file "Legacy of Power" and continue combat effects (like Psyche!)

09 Jan 2020 00:07 #98476 by Hakuron
Hi,

since a lot of "continue combat effects/cards" questions have been asked lately, here is another one for clarity's sake:

Can a superior Psyche! (or something similar) be played in a combat that is ended by Legacy of Power?

Name: Legacy of Power
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 3 blood
Requires a ready prince, justicar or Inner Circle member.
Only usable when another vampire you control enters combat. Lock this reacting vampire and end combat. Each of the vampires involved in that combat goes to torpor.

Name: Psyche!
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Celerity
[cel] Press.
[CEL] Only usable at the end of a round when both combatants are still ready and combat is about to end. After this round, begin another combat with the opposing minion.


Thanks in advance!
:tore:

National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2020 09:42 #98484 by Ankha

Hakuron wrote: Can a superior Psyche! (or something similar) be played in a combat that is ended by Legacy of Power?
:tore:


Yes.

groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/9Ui7pesvu5g/P4p-nKZa6lQJ

LSJ wrote: > #3. Does a Psyche! played in response to a Legacy of Power prevent both
> vampires from going to torpor?
Yes. It should probably not (LoP "should" just send the two to torpor and let
that event end the combat), but as it written, yeah. Not a problem, though,
so I don't foresee any errata for this one any time soon.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2020 18:03 #98488 by Arthur Volts
Odd. How can a new combat start if both vampires are in torpor?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2020 18:54 - 09 Jan 2020 18:58 #98490 by Kraus

Arthur Volts wrote: Odd. How can a new combat start if both vampires are in torpor?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but:

The combat actually starts due to card text. If it said "would enter combat", they wouldn't.

In combat, combat cards can be played. Combat would end when both combatants leave the ready region. However, a queued new combat from Psyche interrupts the 'enter torpor' (or, leaving ready region) with the new combat that ensues. The game state forgets that either would've left the ready region, and commences the new combat instead.

Psyche is still pretty tricky, but many cases are covered in the Card Rulings on VEKN.

Of course, the more case specific examples are covered in the rulings, the better, as Psyche can be one of the trickier cards. :)

"Oh, to the Hades with the manners! He's a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De-Arnise

Facebook @ VtES: Joensuu
www.vekn.net/forum-guidelines
Last edit: 09 Jan 2020 18:58 by Kraus.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2020 19:00 #98491 by kschaefer
Legacy of Power is just poorly worded and designed. You're not supposed to be able to play reaction cards during combat, but card text on Legacy of Power overrides that. A wording clean up could prevent that extra bit of strangeness as well and make the card interact properly.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kraus, Yomyael

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2020 22:59 #98496 by Hakuron

kschaefer wrote: Legacy of Power is just poorly worded and designed. You're not supposed to be able to play reaction cards during combat, but card text on Legacy of Power overrides that. A wording clean up could prevent that extra bit of strangeness as well and make the card interact properly.

Well, Obedience is not a combat card, either. The only difference to Legacy of Power is that it is played by a vampire not involved directly.

Name: Obedience
Cardtype: Reaction
Discipline: Dominate
Only usable {if} this vampire is about to enter combat with an acting younger vampire.
...

Name: Legacy of Power
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 3 blood
Requires a ready prince, justicar or Inner Circle member.
Only usable when another vampire you control enters combat. ...


National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.136 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum