question-circle Mind of the Wilds + Telepathic Tracking

08 Jul 2019 13:16 #95781 by Ankha

TwoRazorReign wrote:

Bloodartist wrote: The reason I didn't write clarification for the second sentence, is because a default exists (Action modifiers apply for the entire duration of the action, and by extension combat), and any extra would be superfluous. Goal is to reduce card text, like you said.


Okay, we can agree to disagree here. I believe this line of thinking is the reason for the original card text; it was assumed the reader would know to revert to the default for the second effect. I still think using the conditional tense with clarification as I've outlined is optimal, but at least we do agree that the original text needs to change.

The sentence used on the card is correct, but I think we can improve it indeed (Principle of least astonishment).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lönkka

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2019 13:53 #95782 by TwoRazorReign

Ankha wrote: The sentence used on the card is correct, but I think we can improve it indeed (Principle of least astonishment).


That's an interesting way to put it :). But yes, if wishing to use conditional tense in this way on Mind of the Wilds, where we have two effects separated by ", and", with each effect having a unique duration, I think restating the duration of the second effect is needed even if a default exists. Even with full knowledge of the default duration for Action Modifiers, if reading this card quickly and not thinking too intently about how Action Modifiers work, one could easily make the mistake that the second effect is only for the first round of combat.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2019 13:55 #95783 by Mewcat
Problem is that if first round does not apply to inability to end combat then there is no duration provided. Can't end combat fist round, all combat, that action, that game, get pen and add text can't end combat?

No instructions to be found...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2019 14:23 #95786 by Hakuron

Ankha wrote: [...]
The sentence used on the card is correct, but I think we can improve it indeed (Principle of least astonishment).

Could we clarify the superior text, too, please?

»[ANI][AUS] As above, with +1 stealth.«
Is this "even if stealth is not yet needed" +1 stealth?

National Coordinator Germany
Toreador Prince of Darmstadt, Heart of the Jugendstil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2019 16:55 #95798 by Ankha

Hakuron wrote:

Ankha wrote: [...]
The sentence used on the card is correct, but I think we can improve it indeed (Principle of least astonishment).

Could we clarify the superior text, too, please?

»[ANI][AUS] As above, with +1 stealth.«
Is this "even if stealth is not yet needed" +1 stealth?

You're not clarifying, you're changing the card.
If stealth is not needed, you cannot play it at superior (but you can play it at inferior).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2019 21:24 #95803 by self biased

Ankha wrote: You're not clarifying, you're changing the card.
If stealth is not needed, you cannot play it at superior (but you can play it at inferior).


but that exact change was made to Form of Mist...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.127 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum