file Can I wait out the resolution of an additional strike before announcing my own?

26 Jun 2020 13:41 #100185 by Hobbesgoblin
Following situation:

Combat occurs
Minian A: Damaging Strike
Minion B: Wind Dance Superior
Wind Dance
[tha ]Strike: dodge.
[THA]As above, with 1 additional strike: dodge this round.

now B has a non-optional strike: dodge queued.

Can Minion A wait out the Resolution of this additional strike phase, before announcing their own additional strikes?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jun 2020 14:32 #100186 by Yomyael
No, you can't.

From: www.vekn.net/forum/6-rules-questions/47377-rules-team-rulings-22-apr-2013

A minion may only gain additional strikes after the initial strike resolution, or after the resolution of one of his or her additional strikes.

Prince of Bonn, Germany
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jun 2020 14:33 #100187 by Marcin
First of all acting minion announce everything first.
So who is the acting?

After resolution of first pair of strikes acting minion decides/plays additional strikes (not actual strike just gains strike/strikes), then opposing player.
After all strikes being gained, acting minion announces his strike.

But waiting out resolution to play his own? No it's all at the same time, must be announced and then resolver in pairs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jun 2020 14:44 - 26 Jun 2020 14:46 #100188 by Hobbesgoblin
@yomyael
does it make a difference if it a card played for an additional strike or an optional additional strike from a card in play? (I assume not, but just want to confirm)


edit: I misread your answer, so question cleared itself.

@Marcin
In the example A would be acting, but this should not make a difference I think, at least for the question I have, wich would be:

Strika A
Strike B, that queues an additional (in the example with wind dance)
A no additional
Strike B
A announces additional
Last edit: 26 Jun 2020 14:46 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jun 2020 16:07 #100190 by kschaefer

Hobbesgoblin wrote: Strika A
Strike B, that queues an additional (in the example with wind dance)
A no additional
Strike B
A announces additional

If A wants an additional strike, they get the opportunity to play one in the same window that the additional dodge from Wind Dance is queued. If A wants to strike after the second Wind Dance dodge, they would need two additional strikes, one to resolve during the first additional strike vs Wind Dance's dodge and a second additional strike to strike after Wind Dance strikes are complete.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jun 2020 05:56 - 27 Jun 2020 05:57 #100193 by Bloodartist

Hobbesgoblin wrote: @Marcin
In the example A would be acting, but this should not make a difference I think, at least for the question I have, wich would be:

Strika A
Strike B, that queues an additional (in the example with wind dance)
A no additional
Strike B
A announces additional


Nobody doesn't need to say anything about additional strikes during the initial strike phase, unless a card queues a non-optional additional as in the case of wind dance. After initial strike phase, both players will declare additionals in the same time window, and they will resolve at the same time. Player B is committed to using the non-optional additional strike (so he must declare it), but other than that this doesn't change. There is no trickery with timing involved here.

The strikes are declared at the same time and they resolve at the same time.

"If a man wanders into a tiger's domain, it may result in his being devoured.
And so it has."
-- Pisha, VtM:B

Last edit: 27 Jun 2020 05:57 by Bloodartist.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.922 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum