file Canceling a bleed modifier

12 Jan 2019 10:02 #92784 by ResurrectioN
During a bleed action a bleed modifier has been canceled.
(eg: DI played on Conditioning)

Can a 2nd bleed modifier, with different name, be played?
(eg: play Threats after Conditioning has been canceled)

This (old) thread suggests yes:
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/35003-conditioning-di-sos-answer-needed?start=0

Rulebook entry for cancel a card suggests yes:

“Cancel a card”: A "canceled" card has no effect, but it is still considered played. Unless explicitly written, cost for the card is paid. If the card was a strike card, the minion who played it must choose a strike, which might come from another strike card. If the card was an action card, the minion doesn’t lock (he doesn’t pay for the action card), and can play the same action card again.


But the confustion comes from this entry in the rulebook under 6.1.1 Bleed

A minion cannot use more than one action modifier card to increase a bleed during a bleed action. Some bleed action modifiers explicitly state that they do not count against this limit; those can be played before or after modifiers that count against the limit. This rule is reminded on some cards by the "(limited)" card text.


Is use action modifier different then play action modifier?

eg: Is it allowed to play non-Conditioning bleed modifier after Conditionin has been canceled since it's limited keword has been canceled implicitly?

Conditioning
[Action Modifier] Action Modifier
[Dominate] Dominate
[1 Blood]
You cannot play another action modifier to increase this bleed amount.
[dom] +2 bleed.
[DOM] +3 bleed.

Threats
[Action Modifier] Action Modifier
[Dominate] Dominate
After playing this card, you cannot play another action modifier to further increase the bleed for this action.
[dom] +1 bleed.
[DOM] +2 bleed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2019 11:04 - 12 Jan 2019 11:04 #92787 by Bloodartist

A minion cannot use more than one action modifier card to increase a bleed during a bleed action.


Well the canceled modifier didn't increase the bleed since it was canceled, so the answer should be yes? You can use a different action modifier to increase the bleed?

(Would be nice to see if I actually get these rules right. Trying to learn VTES rules is impossible since there is no underlying logic)

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker
Last edit: 12 Jan 2019 11:04 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2019 13:39 #92797 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Canceling a bleed modifier

ResurrectioN wrote: Is use action modifier different then play action modifier?

Yes.

ResurrectioN wrote: eg: Is it allowed to play non-Conditioning bleed modifier after Conditionin has been canceled since it's limited keword has been canceled implicitly?

Yes, as long as only one action modifier is used to increased the bleed.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: ResurrectioN

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.098 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum