file Slave Rule and Acting Minion

13 Jan 2020 19:51 #98566 by Hakuron

Slave: Some minions are identified as slaves to a specified clan. A slave cannot take a directed action if his controller doesn't control a ready member of the specified clan. Also, if a member of the specified clan controlled by the same Methuselah is blocked, the controller can lock the slave to cancel the combat and to unlock the acting vampire and have the slave enter combat with the blocking minion instead.

Does a slave minion entering combat via the slave rule actually become the "acting minion"?

Would be relevant e. g. for cards like "NSA Trio".

Name: NSA Trio
Cardtype: Event
Government.
During the first combat between an acting vampire and a blocking vampire each turn, neither combatant may end combat as a strike in the first round. A Methuselah may use a discard phase action to burn this card if his or her minions attempted no actions in the current turn.


National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil
The following user(s) said Thank You: Thalco

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2020 07:25 #98574 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Slave Rule and Acting Minion

Hakuron wrote:

Slave: Some minions are identified as slaves to a specified clan. A slave cannot take a directed action if his controller doesn't control a ready member of the specified clan. Also, if a member of the specified clan controlled by the same Methuselah is blocked, the controller can lock the slave to cancel the combat and to unlock the acting vampire and have the slave enter combat with the blocking minion instead.

Does a slave minion entering combat via the slave rule actually become the "acting minion"?

Would be relevant e. g. for cards like "NSA Trio".

Name: NSA Trio
Cardtype: Event
Government.
During the first combat between an acting vampire and a blocking vampire each turn, neither combatant may end combat as a strike in the first round. A Methuselah may use a discard phase action to burn this card if his or her minions attempted no actions in the current turn.

No. The acting minion is the one conducting the action.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2020 15:12 #98580 by Palamedes
After the combat between blocking and (now) locked slave minion, can (now) unlocked acting minion plays cards like Shadow Boxing or Momentary Delay? If can, is they stay and continue the action unlocked? if can't - why?

Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2020 17:33 - 14 Jan 2020 17:33 #98584 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Slave Rule and Acting Minion

Palamedes wrote: After the combat between blocking and (now) locked slave minion, can (now) unlocked acting minion plays cards like Shadow Boxing or Momentary Delay? If can, is they stay and continue the action unlocked? if can't - why?


Shadow Boxing: no => "Only usable after a combat resulting from a block" and the combat does not result from a block

Momentary Delay: yes, if you meet the other conditions.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 14 Jan 2020 17:33 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Palamedes

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2020 22:15 #98588 by Palamedes

Ankha wrote: Shadow Boxing: no => "Only usable after a combat resulting from a block" and the combat does not result from a block


Ok, I can understand this logic since the original combat is canceled and the acting minion is not involved in combat, but this is a little tricky since condition "after a combat resulting from a block" is met in the same action in some way. Just want to say this is also logical, except if the blocking minion is not considered as "blocking" in the following combat.

So is the blocking minion still considered as blocking in the combat with a slave?

Can he use Sniper Rifle to set the range for example?

Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2020 23:15 #98590 by kschaefer

Palamedes wrote: So is the blocking minion still considered as blocking in the combat with a slave?

Can he use Sniper Rifle to set the range for example?

No. For the same reason as this ruling regarding Sniper Rifle and Psyche! The slave combat is not the result of the block.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.121 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum