Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
15 May 2012 11:11 #30449
by Damnans
Moved!
V:EKN Website Coordinator
Replied by Damnans on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
Could we move this thread to the "rules questions"?
Thanks ^^
Moved!











The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
15 May 2012 13:22 #30459
by Pascal Bertrand
Replied by Pascal Bertrand on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
One case remains obscure - Fear of the void below + Outside the hourglass + Maneuver to close range + Majesty + Disarm.
I'll issue a ruling by the end of the week - LSJ's rulings seem to indicate Disarm is only usable at close range, and that's where I think the cheapest / best fix would be
I'll issue a ruling by the end of the week - LSJ's rulings seem to indicate Disarm is only usable at close range, and that's where I think the cheapest / best fix would be
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Pascal Bertrand
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
Less
More
- Posts: 4268
- Thank you received: 1186
15 May 2012 13:29 #30460
by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
According to the current ruling, setting the default range to long through Fear of the Void Below then maneuvering to close results in a "close range" round. Therefore, damage of OtH are considered to have been dealt at close range (since it's the "real" range), thus you can play Disarm.One case remains obscure - Fear of the void below + Outside the hourglass + Maneuver to close range + Majesty + Disarm.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
15 May 2012 18:26 - 15 May 2012 18:31 #30516
by Hakuron
I agree with the most simple fix being to say "at close range at the end of the round of combat", but I would like to emphasise that I very much like the idea of Temporis fighters knowing WHEN to disarm or pull the fangs, not WHERE ...
National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de
Replied by Hakuron on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
I'll issue a ruling by the end of the week - LSJ's rulings seem to indicate Disarm is only usable at close range, and that's where I think the cheapest / best fix would be
I agree with the most simple fix being to say "at close range at the end of the round of combat", but I would like to emphasise that I very much like the idea of Temporis fighters knowing WHEN to disarm or pull the fangs, not WHERE ...

National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de
Last edit: 15 May 2012 18:31 by Hakuron.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
15 May 2012 18:46 #30517
by Suoli
The way I've interpreted it is that a) range doesn't exist before the determine range step, b) damage from Outside the Hourglass isn't done at close or long range and c) Disarm is playable when sufficient damage has been inflicted and the range has been close this round, whether the damage was inflicted at long, close or no range. This is probably wrong but it seems to make the most sense without errata.
Replied by Suoli on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
One case remains obscure - Fear of the void below + Outside the hourglass + Maneuver to close range + Majesty + Disarm.
I'll issue a ruling by the end of the week - LSJ's rulings seem to indicate Disarm is only usable at close range, and that's where I think the cheapest / best fix would be
The way I've interpreted it is that a) range doesn't exist before the determine range step, b) damage from Outside the Hourglass isn't done at close or long range and c) Disarm is playable when sufficient damage has been inflicted and the range has been close this round, whether the damage was inflicted at long, close or no range. This is probably wrong but it seems to make the most sense without errata.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
16 May 2012 06:07 #30550
by Pascal Bertrand
Replied by Pascal Bertrand on topic Re: Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))
Here's a quick list of the rulings:
OtH stands for Outside the Hourglass
Unless written, no other cards are played. Cards are played in the order they are written (from left to right)
- OtH + Majesty + Disarm => Valid.
- OtH + Maneuver to long + Majesty Disarm => Not valid.
- OtH + Alpha Glint + Disram => Valid.
- OtH + Selective Silence + Disarm => Not valid.
- Selective Silence + OtH + Disarm => Not valid.
- OtH + Fear of the Void Below + Majesty + Disarm => Valid.
- Fear of the Void Below + OtH + Majesty + Disarm => Not valid
- OtH when opposing has a Improvised Flamethrower + Maneveur/set range to long => Improvised Flamethrower does not explode.
Basically, Disarm isn't playable at long range (all the Disarm points), and damage is resolved when it is inflicted - we don't retro-check it (last point).
I'm under the impression that slightly changing Disarm from this:
to this:
would be enough. Pulled Fangs would follow the same pattern.
OtH stands for Outside the Hourglass
Unless written, no other cards are played. Cards are played in the order they are written (from left to right)
- OtH + Majesty + Disarm => Valid.
- OtH + Maneuver to long + Majesty Disarm => Not valid.
- OtH + Alpha Glint + Disram => Valid.
- OtH + Selective Silence + Disarm => Not valid.
- Selective Silence + OtH + Disarm => Not valid.
- OtH + Fear of the Void Below + Majesty + Disarm => Valid.
- Fear of the Void Below + OtH + Majesty + Disarm => Not valid
- OtH when opposing has a Improvised Flamethrower + Maneveur/set range to long => Improvised Flamethrower does not explode.
Basically, Disarm isn't playable at long range (all the Disarm points), and damage is resolved when it is inflicted - we don't retro-check it (last point).
I'm under the impression that slightly changing Disarm from this:
Only usable at the end of a round of combat in which this vampire successfully inflicted more damage at close range than the opposing vampire.
to this:
Only usable at close range at the end of a round of combat in which this vampire successfully inflicted more damage than the opposing vampire.
would be enough. Pulled Fangs would follow the same pattern.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Pascal Bertrand
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
Less
More
- Posts: 4268
- Thank you received: 1186
Time to create page: 0.112 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Extrala is wrong (Did you know, that ... (Part 91))