file Blood Hunt Referendums / Veles Hunt

12 Oct 2020 14:06 - 12 Oct 2020 14:35 #100914 by dfvtes
Hi all,

I've read a few conflicting posts and can't find anything definitive.

Can action modifiers / reactions be played when Veles' Hunt is called ?

I was under the impression that, being labelled as a Bloodhunt Referendum, that no action modifiers or reactions can be played.

However it was pointed out to me that Bloodhunt Referendums dont inherently stop reactions or modifiers, it's just that they are (usually) called after diablerie and arent actions themselves so cant be reacted to or modified. As Veles' Hunt is a political action then it can be modified and reacted to.

Name: Veles' Hunt
[KoT:R]
Cardtype: Political Action
Clan: Gangrel
Cost: 3 pool
Blood hunt referendum.
Choose an ally or younger non-titled vampire controlled by your prey. Successful referendum means that minion is burned. If this referendum fails or is canceled, no more Veles' Hunts can be played this game.
Artist: Ken Meyer, Jr.

Edit: spellings and card text
Last edit: 12 Oct 2020 14:35 by dfvtes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Oct 2020 14:34 #100915 by Ankha

dfvtes wrote: Hi all,

I've read a few conflicting posts and can't find anything definitive.

Can action modifiers / reactions be played when Veles' Hunt is called ?

Yes.

dfvtes wrote: I was under the impression that, being labelled as a Bloddhunt Referendum, that no action modifiers or reactions.

No. This rule applies only during the blood hunt referendum of a diablerie.

dfvtes wrote: However it was pointed out to me that Bloodhunt Referendums dont inherently stop reactions or modifiers, it's just that they are (usually) called after diablerie and arent actions themselves so cant be reacted to or modified.

Correct.

See groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/hlK89M1M9rk/m/k2mbokPTCccJ

LSJ wrote: Blooded Sand wrote:
> On Dec 2, 9:00 am, wumpus <> wrote:
>> Bernard, the Scourge, 5, ani for pre pro, Gangrel, 4, [KoT]
>> Camarilla: Bernard can call a Blood Hunt on a vampire with capacity 4
>> or less as +1 stealth political action.
>>
>> As I understand it, 'call a Blood Hunt' means 'burn'; that is, after
>> diablerie, a referendum is automatically conducted to see if a Blood
>> Hunt will be called on the diablerist, if the vote passes, the Blood
>> Hunt is indeed called and the vampire burned.
Correct.

>> Normally one cannot play action modifiers or reactions during that
>> referendum, as it is not an action. However, Bernard is explicitly
>> performing a political action, so presumably he can play Bewitching
>> Oration, Voter Captivation, etc., and other Methuselah's vampires can
>> use Delaying Tactics, etc?
>>

> If the Political Action Bernard is taking is not blocked, then he
> should be able to play all Action modifiers that state "during a
> political action."

Correct. Same with Veles' Hunt.

> Remember that the reason VC, BO, et al cannot
> normally be played during a post-diablerie Blood Hunt is because there
> is no political action.

Well, the rules suffice, whatever the reason they're written the way they are,
sure. The automatic BH is handled independently of the action. If you play
Amaranth during a blocked political action, you still can't play VC, BO, etc.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.108 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum