file Field Training question

24 Nov 2016 20:21 #79218 by Hakuron
#lectureonenglishgrammar

A question regarding "Field Training" that was asked last gaming night:
Can Field Training be used by an anarch vampire without any superior disciplines just to make the target vampire anarch?

Field Training wrote: 1 Blood.
+1 stealth action. Requires an anarch.
Put this card on another ready, non-titled vampire you control, choose a Discipline the acting vampire has at superior and untap the acting vampire. The vampire with this card is considered anarch (and Independent), and gets +1 level of the chosen Discipline. If this vampire changes sect, burn this card. A vampire can have only one Field Training.



Thanks in advance!
:tore:

National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Nov 2016 20:46 - 24 Nov 2016 20:47 #79219 by Blooded Sand

Hakuron wrote: #lectureonenglishgrammar

A question regarding "Field Training" that was asked last gaming night:
Can Field Training be used by an anarch vampire without any superior disciplines just to make the target vampire anarch?

Field Training wrote: 1 Blood.
+1 stealth action. Requires an anarch.
Put this card on another ready, non-titled vampire you control, choose a Discipline the acting vampire has at superior and untap the acting vampire. The vampire with this card is considered anarch (and Independent), and gets +1 level of the chosen Discipline. If this vampire changes sect, burn this card. A vampire can have only one Field Training.


No. The text requiring the superior discipline is in the same sentence as the rest of the requirements, thus is not avoidable. I can go find the LSJ set precedent, but am too damn busy right now, sorry

:assa: :flight: :QUI: :OBF: :POT: :FOR: :TEM: :DOM:
Last edit: 24 Nov 2016 20:47 by Blooded Sand.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2018 05:22 #89471 by kschaefer
Replied by kschaefer on topic Field Training question
This came up tonight on a game on Lackey. There is an older thread here . Also unanswered.

Blooded Sand wrote:

Hakuron wrote: #lectureonenglishgrammar

A question regarding "Field Training" that was asked last gaming night:
Can Field Training be used by an anarch vampire without any superior disciplines just to make the target vampire anarch?


No. The text requiring the superior discipline is in the same sentence as the rest of the requirements, thus is not avoidable.


I believe this statement is incorrect. The requirements for the card is only Anarch, per the requirements line. If the acting vampire has no superior disciplines, you choose a superior discipline from the empty set, which results in choosing no discipline.

I would like to get Ankha's response, since this has been a question for some time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2018 06:10 - 31 Jul 2018 06:14 #89472 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Field Training question
The vampire must have a superior Discipline to choose from.

6.2.1. Announce the Action
All details of the action are declared when the action is announced, including the target(s), the cost, the effects, etc. Any card required for the action is played (face up) at this time. Lock the acting minion (only ready unlocked minions can take actions).


If the card says you have to choose a Discipline at superior (not "up to one"), then you must be able to do so in order to play the card.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 31 Jul 2018 06:14 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2018 08:12 #89473 by Bloodartist
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Field Training question

kschaefer wrote: I believe this statement is incorrect. The requirements for the card is only Anarch, per the requirements line. If the acting vampire has no superior disciplines, you choose a superior discipline from the empty set, which results in choosing no discipline.


The card says "choose a discipline the acting vampire has at superior". You cannot choose from 'an empty set'. In VTES, you need to be able to satisfy all conditions in order to even play cards. Therefore, you cannot play field training with a vampire who has only inferior disciplines.

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.242 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum