file Priority Contract and Provision of the Silsila

10 May 2015 20:30 #71020 by mjvtes521
If your Assamite has a priority contract naming the opposing minion and sends him to torpor in combat (and is still ready at the end of the combat) can you burn the priority contract to gain 3 pool and play provision of the Silsila to gain blood to capacity? I can't seem to find a ruling on this.

Provision of the Silsila
Action Modifier
Reaction

Assamite

Usable by a tapped vampire.
Only usable after a combat involving this Assamite and a minion with a contract naming this Assamite. Only usable if the opposing minion is not ready and this Assamite is ready. This Assamite gains enough blood from the blood bank to reach full capacity, and the contract is burned if still in play.


Priority Contract
Master

Assamite

Unique contract. Trifle.
Put this card on a minion controlled by your prey and choose a ready Assamite you control. The chosen Assamite can enter combat with this minion as a +1 stealth (D) action. If this minion would leave the ready region, you can burn this card to gain 3 pool.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 May 2015 00:08 #71021 by Ke.
The hint is in Provision of the Silsila's text:

"and the contract is burned if still in play."

Both are playable. Same rules apply as this:

groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/h6qIVJTFw6g/vvKo6XJsnBIJ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 May 2015 21:49 #71053 by Pascal Bertrand

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Sep 2018 16:24 #90725 by erewego
Does this include Black Throne?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Feb 2019 10:05 #93726 by Ankha

erewego wrote: Does this include Black Throne?


Yes.

The minion with the contract leaves the ready region (even if at some point after this condition is met the contract is burned).

Name: The Black Throne
[LotN:R]
Cardtype: Master
Clan: Assamite
Cost: 1 pool
Master: unique location.
Lock during a referendum to gain 2 votes. Lock when a minion with a contract leaves the ready region (only usable if an Assamite you control had been chosen for that contract) to gain 1 pool.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Apr 2019 18:39 #94615 by Kushiel
Sorry to re-re-necro this topic, but I came across this thread while looking for a ruling about the interaction between Black Throne and Priority Contract, and I'm hoping for a bit more clarity on this from Ankha.

I understand why you can use Provision after a combat that results in burning a Priority Contract to gain pool. Provision's relevant requirement is "Only usable after a combat involving this Assamite and a minion with a contract naming this Assamite," and this can be met even if a Priority Contract is burned as the contract's target would leave the ready region, because the combat leading up to the burning of the Contract already involved a contract regardless of what happens (and when it happens) to the contract - the combat involved the target and contracted Assamite as soon as that combat began, so even if there was some effect that burned the contract during, e.g., the maneuver step, you could still play Provision.

However, Black Throne's wording is totally different: "Lock when a minion with a contract leaves the ready region..." I can't understand how it could be used after a combat that results in the burning of a Priority Contract to gain pool, because it seems like one of these two exclusive chains of effects has to occur:

1a) Assamite torporizes Priority Contract target
1b) Assamite's controller chooses to burn Contract as the Contract target would be leaving the ready region
1c) Contract target leaves the ready region
1d) Assamite's controller checks to see if there is a minion with a contract leaving the ready region
1e) There isn't (Priority Contract has already been burned), so Black Throne can't be locked

or

2a) Assamite torporizes Priority Contract target
2b) Contract target leaves the ready region
2c) Assamite's controller checks to see if there is a minion with a contract leaving the ready region; there is, so Black Throne is locked to gain a pool
2d) Assamite's controller checks to see if there is a minion with a contract who would be leaving the ready region
2e) There isn't (that minion has already left the ready region)
2f) Priority Contract can't be burned to gain pool, as the window to do so has already closed

tl; dr Are "would leave" and "leaving" synonymous in VTES-speak?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.120 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum