file Newb with newb opinions

20 Dec 2013 13:53 #57919 by alzabo
Hi, all!

I just picked up the Barbed Wire pack off ebay. I'd played this game when it was called Jyhad -- or atleast tried to get my friends to play -- but it never really caught on. Anyway, fast forward to now, I was looking for a better multiplayer CCG than M:tG that I could play with the family, and I remembered Jyhad. Which, in turn, lead to picking up the starter decks.

I'd forgotten what a good game this is! While the rules are probably more complex than some other CCG's, they're only more complex because what cards/actions can be played are limited to specific phases of play -- much more so than say M:tG (where an instant or ability can essentially be cast/activated at any point). So what you gain from a more complex turn structure is probably a more robust game. Again, I'm a newbie and might be way off here.

Totally bummed to find out the game has been discontinued. So, I've been asking myself, "why did this game never catch on?" I think two things really hold this game back:

1) WoD setting. I like the setting. I think the game handles more abstract ideas like "influence" and "torpor" masterfully. However, by strapping itself to a rather complex, nuanced setting from another game, I think V:tES marginalized a portion of the potential player base -- those players that just want a CCG and not necessarily be shoe-horned with an RPG. Even now, looking at some of the newer cards, I really have no idea exactly what "Sabbat", "Camarilla" and "Inconnu" mean because I never got into WW's games all that much.