file Is Guardian Vigil playable after the block succeeds?

25 Sep 2018 16:38 #90759 by XZealot
Anarch vampire attempts to block and is successful. Can I play Guardian Vigil before combat?

Name: Guardian Vigil
[AU:C]
Cardtype: Reaction
Discipline: Auspex/Celerity/Fortitude
Requires an anarch. More than one discipline can be used when playing this card. This anarch attempts to block.
[aus] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed.
[cel] This anarch gets 1 optional maneuver in the resulting combat if he or she blocks.
[for] This anarch does not lock for the block.
Artist: Carmen Cornet

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
More
25 Sep 2018 20:40 #90762 by kschaefer
The short answer from that thread is: yes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Sep 2018 22:04 #90765 by Timo
i would say that the quoted thread doesn't answer the OP

Once the block is successfull, there is no place for another block attempt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Sep 2018 22:44 - 25 Sep 2018 22:49 #90766 by TwoRazorReign

Timo wrote: i would say that the quoted thread doesn't answer the OP

Once the block is successfull, there is no place for another block attempt


This is exactly the point of confusion for many. A minion attempting to block and a minion who successfully blocks are actually the same thing, per the rulebook glossary definition of "blocking minion." This is what the later pages of the other thread are explaining.

So Guardian Vigil can be played after a successful block, even though the card says "this minion attempts to block." Because, again, per the rulebook glossary, an attempt to block and a successful block are the same. Even though the rest of the rulebook and the actual game mechanics would have one think otherwise (the rulebook does not equate a successful block with an attempt to block anywhere else other than the glossary).
Last edit: 25 Sep 2018 22:49 by TwoRazorReign.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Sep 2018 06:49 - 26 Sep 2018 06:50 #90768 by Ankha

XZealot wrote: Anarch vampire attempts to block and is successful. Can I play Guardian Vigil before combat?

You can't play it once the block is successful, you must play it before.
However, the following scenario is possible:

Acting Meth: A bleeds
You: B attempts to block.
Acting Meth: Blocked*
You: B plays Guardian Vigil
Acting Meth: Still blocked**
You: ok, combat then

*: when he says "blocked", he should say "no more stealth" or "no more effects".
**: he could play stealth at this point.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 26 Sep 2018 06:50 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ResurrectioN

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.127 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum