no repeat action
Nac wrote: It was unclear for me the way in which No Repeat Action worked in interaction with a "cancel" effect. Now I know why it goes that way but the uneasyness remains: "cancel" works different with different kind of cards and it is hard for me to grasp a genenal understanding of things like that, I prefer general definitions in that refer to rules. Cancel a strike means something different, in practice, than canceling an aditional strike and they're both combat cards.
James is right. A short way to remember it is:
- for action cards: the action never happened (but the card was played)
- for other cards: the card was played but with a blank text (= no effect)
All the rules in the rulebook still apply (you can't play twice the same action modifier for instance, even if it's cardtext was blanked).
Also remember that, by default, the cost of cancelled card is paid, unless written otherwise (DI, Sudden Reversal... but not Santaleous). Since the cost of an action is paid when the action resolves succesfully, a cancelled action is never paid.
If I play Mirror Image for stealth and then become blocked. Can I still play a second mirror image in combat? And does it work the same the other way around. Same for occlusion.
Thalco wrote: If I play Mirror Image for stealth and then become blocked. Can I still play a second mirror image in combat? And does it work the same the other way around. Same for occlusion.
The rules on the same minion playing an action modifier more than once during an action don't care about playing the same card as a combat card (or any other card type). When it's played as a combat card, it's just a combat card.
(You could potentially have a card that had two uses like that, but which had extra card text limiting it to once per action regardless of which way it had been played, but I can't think of anything relevant.)