file Vampires entering play: triggered effects and contesting

16 Dec 2018 22:50 - 20 Dec 2018 10:53 #92400 by Bloodartist
Something that came up during the lackey final:

If a player influences out Nana Buruku who is contested, does he momentarily gain the +1 handsize and then discards down?

The rules only say that you bring out the vampire and THEN it is contested.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker
Last edit: 20 Dec 2018 10:53 by Kraus. Reason: Edited topic subject for archival

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Dec 2018 08:35 - 17 Dec 2018 08:36 #92409 by Ankha
No.

groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/NOBWXWrd-vA/iEOpQp1uhvAJ

Contesting: The incoming contested card has no effect prior to being contested. That is, if you contest an Elder Library, you don't draw up to your new Elder Library hand size and then discard when the Library becomes contested - it is simply contested. Likewise contesting Jan Pieterzoon doesn't cycle a card from each player's hand.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 17 Dec 2018 08:36 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kraus, Ke., beslin igor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Dec 2018 10:40 #92411 by Bloodartist
This rule should probably be added to the rulebook with no fuss due to how short and explicit it is.

"Cards that come into play have no effects prior to being contested". to section 4.1, contested cards.

I cant remember how the situation was handled in the final, but it was nigh impossible to find rulings that are not in the rulebook while the game is going.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Dec 2018 15:16 - 17 Dec 2018 15:16 #92422 by kschaefer

Bloodartist wrote: Cards that come into play have no effects prior to being contested". to section 4.1, contested cards.

Except this isn't true. Anarch Convert can convert a vampire before contesting and Erlik can give blood away.
Last edit: 17 Dec 2018 15:16 by kschaefer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Dec 2018 15:17 - 17 Dec 2018 15:20 #92423 by Bloodartist

kschaefer wrote:

Bloodartist wrote: Cards that come into play have no effects prior to being contested". to section 4.1, contested cards.

Except this isn't true. Anarch Convert can convert a vampire before contesting and Erlik can give blood away.


Yea well, its up to Ankha to explain this conflicting information. He just ruled otherwise.
Worth noting that the LSJ ruling is over 15 years old (may 2003).

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker
Last edit: 17 Dec 2018 15:20 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Dec 2018 15:22 #92424 by Mewcat
Karl is correct. It isn't that simple (like anything in vtes). I don't think lsj read the rulebook. Look up Sonja blue rulings for confirmation.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.157 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum