lock Can I play Giant's Blood on an uncontrolled vampire?

25 Aug 2012 23:37 - 25 Aug 2012 23:38 #35351 by mirddes
1994 card text

If this is the first time Giant's blood is being played in the game, restore a vampire to full capacity from the blood bank. If this is not the first time, then Giant's Blood is burned with no effect.

1995 card text

Restore a vampire to full capacity with blood from the blood bank. Only one giant's blood can be played in a game.

2002 card text

Restore a vampire to full capacity with blood from the blood bank. Only 1 Giants Blood can be played in a game.

LoB

Restore a vampire to full capacity with blood from the blood bank. Only one Giants Blood can be played in a game.

2008

Fill a vampire to full capacity with blood from the blood bank. Only one Giants Blood can be played in a game.



----


this much more recent card text makes the ready/uncontrolled situation clearer. past card texts state RESTORE, 2008 onward state FILL.

restore indicates the vampire already had blood on it.
fill has no such premise.
Last edit: 25 Aug 2012 23:38 by mirddes.
The topic has been locked.
More
25 Aug 2012 23:44 #35352 by Juggernaut1981
There is no text on this card specifying non-standard targets (unlike for instance on Enchant Kindred, Govern the Unaligned or Tend the Flock) therefore, it follows the rules. Since it follows the rules, you cannot choose an uncontrolled vampire for Giant's Blood.

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
www.halflingcaravangames.com.au/
The following user(s) said Thank You: Vlad
The topic has been locked.
More
26 Aug 2012 00:00 #35353 by mirddes
a vampire is still a vampire, be it controlled or not.
The topic has been locked.
More
26 Aug 2012 00:04 #35354 by mirddes
Blood Doll

Master

Put this card on a vampire you control. During his or her master phase, this vampire's controller may move 1 blood from this vampire to his or her pool or from his or her pool to this vampire.


Why would such cards state controlled if such text is redundant as per 1.6.1.4?
The topic has been locked.
More
26 Aug 2012 00:14 #35355 by 1up20x6

mirddes wrote: a vampire is still a vampire, be it controlled or not.


Whether it's a vampire or not, the rules say that you can't use Giant's Blood on it since it's uncontrolled.

Put this card on a vampire you control. During his or her master phase, this vampire's controller may move 1 blood from this vampire to his or her pool or from his or her pool to this vampire.


Why would such cards state controlled if such text is redundant as per 1.6.1.4?


So you can't play it on an opponent's vampire.

Any deck can win, whether you're using stealth bleed, rush combat, or Soul Gem combos. It doesn't matter if your minions use Auspex, Thaumaturgy, or Melpominee. What matters is the Methuselah uses Presence. That is how deals are made. That is how games are won.

No, you misunderstand. I don't want...
The topic has been locked.
More
26 Aug 2012 00:28 #35357 by Juggernaut1981

mirddes wrote: Blood Doll

Master

Put this card on a vampire you control. During his or her master phase, this vampire's controller may move 1 blood from this vampire to his or her pool or from his or her pool to this vampire.


Why would such cards state controlled if such text is redundant as per 1.6.1.4?

To stop you putting the card on someone else's vampire. You can play Giant's Blood on any ready vampire (including ones you do not control). So rather than saying "Fill a ready vampire to capacity" the text relies on the Targeting rule to allow you to only target cards in play.

1.6.1.4 Restricts you to targeting cards which are controlled or 'in play' unless there is specific card text. Uncontrolled vampires are not 'in play' and therefore cannot be targeted by a huge number of other cards.

You cannot put discipline cards on uncontrolled vampires due to 1.6.1.4
You cannot play Anachronism on an uncontrolled vampire due to 1.6.1.4
You cannot play Society of Leopold on an uncontrolled vampire due to 1.6.1.4

So you can't choose an uncontrolled vampire for Giant's Blood.

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
www.halflingcaravangames.com.au/
The topic has been locked.
More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.147 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum