file "My Enemy's Enemy" with 2 players left

04 Aug 2019 16:29 #96130 by Hakuron
Is "My Enemy's Enemy" superior playable with only 2 players at the table?

Name: My Enemy's Enemy
[aus] +1 intercept.
[AUS] Only usable when a minion controlled by your predator is bleeding you, after blocks are declined. Lock this reacting vampire. The acting minion is now bleeding your predator's predator.

There is a LSJ ruling on this matter, but I cannot find it right now. Is that still valid?

Strange enough, the card text on "Lackey" explicitely reads that "My Enemy's Enemy" is NOT usable in a 2 player game. Why so?

Thanks in advance.
:tore:

National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Aug 2019 18:09 - 04 Aug 2019 18:14 #96133 by Palamedes
Not playable because the Rulebook says:
6.1.1. Bleed
Some cards or effects may allow or force you to bleed a Methuselah other than your prey. You can never bleed yourself, however.


I see what you meant. :D Actually I see no reason why it is not playable, but it is still useless.
Last edit: 04 Aug 2019 18:14 by Palamedes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Aug 2019 18:56 #96134 by jamesatzephyr

Hakuron wrote: Is "My Enemy's Enemy" superior playable with only 2 players at the table?


Yes. Unlike most bouncers, it doesn't ask you to choose another Methuselah etc.

[LSJ 20060525]

LSJ wrote: > You can use My Enemy's Enemy to send it back to you... Right? If it's
> down to 2 players... Not sure how's that's helpful...

Yes. It is useful in that it moves the card -- you might draw something
useful.

Or it'll get you closer to decking and then you can withdraw. :-)



Note that the ordinary re-opening of blockers that you get at this point wither other bounce cards doesn't apply, because the target hasn't changed.

www.vekn.net/general-rulings
If the target of a directed action is reset, a new "choose blockers" opportunity results. [RTR 19970630]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Aug 2019 20:59 #96137 by Ankha
It works indeed, even if we're pondering to change it or not to avoid the non-reopening exception.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Aug 2019 13:14 #96155 by thelonius reloaded
Sadly, Amaranth version of my enemy's enemy reports a variation stating that cannot be played In 2 players. Why there's such variations? (Not only in this card anyway)

Italian National Coordinator

Lurking in the underground of Bologna, Italy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Aug 2019 20:35 - 05 Aug 2019 20:36 #96176 by Ankha

thelonius reloaded wrote: Sadly, Amaranth version of my enemy's enemy reports a variation stating that cannot be played In 2 players. Why there's such variations? (Not only in this card anyway)

Because it's not the official version but the alpha version of the next cardtext (subject to change). If you want the official cardtext, select that option in Amaranth.
And if you want to give some feedback about the alpha version, please do so (I think there are some buttons on the website).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 05 Aug 2019 20:36 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum