file card canceler vs cards that deny reactions.

18 Apr 2019 10:04 #94553 by Whisker
How do cards than deny playing reactions interact with reactions that cancel card as it is played?
Particular case I'm interested is Will-o'-the-Wisp vs power of all, but there are propably others. So does Will-o'-the-Wisp thrump power of all, can PoA be used to cancel Will-o'-the-Wisp as the cards effect has not yet been aplied?

Will-o'-the-Wisp
[Action Modifier] Action Modifier
[Chimerstry] Chimerstry
[X Blood]
[chi] Allocate X+1 points among one or more minions. Each point represents -1 intercept for that minion this action.
[CHI] Only usable as the action is announced. Choose X-1 allies or younger vampires. The chosen minions cannot block or play reaction cards this action.

Power of All
[Reaction] Reaction
[2 Blood]
Requires a ready anarch.
Tap this anarch and one other untapped ready anarch you control to cancel a library card as it is played. Usable even if there is no action. Not usable during your own turn.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Apr 2019 10:32 #94554 by jamesatzephyr

Whisker wrote: How do cards than deny playing reactions interact with reactions that cancel card as it is played?


Cancellation goes in between announcing what the card does and resolving that effect. www.vekn.net/detailed-play-summary

B. Declare the effect.
1. Fully announce the effect (as applicable: the minion playing/using it, targets, cost, and so on). If the effect is a card, play the card to the playing area.
2. You cannot play a card or use an effect whose cost cannot be paid.
3. For cards, this step (II.B) is the "as played" window.
3a. Cards that can cancel a card "as it is played" can be played at this time, as can Wake-style cards whose effects grant the ability to play those effects.
3b. Other cards and effects cannot be used at this time.
3c. If the card is canceled, skip to step D.
4. For cards, your hand size is reduced by 1 until you replace the card (step D).

C. Pay cost and resolve effect (unless canceled in step B).
...
D. Replace the card (after handling all pending "as played" windows).

So if you play the card and it gets cancelled, it never has an effect.

See also:


www.vekn.net/general-rulings
"As played" (a phrase used by many card-canceling effects) comes after the card in question is fully announced and before the played card is replaced and before the effect the play generates. In general, no card or effect can be used in this window. The only ones that can be are the effects that say so, and Wake-style effects that enable such cards to be played ("may play reaction cards" effects, not "untap self" or other effects). [RTR]
The following user(s) said Thank You: Whisker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.097 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum