file Villein

05 Mar 2014 02:25 #59669 by nathan
Villein was created by nathan
Hey! I am new to the game and I was wondering if someone can explain to me what villein is used for and why exactly it's so powerful? I have been searching for info on the card and all I can find are heated debates, and I am not grasping the card text apparently. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Mar 2014 02:29 #59670 by Juggernaut1981
Replied by Juggernaut1981 on topic Re: Villein
To get control of a vampire, you must spend your own pool. Previously a card called Minion Tap was a way of converting that spent pool (now on the vampire) back into your pool to either be spent on a second vampire (while you keep the first) OR to use for other things.

Villein does a very similar thing to Minion Tap. It takes the pool you have spent on a vampire and recycles it back into your pool. The biggest difference is that it does it 'faster' because of its Trifle nature. In addition, people commonly playing Villein have a few ways to replace the counters on the vampire without taking them back out of your pool (Giant's Blood, Voter Captivation and some other tricks being the most popular) and instead from the Blood Bank.

So, from a game point of view, you can effectively get a powerful vampire for limited cost or possibly no cost.

In VTES which is, in many ways, a game of constantly losing resources you gain a very big advantage to get anything for free and powerful vampires is a massive advantage.

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418

More
05 Mar 2014 02:33 #59671 by nathan
Replied by nathan on topic Re: Villein
What happens to the vampire on which you use villein?

More
05 Mar 2014 02:57 #59672 by ReverendRevolver
Replied by ReverendRevolver on topic Re: Villein
It acquires a card stating xards called minion tap and villein cost an additinal pool if played on that vampire.