file Vidal Jarbeaux ability

27 Sep 2019 21:25 #97170 by islandofyiaros
Some abilities that Vidal Jarbeaux can use are also part of another one or require another one. For example, you can't be a Prince without being Camarilla; you can't be a Seraph without being Black Hand.

The question is: Can he play a card requiring Sabbat, then later play a card requiring a Cardinal--or does playing a Cardinal card imply he's using his "play a Sabbat card once per game" as well?

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Sep 2019 21:57 #97171 by jamesatzephyr

islandofyiaros wrote: you can't be a Prince without being Camarilla;


True.

islandofyiaros wrote: you can't be a Seraph without being Black Hand.


Untrue. "Black Hand" and "Seraph" are just meaningless card text. Nothing in the rules does anything to them. The Black Hand set introduced no new rules. [LSJ 20030711]

islandofyiaros wrote: Can he play a card requiring Sabbat, then later play a card requiring a Cardinal--or does playing a Cardinal card imply he's using his "play a Sabbat card once per game" as well?


It depends on card text.

If a card says: "Requires a {title}" then Vidal sees that as him meeting the title for the purposes of his special - the fact that the sect comes along with it isn't relevant for his special. If a card said "Requires a {sect} and a {title}" or similar (e.g. several cards say "Requires a titled Sabbat vampire"), then the explicit requirement would be noticed by his special.

[LSJ 20081124]

LSJ wrote: >>> 1/ If Vidal uses his cardtext to play a card that requires a Baron,
>>> would that count against the Anarch trait also ?

>> Not for his special.

> The card "sees" him as an Anarch Baron, but he did not met the Anarch
> requirement. This is kinda strange to me.

"Requires a Baron". He met that requirement.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jul 2020 05:54 #100331 by gatocion
Replied by gatocion on topic Vidal Jarbeaux ability
Hi!

Another question regarding Vidal's hability.

If he plays an Ankara Citadel and it gets DI, is it still able to fake Tremere?

Thanks!


Name: Vidal Jarbeaux
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Toreador
Group: 5
Capacity: 8
Discipline: aus cel obf pot PRE
Camarilla: Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g., {Black Hand}) requirement to play any card. He can meet a given requirement only once each game. +1 bleed.
Artist: Mike Gaydos

Name: Direct Intervention
Cardtype: Master
Cost: 1 pool
Master: out-of-turn.
Cancel a minion card as it is played. No cost is paid. (If it was an action card, the acting minion doesn't lock. If it was a strike card, the minion chooses another strike.)
Artist: Harold Arthur McNeill


Name: The Ankara Citadel, Turkey
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Tremere
Cost: 2 blood
While in play, this equipment card represents a location and does not count as equipment. Unique.
Non-action modifier cards costing blood cost this vampire half as much blood to play, rounded down (multiplication and division are handled first, followed by addition and subtraction).
Artist: Greg Simanson; Brian LeBlanc

VEKN#4200008

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jul 2020 09:05 #100333 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Vidal Jarbeaux ability

gatocion wrote: Another question regarding Vidal's hability.
If he plays an Ankara Citadel and it gets DI, is it still able to fake Tremere?


Ankara Citadel was played, even if it was cancelled as played, which means that Vidal has used his ability (otherwise the card couldn't have been played).

(This is different from cost reduction vs DI, or locking Enkil Cog vs DI).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.101 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum