Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
10 Sep 2018 14:30 #90521
by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
I think that Igor was under the impression that Taste of Vitae was played between round 1 and 2, and therefore Death Seeker also played between round 1 and round 2.
This is of couse wrong, Taste of Vitae and Death Seeker canceling it are both played at the end of the round 1.
This is of couse wrong, Taste of Vitae and Death Seeker canceling it are both played at the end of the round 1.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
01 May 2020 06:09 - 01 May 2020 06:11 #99725
by beslin igor
Replied by beslin igor on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
From this link Ankha answer how you cannot play TT or RR after Psyche:
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/78241-relentless-reaper-vs-blissful-agony-and-scheduled-combat-rulings-ambiguity?start=0
You cannot play Relentless Reaper in response to Psyche! since the window for playing Psyche! is after the window for playing Relentless Reaper. "is about to end" is later than "would end".[/quote]
Correct on both points.
I'll update that topic for easier reference.
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/78241-relentless-reaper-vs-blissful-agony-and-scheduled-combat-rulings-ambiguity?start=0
Bonus: Can you play a Relentless Reaper after Psyche?
You cannot play Relentless Reaper in response to Psyche! since the window for playing Psyche! is after the window for playing Relentless Reaper. "is about to end" is later than "would end".[/quote]
Correct on both points.
It is no longer correct. Psyche! and Telepathic Tracking now have different windows. You cannot play Telepathic Tracking once the "would end" window is closed. Psyche! is played in the "about to end" window, which occurs after.
Is this 2011 post correct?
I'll update that topic for easier reference.
You cannot, it's too late.[/quote]Or no, if the part about scheduled combats applies to RR.
Bonus: Can you play a Relentless Reaper after Psyche?
I would say no, but Pascal's post disagrees. Not yet an official ruling. Eager to find out the truth, and hopefully at least get a glimpse to the reasoning and the rulings that support it.
Last edit: 01 May 2020 06:11 by beslin igor.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- beslin igor
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 735
- Thank you received: 150
05 Nov 2021 16:08 #103801
by beslin igor
Replied by beslin igor on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
From july Newsletters:
Telepathic Tracking: The card is played when the combat would end, and replaces this by starting a new round. Telepathic Tracking is always played before Psyche! because Psyche! is played when combat is about to end (that is after any replacement effects).
How that work in game? if is A acting player,and him have Psyche! in hand,do A need to ask B player in combat,do you have to play Telepathic Tracking?
Probably is same answer for Relentless Reaper.
If that afect somehow window for Disarm or Taste of Vitae?
Telepathic Tracking: The card is played when the combat would end, and replaces this by starting a new round. Telepathic Tracking is always played before Psyche! because Psyche! is played when combat is about to end (that is after any replacement effects).
How that work in game? if is A acting player,and him have Psyche! in hand,do A need to ask B player in combat,do you have to play Telepathic Tracking?
Probably is same answer for Relentless Reaper.
If that afect somehow window for Disarm or Taste of Vitae?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- beslin igor
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 735
- Thank you received: 150
05 Nov 2021 16:29 - 05 Nov 2021 16:30 #103802
by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
Yes, as always. The same way you would ask the opponent if they had any pre-range cards to play before you can play your maneuver as an acting Methuselah.How that work in game? if is A acting player,and him have Psyche! in hand,do A need to ask B player in combat,do you have to play Telepathic Tracking?
No.If that afect somehow window for Disarm or Taste of Vitae?
Last edit: 05 Nov 2021 16:30 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
07 Nov 2025 21:03 #115719
by beslin igor
we get one new cards with efect "combat would end" and start new round instead:
Telepathic Tracking,Relentless Reaper and new card Hunting the Quarry.
sory whu i back again this maybe not totaly clear question.
so acting vampire have Psyche! in hand,want to play it,but with disciplines what his oposing vampire have,him suspect how maybe B player have one of these 3 cards.
is very confusing,did vampire A need to ask if B vampire want to play one of these 3 cards or not,or totaly give impulse to player B?
if is answer to totaly give impulse to player B,so B can play Taste of Vitae(after that him can replace cards with efect combat would end),then impulse pass to player A again,can player A play Psyche! now,or again need to pass impulse to see if player B have cards with text combat would end?
also when player A 1st time give impulse to B,then B can play Psyche!,and A lose oportuniti to play it.
sory but is that very confusing rule,and playing game before 2 days,I also see how is rule unclear to other players too.
Can we get a clearer explanation?
Replied by beslin igor on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
Yes, as always. The same way you would ask the opponent if they had any pre-range cards to play before you can play your maneuver as an acting Methuselah.How that work in game? if is A acting player,and him have Psyche! in hand,do A need to ask B player in combat,do you have to play Telepathic Tracking?
No.If that afect somehow window for Disarm or Taste of Vitae?
we get one new cards with efect "combat would end" and start new round instead:
Telepathic Tracking,Relentless Reaper and new card Hunting the Quarry.
sory whu i back again this maybe not totaly clear question.
so acting vampire have Psyche! in hand,want to play it,but with disciplines what his oposing vampire have,him suspect how maybe B player have one of these 3 cards.
is very confusing,did vampire A need to ask if B vampire want to play one of these 3 cards or not,or totaly give impulse to player B?
if is answer to totaly give impulse to player B,so B can play Taste of Vitae(after that him can replace cards with efect combat would end),then impulse pass to player A again,can player A play Psyche! now,or again need to pass impulse to see if player B have cards with text combat would end?
also when player A 1st time give impulse to B,then B can play Psyche!,and A lose oportuniti to play it.
sory but is that very confusing rule,and playing game before 2 days,I also see how is rule unclear to other players too.
Can we get a clearer explanation?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- beslin igor
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 735
- Thank you received: 150
08 Nov 2025 00:53 - 08 Nov 2025 01:07 #115720
by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
Yes, A needs to ask if anyone wants to play any “combat would end” effects before they can go ahead with playing a “combat is about to end” effect. They are two different windows which cannot be skipped if any player wants to play an effect in them… needs to be handled similarly to e.g. Direct Intervention and Eagle’s Sight
A normally always has the first opportunity to play an effect in every window.
Per game mechanics you would need to pass and not use the impulse much more, but for it to be practical and follow the spirt of the rules the game is played by asking if anyone wants to use a specific “less common” time window, which when used doesn’t mean it can be used to rob the previous player the opportunity to play an effect in a latter time window by skipping to it or to circumvent the need to follow the sequencing rule. There is no gotcha mechanics in vtes.
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/78241-relentless-reaper-vs-blissful-agony-and-scheduled-combat-rulings-ambiguity#98317
A normally always has the first opportunity to play an effect in every window.
Per game mechanics you would need to pass and not use the impulse much more, but for it to be practical and follow the spirt of the rules the game is played by asking if anyone wants to use a specific “less common” time window, which when used doesn’t mean it can be used to rob the previous player the opportunity to play an effect in a latter time window by skipping to it or to circumvent the need to follow the sequencing rule. There is no gotcha mechanics in vtes.
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/78241-relentless-reaper-vs-blissful-agony-and-scheduled-combat-rulings-ambiguity#98317
Last edit: 08 Nov 2025 01:07 by inm8.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.103 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Correct order/impulse for combat cards after combat
