file set range

13 Sep 2018 09:19 #90589 by Bloodartist
set range was created by Bloodartist
(This is less of a question and more of a "fix rulebook" post. )

question:
If a card has text "set range to long", are we to assume that maneuver step is skipped by default if its not specifically mentioned?

I'm 99% sure yes, but I made this post since setting range is not defined in the rulebook for whatever reason. Words "set range" do not appear in the rulebook after some CTRL+F:ing.

Therefore we have cards like cold aura that use a key phrase that's not defined in the rulebook..



Cold Aura
[nec] Only usable before range is determined. Set the range for this round to long.
[NEC] As above, with an optional press, only usable to end combat.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2018 12:37 #90590 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic set range

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: lionel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2018 19:38 #90605 by jamesatzephyr
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic set range
www.vekn.net/general-rulings
If an effect "sets" the range of a round (and therefore skips the maneuver phase), no other effect can be used to reset the range. [RTR 19970630]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2018 20:07 #90607 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic set range
Strange, I looked first in the ruling page but couldn't find the reference. Thanks!

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2018 22:03 #90611 by Bloodartist
Replied by Bloodartist on topic set range
The definition should probably still be mentioned in the rulebook section somewhere (possibly rules glossary or combat step section), since cards treat the phrase as if its a keyphrase/keyword.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Sep 2018 01:39 #90620 by ReverendRevolver
Replied by ReverendRevolver on topic set range
It wouldn't NEED to be in rules, as there's the rule about cards trumping rules when the two contradict, but possibly detailed play summary thing?
The reminder text is sufficient to illustrate what it does, from my experience with such effects.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.114 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum