question-circle Rules Question: Fast Reaction

10 Jan 2020 10:00 #98507 by LivesByProxy
Hey, if I have Fast Reaction, does the vamp using it need to be unlocked? Or can it be used with a wake?

Fast Reaction
:reaction:
Only usable after a combat involving a blocking minion you control other than this vampire and the acting minion.
:aus: Lock this vampire. This vampire and the acting minion enter combat. The first round of combat, the acting minion cannot strike.
:AUS: As above, with 1 optional press.

:gang: :CEL: :FOR: :PRO: :cap6: Gangrel. Noddist. Camarilla. Once each turn, LivesByProxy may burn 1 blood to lose Protean :PRO: until the end of the turn and gain your choice of superior Auspex :AUS:, Obfuscate :OBF:, or Potence :POT: for the current action.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jan 2020 10:36 #98508 by jamesatzephyr

LivesByProxy wrote: Hey, if I have Fast Reaction, does the vamp using it need to be unlocked? Or can it be used with a wake?


Either. The card simply tells you to "lock this vampire" which is an effect, so a vampire using a Wake is just locked redundantly. Deflection works much the same way.

If it's phrased as a cost - lock this vampire to - then a wake won't cut it. Example: Babble: [DEM] Lock this vampire to unlock another ready minion. Not usable by a blocking minion."

www.vekn.net/rulebook
“Lock X to do Y”: Some cards use this wording, for instance: superior Bauble, Isanwayen. Such effects can’t be used by locked minions, even by those under a wake effect. These effects require an unlocked minion to be used. Conversely, “Lock X. Do Y” effects (for instance: Redirection) are usable by locked minions under a wake effect.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.097 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum