file Eyes of the Beast

08 Nov 2019 01:06 #97708 by blackday
Eyes of the Beast was created by blackday
I just want to confirm something.

Name: Eyes of the Beast
Type: Reaction
PoolCost:
BloodCost:
CardText: [pro] +1 intercept, and put this card on this reacting vampire. This vampire gets -1 stealth. Burn this card during your next discard phase.
[PRO] As above, with an optional maneuver during the first round of the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks.

Does the superior version of it gives the vampire an optional maneuver every combat thereafter until the card is burned? Just like the -1 stealth?
I was under the impression the maneuver like the +1 intercept were only transient and only applies to the first combat that resulted from the block.
We were debating it because the amaranth version says "whenever this vampire blocks"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Nov 2019 07:08 #97709 by Yomyael
Replied by Yomyael on topic Eyes of the Beast

blackday wrote: Name: Eyes of the Beast
Type: Reaction
PoolCost:
BloodCost:
CardText: [pro] +1 intercept, and put this card on this reacting vampire. This vampire gets -1 stealth. Burn this card during your next discard phase.
[PRO] As above, with an optional maneuver during the first round of the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks.


The red emphasized part is not a part of the text the card applies when being on the vampire (because of the "with" instead of "this vampire").

The Amaranth card text tries to clarify things, while unfortunately obscuring others. The reason it sais "whenever this vampire blocks" is that you get this maneuver if your vampire blocks the action in which you played this card more than once (e.g. you play Eyes if the Beast, block succesfully, use your maneuver, then the acting minion plays Form of Mist at superior to continue with the action, you wake and block again. In the resulting combat you again have a maneuver in the first round).

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Nov 2019 09:22 #97710 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Eyes of the Beast

Yomyael wrote:

blackday wrote: Name: Eyes of the Beast
Type: Reaction
PoolCost:
BloodCost:
CardText: [pro] +1 intercept, and put this card on this reacting vampire. This vampire gets -1 stealth. Burn this card during your next discard phase.
[PRO] As above, with an optional maneuver during the first round of the resulting combat if this vampire successfully blocks.


The red emphasized part is not a part of the text the card applies when being on the vampire (because of the "with" instead of "this vampire").

The Amaranth card text tries to clarify things, while unfortunately obscuring others. The reason it sais "whenever this vampire blocks" is that you get this maneuver if your vampire blocks the action in which you played this card more than once (e.g. you play Eyes if the Beast, block succesfully, use your maneuver, then the acting minion plays Form of Mist at superior to continue with the action, you wake and block again. In the resulting combat you again have a maneuver in the first round).

Correct on both points.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Nov 2019 06:11 #97717 by blackday
Replied by blackday on topic Eyes of the Beast
So wait, what you are saying is that the optional maneuver only applies to that same action?
So, if there was a different action by a different vampire and the vampire who played eyes of the beast attempts to block he would not have the +1 intercept nor the optional maneuver.
Just the -1 stealth until the card is burned?
Right?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Nov 2019 13:08 #97720 by Yomyael
Replied by Yomyael on topic Eyes of the Beast
Right. Both the +1 intercept and the maneuver only apply during the action in which the card was played. The -1 stealth sticks until the card is burned.

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.129 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum