times Liquidation Q.

04 Mar 2011 05:27 - 29 Jan 2013 11:38 #2056 by js_vtes
Liquidation Q. was created by js_vtes
A search on rgtcj turned up seemingly contradictory rulings from LSJ, so I thought I'd see what the consensus is here.

If you have 6 or fewer cards left in your Library:

1. Can you even play Liquidation?

2. If so, do you burn however many cards you have left and gain 3 pool, or must you burn 7 cards to get that effect?

Liquidation [Tenth:A/B]
Cardtype: Master
Master. Do not replace until your discard phase.
Burn seven cards from the top of your library to gain 3 pool.

Thanks!
Last edit: 29 Jan 2013 11:38 by Pascal Bertrand.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2011 05:34 #2057 by Pullen
Replied by Pullen on topic Liquidation Q.
I don't think you can play it, I could be wrong, but I remember that being the case.

:OBT::MYT::PRO::val::obf:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2011 06:14 #2058 by Juggernaut1981
Replied by Juggernaut1981 on topic Liquidation Q.
You would have to burn all 7 cards to get 3 pool... but then if you can't burn the 7 cards then you can't play the card. So I'm assuming that it would basically be: If you haven't got 7 cards in your library, you can't play Liquidation.

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
www.halflingcaravangames.com.au/
The following user(s) said Thank You: Pascal Bertrand

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2011 06:42 #2059 by extrala
Replied by extrala on topic Liquidation Q.
I agree 100% with Juggernaut1981.

The card follows the common "Do X, to do/gain Y" pattern. If you don't meet the requirements for X, you will not be able to profit Y. That is you cannot use that card (or effect).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2011 07:20 #2060 by jhattara
Replied by jhattara on topic Liquidation Q.
An answer to the same question on the newsgroup:

LSJ wrote:

Teeka wrote: IANLSJE(ither), but I'd say you can't play it, because you can't pay the <cost>to<effect>. Just like you can't play a card that says "tap 2 minions to..." if you don't control 2 untapped minions.


Correct.


:splat: Jussi Hattara :splat:
:vtes: Webmaster Extraordinaire :vtes:
Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2011 19:26 #2072 by js_vtes
Replied by js_vtes on topic Liquidation Q.

An answer to the same question on the newsgroup:
LSJ wrote:
Teeka wrote:
IANLSJE(ither), but I'd say you can't play it, because you can't pay the <cost>to<effect>. Just like you can't play a card that says "tap 2 minions to..." if you don't control 2 untapped minions.


Correct.



That was one of the rulings I found, but it seemed to contradict this one:

> Can you play the card if you have less than 7 cards in your library? If


Yes. You burn the remainder of your library in that case.
> so, do you still gain 3 pool from it? I ask because the word "burn" used

No. Card text: "to"
> in the context of burning blood has interesting consequences to this
> effect if it is applicable.

It has the same meaning when use with "to" in regards to blood, as well.



But given that the other one is the most recent, I assume it's correct ("more" correct?).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.141 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum