file Do you merge vampires?

×

Poll: Do you merge vampires?

Total number of voters: 0
Only registered users can participate to this poll
31 Dec 2014 10:35 - 31 Dec 2014 12:09 #68390 by Ankha
Do you merge vampires? was created by Ankha
The options are limited in size, so here's the detail:
  • Yes, occasionally, I have decks relying on merged vampires
  • Yes, but not frequently (I have decks with a copy of the base or adv version, just in case)
  • No, no merged vampire is worth being in a deck
  • No, I'd like to but it's too slow / too complicated / not worth the effort / doesn't work well (crypt building, merged mecanism)


Please explain why / why not.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 31 Dec 2014 12:09 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2014 10:35 #68391 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Do you merge vampires?
For my part, I find there are some nice vampire once merged, but it's a bit complicated to use them casually.

Star vampires are maybe an exception, because I'd probably include 5 copies of the base version anyway and just add 1 copy of the merged version (or 4+1). It makes the crypt somehow unbalanced but not more than for a star vampire.
Eg. Nergal + Nergal adv

The real trouble is for non-star vampires: it doesn't work well.
Let's take for instance some Carna deck with Valerius Major. You'd probably be forced to play 3 Valerius adv + 1 base, because the advanced version has the nice anti-obf special.
But then your crypt is a bit crippled, and you can't play Epiphany (works only with base version).

If you merge it manually, it takes an extra turn which is quite a penalty when you intend to bring out 2 more vampires.

If you use Wider View, you'll even probably need 1 extra turn to fetch the right version (if you're lucky), for a total of 2 turns.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: extrala

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2014 10:46 #68392 by thelonius reloaded
i love merging for 2 main reasons:

1) there are vampires who get a real boost merging, even if their "basic form" (ty pokemon) is good (eg Lucita or Nergal)

2) on the RPG side, it means character has somehow evolved and story has continued to grow :)

Italian National Coordinator

Lurking in the underground of Bologna, Italy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2014 12:28 #68396 by Nictuku
Replied by Nictuku on topic Re: Do you merge vampires?
i use epiphany when i build a deck around ADV vampire. Last time used Sarrasine, and now I'm thinking to try Al Ashrad...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2014 20:46 #68403 by ICL
Replied by ICL on topic Re: Do you merge vampires?
I like the idea. The gains are often awful. I had a deck where I ran both Sutphens because it seemed interesting. It killed me when I drew both and had one less uncontrolled vamp.

Still, since I do all kinds of things, I'll have decks that merge or that have multiple merges.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2014 22:07 #68404 by Dorrinal
Replied by Dorrinal on topic Re: Do you merge vampires?
Of course I merge. How am I supposed to pay for all these Assault Rifles without investing my pool wisely?

:trem:
The following user(s) said Thank You: D-dennis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.153 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum