pool / the cost of this card is reduced by X blood|pool.
    • Use 'This card cost X less blood|pool'.
    • Comment: Merged into R0196.1
Send feedback
R0121 : Show it to all Methuselahs / Show it to the other Methuselahs
    • Use 'show it to all Methuselahs'
    • Comment: Merged into R0225
Send feedback
R0063 : (D) Bleed at +X bleed / (D) Bleed with +X bleed
    • Use '(D) Bleed at +X bleed'
    • Comment: Merged into R0054
Send feedback
R0026 : Numbers in letters
    • Do not use a digits before a number - eg. 'with two +1 stealth actions'
      Do not use digits when writing 'A minion can have only one' / a vampire can have only one' (almost always in letters after 'only')
      Do not use digits when the number couldn't be different (we could replace with 'both'):
      Coterie Tactics: 'These two vampires attempt to block'
      Haven Hunting: 'you can burn this card to have the two combatants begin another combat'.'
    • Comment: Merged into R0194
Send feedback

DISCARDED

Back to top
R0181 : This vampire gets +X strength until the end of this round|this round|until the end of combat|for the remainder of combat
    • Use '+X strength this round|this combat'
    • Comment:
Send feedback